Author Topic: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)  (Read 66388 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MartinZ

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1072
  • Product Manager
AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« on: July 29, 2015, 12:42:17 PM »
Hi all,

New version AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (build number 2015.10.3.2225) has been released:

Fixes in Avast 2015 R3 SP1:

- Fixed problems with HTTPS browsing on Windows XP SP2
- Fixed problems with email clients on Windows XP SP2
- Fixed issues with firewall during program update and during update on Windows 10

How to install:

1. Update from existing Avast version

2. Or you can download and install from here:

http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe

http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe

http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe

http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe



Avast cleaner:
http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avastclear.exe

It should be possible to install this version on top of your existing avast! installation (all settings should be preserved).

To report BSODs, crashes or any other none trivial problems please use new SupportPackage generating tool.
- http://utils.support.tools.avast.com/tools/support/utils/avastsupport.exe

Instructions how to use it can be easily found:
- https://www.avast.com/en-us/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle



Thank you very much to everyone who contributed on release!
Avast team

Offline hake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
  • Come on lad! You've only got 70 yards to go.
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2015, 03:28:48 PM »
Is Windows XP SP2 the 32-bit version which was followed by Windows XP SP3 or is it the 64-bit Windows XP SP2?  I would guess this would refer to the 64-bit Windows XP and, if that is the case, there is no need for me to rush to update Avast.
Windows XP SP3, Avast Free 10.2.2015, Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3
Windows 7, Avast Free 11.2.2262, Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83906
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2015, 03:48:15 PM »
Window XP Pro SP2 64bit, I have been reliably informed by one of the avast team isn't so much XP but based on Windows 2003.

The fix relates to those with 32bit XP SP2 that haven't updated to SP3.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.602) UI-1.0.564/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline hake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
  • Come on lad! You've only got 70 yards to go.
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2015, 03:56:46 PM »
Thanks David.  Am I pleased to read that!  I've just got home after driving on an 80 mile round trip to install AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223) on a friend's Windows XP SP3 system.

It's hard to believe that there are still Windows XP 32-bit SP2 systems extant.  Do the POSReady updates work on SP2?
« Last Edit: July 29, 2015, 03:59:12 PM by hake »
Windows XP SP3, Avast Free 10.2.2015, Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3
Windows 7, Avast Free 11.2.2262, Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3

Offline zgy3073

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Suspended animation, blue
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2015, 06:20:57 PM »
win7,32 bit, Ultimate

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83906
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2015, 06:21:25 PM »
Thanks David.  Am I pleased to read that!  I've just got home after driving on an 80 mile round trip to install AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223) on a friend's Windows XP SP3 system.

It's hard to believe that there are still Windows XP 32-bit SP2 systems extant.  Do the POSReady updates work on SP2?

I honestly don't know - the point was that this takes XP beyond SP3 - so there is no way of telling if being up to date (SP3) would be a prerequisite or not.

AS far as I'm aware the SP3 update should still be downloadable and that is what I would suggest as a start point for those still using XP SP2. Then they would be able to take advantage of the additional functionality in avast 2015 R3 SP1.

Personally I haven't gone for the workaround of POS Updates, A.K.A XP SP4.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.602) UI-1.0.564/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83906
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2015, 06:26:26 PM »
@ zgy3073
Changing the Topic subject shouldn't be done as anyone responding to your post would end up with that the subject and would confuse the topic.

I have no doubt that this topic will grow and very soon your post would become buried, I would suggest creating your own new topic and post a link to it in your current post.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.602) UI-1.0.564/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline busp1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2015, 04:34:42 AM »
Intel 925 duo core vista 32bit with 2GB ram. having lockups where the computer just stops responding while browsing, no HDD activity, the keyboard and mouse no longer responding, whatever is on the display remains, and clock stops indicating time advancing. Have given computer up to 30 minutes and it never came back without power boot. The lockups are not consistent, they occur sometimes after only a few minutes of operation to 10 hours later but always while browsing.  I have disabled Secure Virtual Machine. I will know more after a few days of operation whether this is a fix.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2015, 09:42:39 AM »
Updated to 2015 R3 SP1 from 2015.10.2.2218 using clean install with avastclear.exe.

