Author Topic: home edition not scanning  (Read 12289 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline megaman04

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
home edition not scanning
« on: November 15, 2005, 12:25:58 AM »
I'm not able to use the free home edition avast virus scan feature.  After I click on the avast icon, three Avast Unknown Error messages pop up one at a time.  These are the error messages.  First message, "Storage cannot be created for the "Splash" task."  Second message, "Configuration is not loaded properly.  Error: dbsCreateObject."  Third message, "Program cannot save parameters to the storage.  Error: dbsCreateObject."  I uninstalled avast, then downloaded the entire program again, and still the above messages appear.  I noticed at the bottom right hand corner of the monitor screen near the "time clock" on the task bar, the "blue avast ball with the lowercase "a" has a little red circle with a red backward slash in it.  The red circle with the red dash wasn't there before.  The interesting thing is that when I connected to the internet, I still received the "Avast database has been updated" message and announcement, but I still cannot do any scanning.  The computer I'm using is a PC, running on ME.  As I've said earlier, I uninstalled and reinstalled Avast free home edition already, but the three messages are still appearing.  What is the solution so I can once again, use avast to scan my local drive?  Thank you for your expertise.  Megaman

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2005, 12:40:06 AM »
If you encounter this error while starting avast! antivirus:
Error: dbsCreatObject

Or, if you are using the latest version (4.6.691), just right click the avast tray icon, select Program Settings, switch to the Troubleshooting page and check the "Use XML Storage" box.

You may try to open the <avast>\data\avast4.ini file and in the [Common] section, change the item Database=ODBC to Database=XML. This could prevent the Microsoft Jet drivers from accessing the database... does it have any (positive) effect?

See an automated option here: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=14208.msg120224#msg120224
The best things in life are free.

Offline megaman04

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2005, 08:55:31 PM »
If you encounter this error while starting avast! antivirus:
Error: dbsCreatObject

Or, if you are using the latest version (4.6.691), just right click the avast tray icon, select Program Settings, switch to the Troubleshooting page and check the "Use XML Storage" box.

You may try to open the <avast>\data\avast4.ini file and in the [Common] section, change the item Database=ODBC to Database=XML. This could prevent the Microsoft Jet drivers from accessing the database... does it have any (positive) effect?

See an automated option here: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=14208.msg120224#msg120224

Thank you for that one response, but I need help again.  I right clicked the avast tray icon, I selected the "Program Settings," but nothing happened.  The "Troubleshooting" page did not appear.  It's not working.  The same error messages keep appearing when I try to open up avast to scan.  As I've mentioned before, there is a small red circle with a backward slash in it that's located at the bottom left corner of the avast tray icon.  Something must have gone wrong when I downloaded the free home edition.  I don't want to uninstall avast and download it again.  Can the same person give more advice or anyone else who can now solve why I am not able to get to the troubleshooting page through the program setting.  It's frustrating.  Thank you to efforts of those who will post answers and more thanks to the person who can remedy my problem.  Megaman

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2005, 02:03:37 AM »
I right clicked the avast tray icon, I selected the "Program Settings," but nothing happened.  The "Troubleshooting" page did not appear.  It's not working.  The same error messages keep appearing when I try to open up avast to scan.  As I've mentioned before, there is a small red circle with a backward slash in it that's located at the bottom left corner of the avast tray icon.  Something must have gone wrong
Something is wrong. You're not protected...  :'(
How are set your avast! services? Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services
I suppose you have to have four avast! services:

C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe (avast! antivirus service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashUpdSv.exe (avast! Update Service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe (avast! Web Scanner service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe (avast! e-Mail Scanner service)

The two first of them should be Automatic loaded and the two last Manually loaded.

I don't want to uninstall avast and download it again.  Can the same person give more advice or anyone else who can now solve why I am not able to get to the troubleshooting page through the program setting.  It's frustrating.  Thank you to efforts of those who will post answers and more thanks to the person who can remedy my problem.  Megaman
You don't have to download again but you need to repair your installation: go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove. Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair). You must be connected to the internet while repairing.

But, do you use any other antivirus in your computer? Or do you use SpySweeper?
The best things in life are free.