No issues to report at all on Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit, other than a issue where an old expired license (2014) was available and inserted, which of course failed to take.  Found a spare copy of 2015 license and good to go.  In defense, it was not obvious this was an old license until explorer settings were changed to "Details".

Only one setting change from .2218 version:  Settings>WebShield>Main Settings>"Do not scan trusted sites" was ticked on by default, unticked that because all sites should be scanned when opened.  Does affect browser navigation speed (slows it down) but any site can be clean one moment and dirty the next.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.

Offline bruce_b

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 330
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2015, 12:07:20 PM »
Updated fine from within the GUI from 2223 to 2225 ... all ok ... only thing, Avast coders should fix the installer, so it cleans up the leftover update folders from the computer. Just about all of them are empty and they just take up space for no reason.
Dell Dimension 8200 P4 1.8Ghz Windows XP PRO SP3
Avast Free Antivirus 18.8.2356
Toshiba Satellite C855-S5347 Celeron B830 1.8Ghz
Windows 10 Home 64 Bit Version 1909 Build 18363.900
Avast Free Antivirus 20.4.2410 Build 20.4.5312.578

Offline heikwith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2015, 02:05:04 PM »
Is somebody running Vista with 2015.10.3.2225 and  has NO problems anymore

Offline daniel45FRANCE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2015, 02:27:37 PM »
Bonjour

i tried to install this version on my machine WINDOWS XP "OFF LINE" and it crashed cause "statistics !!??

i need AVST on all my machines which are on line and "OFF LINE"'

how can i do ?

Offline Troika

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2015, 05:01:04 PM »
Vers. 10.3.2225 corrupts my 32 bit XP

I've been using Avast successfully for many years. Normally it's excellent! But I installed vers. 10.3.2225 yesterday and it has corrupted my old XP workhorse. The symptoms are: (1) Avast states some shields are inactive; (2) the webshield is inactive but cannot be acivated as setting it ON is ignored; (3) eventually (and usually when starting a browser - say chrome) the PC hard stops (mouse & keyboard don't work) leaving only power off as a procedure.

I have no ideas of a workaround for this except removing Avast clears this bug (as proven three times).

I am having no trouble with my Windows 7 PC & Notebook and this version of AVAST.

Just to confirm that I too, amongst the many it seems, have to keep XP running for legacy systems that do not work correctly in Windows 7.  Whether they work in W8/8.1 or 10 is immaterial.  I hope that Avast can solve this issue and continue to support us XP users into the future.

Offline TSquare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2015, 06:04:21 PM »
Intel 925 duo core vista 32bit with 2GB ram. having lockups where the computer just stops responding while browsing, no HDD activity, the keyboard and mouse no longer responding, whatever is on the display remains, and clock stops indicating time advancing. Have given computer up to 30 minutes and it never came back without power boot. The lockups are not consistent, they occur sometimes after only a few minutes of operation to 10 hours later but always while browsing.  I have disabled Secure Virtual Machine. I will know more after a few days of operation whether this is a fix.

Hi busp1,
I have the exact same problem with my Vista machine. I believe that my random lockups started after the last round of Windows updates on 7/14.
So far I have rolled my Firefox browser back to version 37 and uninstalled then reinstalled Flash Player. Now I am running with Flash disabled, but I still get the random freeze/lockup.
I have just uninstalled all of the Windows updates from the 14th. Now I am waiting to see if the lockup returns. I don't think this is an Avast problem.

Update:
I got another freeze/lockup, so now I have uninstalled my Avast Free and reinstalled it from a fresh download. Currently waiting too see if this fixes the problem.

Update #2:
Still got a freeze/lockup. I made it 2 days before the lockup. Now I have rolled back to Avast Free 2015.10.2.2215. Let the test begin again.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2015, 08:10:47 AM by TSquare »

Offline jrace

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2015, 07:37:13 PM »
Updated version .2224 from GUI to version .2225. Update for win7 and win10 was smooth, reboot and subsequent operation were uneventful.
For my systems just perfect!  8)
Sony VGN-SZ71VN/X, 4GB RAM, 256GB SSD, win7/32_ult_SP1-U
avast! pro 11.2.2255, Win7 Firewall, MBAM 2.2.0.1024
FF 45.0