Offline megaman04

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2005, 04:43:26 AM »

Something is wrong. You're not protected...  :'(
How are set your avast! services? Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services
I suppose you have to have four avast! services:

C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe (avast! antivirus service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashUpdSv.exe (avast! Update Service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe (avast! Web Scanner service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe (avast! e-Mail Scanner service)

The two first of them should be Automatic loaded and the two last Manually loaded.

When I downloaded the free home edition, it took a long time to down load it from the internet.  Then I opened up the "setupeng.exe" file and followed the directions for installation.  You mentioned the "last two" has to be manually loaded.  What do you mean by that?  As I've said, I followed the procedure after I opened up the setupeng.exe file, and that was it.  Is there another procedure or file I have to click on?

link=topic=17403.msg148641#msg148641 date=1132343731]

You don't have to download again but you need to repair your installation: go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove. Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair). You must be connected to the internet while repairing.

I did follow your "repair" procedures, in fact, I did it when the problem first arose.  I did it again (waited until it was successfully done), clicked on the "finish" button, and I still cannot scan.  The repair procedure does not work or solve the problem.  Any more suggestions?

But, do you use any other antivirus in your computer? Or do you use SpySweeper?

No I do not use SpySweeper.  I never heard of that.  I do not use any other antivirus system, only avast, but for some reason, it's not working now.  Should I uninstall avast and download it again?  This seems like the only option.  Thanks, Megaman

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83301
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2005, 03:51:01 PM »
That may well be the quickest option, unless you have recently downloaded avast 4.6.731 (save it to your HDD) and not updated to that version from an older version.

But don't uninstall first, download the latest version and go off-line, uninstall, reboot, and install the latest version.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.5.2415 (build 20.5.5410.561) UI-1.0.532/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2005, 03:22:25 PM »
When I downloaded the free home edition, it took a long time to down load it from the internet.  Then I opened up the "setupeng.exe" file and followed the directions for installation.  You mentioned the "last two" has to be manually loaded.  What do you mean by that?  As I've said, I followed the procedure after I opened up the setupeng.exe file, and that was it.  Is there another procedure or file I have to click on?[/color]
You should save the file to disk and run it from there and not open it from Internet.

Should I uninstall avast and download it again?
It won't hurt if you try...
The best things in life are free.

Offline megaman04

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2005, 09:31:07 PM »
That may well be the quickest option, unless you have recently downloaded avast 4.6.731 (save it to your HDD) and not updated to that version from an older version.

But don't uninstall first, download the latest version and go off-line, uninstall, reboot, and install the latest version.

Thank you for your suggestion.  I followed them, but the same problem continues to persist.  There has to be a solution, and my thinking is that the people who created avast should know how to resolve any problem.  In the past avast has worked well, but with the problem of not being able to scan my local drive, I want to use a different antivirus system.  Does anyone know websites that offer free, proven antivirus software programs?  Please let me know.  Thank you, Megaman

Offline megaman04

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2005, 09:38:41 PM »
When I downloaded the free home edition, it took a long time to down load it from the internet.  Then I opened up the "setupeng.exe" file and followed the directions for installation.  You mentioned the "last two" has to be manually loaded.  What do you mean by that?  As I've said, I followed the procedure after I opened up the setupeng.exe file, and that was it.  Is there another procedure or file I have to click on?[/color]
You should save the file to disk and run it from there and not open it from Internet.

Should I uninstall avast and download it again?
It won't hurt if you try...

I did save it to my desktop and installed it, but the problem wasn't resolved.  Even though I again uninstalled and reinstalled it, I had a feeling it wasn't going to remedy the problem.  I realize people are doing their best to help me, but no one seems to know the solution.  I'm not a "techie" person, but those who are, solving this avast problem will be a challenge on your abilities.  But if you read my prior post, I'm going to find a better antivirus program if there's one out there.  In the meantime, I hope the techies can figure out the problem because I'm sure other people will encounter this problem in the future.  Good luck in figuring the right answer.  Thanks, megaman

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83301
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2005, 09:44:25 PM »
If the problem really is related to old MS Jet drivers and the database=ODBC and you haven't been able to change this to database=XML, then no end of uninstalling and reinstalling will resolve this as the old MS Jet files will still be the problem, you have to switch the database storage method.

I can't see it anywhere that you tried the manual change to XML as Tech suggested if you can't get to the Troubleshooting Page in the Program Settings.

Quote
You may try to open the <avast>\data\avast4.ini file and in the [Common] section, change the item Database=ODBC to Database=XML.

You can edit this with your text editor of choice, notepad will do, make a copy and store it in another folder just in case.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.5.2415 (build 20.5.5410.561) UI-1.0.532/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline megaman04

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2005, 10:20:08 PM »
If the problem really is related to old MS Jet drivers and the database=ODBC and you haven't been able to change this to database=XML, then no end of uninstalling and reinstalling will resolve this as the old MS Jet files will still be the problem, you have to switch the database storage method.

I can't see it anywhere that you tried the manual change to XML as Tech suggested if you can't get to the Troubleshooting Page in the Program Settings.

Quote
You may try to open the <avast>\data\avast4.ini file and in the [Common] section, change the item Database=ODBC to Database=XML.

You can edit this with your text editor of choice, notepad will do, make a copy and store it in another folder just in case.

I haven't tried the manual change to XML as Tech suggested because I cannot get to the Troubleshooting Page in the Program Settings when I right-clicked the avast icon at the bottom near the time clock.  Is there another way of accessing the trouble shooting page other than the program settings?  Or is there another way of getting into the program settings?  I don't understand what you mean by using "notepad" (I know there's a notepad feature in the accessories heading) and making a copy (of what?) and store it (store what?) in another folder (what kind of folder and stored where?).  You have to remember, I'm not a techie, and I realize you know what you are saying and it may seem very obvious and simple to you, but you will need to break down the info you shared into detailed step-by-step procedures.  I know it's going to take more typing and explaning and time on your side, but it will help me solve the problem, if indeed that's the correct solution.  Changing the item database is the only thing I haven't done yet, so please bear with me if I didn't catch on as quickly as you anticipated.  Can you please be more specific and detailed about your suggestion about the notepad.  Thanks, Megaman

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83301
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2005, 12:16:07 AM »
1. You don't have to get to the troubleshooting page that is the idea of making a manual change to the settings in in the avast4.ini file instead of using the GUI interface. This is what we would have had to do before the troubleshooting page was introduced.

2. Notepad is a text editor that comes by default with windows, you need a text editor to manually edit the database used setting in the avast4.ini file. Important, it must be a text editor you use, don't use a word processor (e.g MS Word, etc.) to edit the avast4.ini file otherwise strange characters that you can't see in a Word Processor will be in the edited version of avast4.ini and this can screw it up.

3. You have to navigate to the avast4.ini file using windows explorer and then open the file with notepad.

4. Make a copy of avast4.ini before you edit it in case you screw it up. You can't save a copy of a file and save it in the same folder it is in.

5. Save it to a different folder than where the original file is (anywhere you want so long as you know where it is) so it can be copied back if you screw up.

Look for the [Common] section in the avast4.ini file, it will look something like this.
Quote
[Common]
ApprovedPerson=YourUsername
ApprovedFirm=.
ProductVersion=4.6
VersionLabel=Nov2005
ThreadTerminationTimeout=30000
Enterprise=0
Database=ODBC

Change Database=ODBC To Database=XML, save the changes and exit.

Reboot and hopefully you should be in business.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.5.2415 (build 20.5.5410.561) UI-1.0.532/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2005, 01:26:13 AM »
I don't understand what you mean by using "notepad" (I know there's a notepad feature in the accessories heading)
Use this Notepad to open the file.

and making a copy (of what?) and store it (store what?) in another folder (what kind of folder and stored where?).
Maybe a copy for security, a backup, wherever you want (maybe in the desktop, just in case something get wrong).

You have to remember, I'm not a techie, and I realize you know what you are saying and it may seem very obvious and simple to you, but you will need to break down the info you shared into detailed step-by-step procedures.  I know it's going to take more typing and explaning and time on your side, but it will help me solve the problem, if indeed that's the correct solution.  Changing the item database is the only thing I haven't done yet, so please bear with me if I didn't catch on as quickly as you anticipated.  Can you please be more specific and detailed about your suggestion about the notepad.  Thanks, Megaman
We tried to explain, but if you don't understand yet, no problem, we can go even further, step by step... Just let us know.
The best things in life are free.

Offline megaman04

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #13 on: November 21, 2005, 02:09:33 AM »
1. You don't have to get to the troubleshooting page that is the idea of making a manual change to the settings in in the avast4.ini file instead of using the GUI interface. This is what we would have had to do before the troubleshooting page was introduced.

2. Notepad is a text editor that comes by default with windows, you need a text editor to manually edit the database used setting in the avast4.ini file. Important, it must be a text editor you use, don't use a word processor (e.g MS Word, etc.) to edit the avast4.ini file otherwise strange characters that you can't see in a Word Processor will be in the edited version of avast4.ini and this can screw it up.

3. You have to navigate to the avast4.ini file using windows explorer and then open the file with notepad.

4. Make a copy of avast4.ini before you edit it in case you screw it up. You can't save a copy of a file and save it in the same folder it is in.

5. Save it to a different folder than where the original file is (anywhere you want so long as you know where it is) so it can be copied back if you screw up.

Look for the [Common] section in the avast4.ini file, it will look something like this.
Quote
[Common]
ApprovedPerson=YourUsername
ApprovedFirm=.
ProductVersion=4.6
VersionLabel=Nov2005
ThreadTerminationTimeout=30000
Enterprise=0
Database=ODBC

Change Database=ODBC To Database=XML, save the changes and exit.

Reboot and hopefully you should be in business.

David, what do you mean by this? "You have to navigate to the avast4.ini file using windows explorer and then open the file with notepad."  How do I navigate avast4.ini file?  Do I use Google? Do I go to the "Start" button and "search" to find the avast4.ini file?  Where do I find avast4.ini file?  Is it at the avast website?  Again, it would be great if anyone who has the answer to outline the procedure, step-by-step, no matter how simple it may be.  Make it extremely simple so that a 2nd grader would be able to follow the instructions.  Remember, I'm not a techie person so having a very simple procedure would be very helpful so I don't have to keep asking for further instructions.  Also, how do I use notepad to copy or connect with the "ini" file? Thanks, Megaman 

4. Make a copy of avast4.ini before you edit it in case you screw it up. You can't save a copy of a file and save it in the same folder it is in.

Offline megaman04

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: home edition not scanning
« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2005, 02:15:40 AM »
I don't understand what you mean by using "notepad" (I know there's a notepad feature in the accessories heading)
Use this Notepad to open the file.

and making a copy (of what?) and store it (store what?) in another folder (what kind of folder and stored where?).
Maybe a copy for security, a backup, wherever you want (maybe in the desktop, just in case something get wrong).

You have to remember, I'm not a techie, and I realize you know what you are saying and it may seem very obvious and simple to you, but you will need to break down the info you shared into detailed step-by-step procedures.  I know it's going to take more typing and explaning and time on your side, but it will help me solve the problem, if indeed that's the correct solution.  Changing the item database is the only thing I haven't done yet, so please bear with me if I didn't catch on as quickly as you anticipated.  Can you please be more specific and detailed about your suggestion about the notepad.  Thanks, Megaman
We tried to explain, but if you don't understand yet, no problem, we can go even further, step by step... Just let us know.

Thanks for the input, but you still haven't outlined the step-by-step instructions.  I sent a post to David.  You can read what he said, but I also sent him a response.  Although I'm getting more information, no one has been able to outline specific procedures in regards to finding the avast4.ini file and how to use notepad to fix the problem.  My friend's computer already has notepad in the accessories heading, but how do you use it to find the "ini" file?  I'm hoping someone will be able to give a step-by-step procedure.  As I've indicated in my post to David, the procedure should be easy enough so a 2nd grader will be able to follow and complete the instructions without any questioning.  Thanks again, Megaman