Author Topic: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)  (Read 67884 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69290
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #120 on: September 03, 2015, 01:06:13 PM »
Please, does anyone know what is to do now? I only want to use my Outook 2002 on a proper way again. Does there exist a new release or a new patch to solve this issue?
You can try the latest beta: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=175753.0
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2451.Beta#2 [UI.599] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Archey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #121 on: September 03, 2015, 01:23:02 PM »
Please, does anyone know what is to do now? I only want to use my Outook 2002 on a proper way again. Does there exist a new release or a new patch to solve this issue?
You can try the latest beta: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=175753.0

Thank you for your fast response!

But first one question: Do you think this beta is safe? (safe for my 12 years properly working XP)

I've read in this thread about many frozen Windows Systems. I would prefer to avoid such experiences.

Has anyone tried to install this beta, and solved it problems like I have mentioned above?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69290
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #122 on: September 03, 2015, 01:27:13 PM »
But first one question: Do you think this beta is safe? (safe for my 12 years properly working XP)
It works well on my XP here. If you want to test it is up to you.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2451.Beta#2 [UI.599] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline MartinZ

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1070
  • Product Manager
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #123 on: September 03, 2015, 04:15:24 PM »
Hi in beta this should be solved and we also work for small update for non-beta versions fixing this issue. It should be released in few days.

Offline beegolden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #124 on: September 03, 2015, 06:38:51 PM »
Hi in beta this should be solved and we also work for small update for non-beta versions fixing this issue. It should be released in few days.

so glad that an update for x.2225 will be available soon. I sure hope that it works in correcting the problems I (and others) encountered with the first release :)

Win 7 SP1 64-bit; Avast, Free

Offline Archey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #125 on: September 04, 2015, 12:09:38 PM »
Now I've installed the BETA 10.4.2227 - "in memory of Jan Koubek". And everything works fine! I'm happy again.

In Outlook 2002 the right click menus are available again, and also the access to the internal Outlook 2002 address book is recovered!

After many years of using avast, now is the time to give thanks for the avast-team for providing a fast and lean antivirus programm.

In the last years I've tried many different AV (Norton, Comodo, Avira), but Avast is the only one which works with an efficient usage of Memory and CPU.

To compare: Avira needs approx. 600 MB Memory, and each call of a website produces a high CPU usage. In my case, I work with an old 2000 Ghz Pentium Mobile Processor, with 1GB RAM, this is not practicable and usable. Imagine, the Windows XP itself needs about 230 MB RAM, now a AV like Avira takes further 600 MB Memory - this remains only 170 MB Memory for executing of programms. That's absurd.

On the other side, avast need only approx. 90 MB Memory, and it doesn't retard and strain the CPU very much. I hope this efficient usage of Memory and CPU will be persist in the next years.

Sadly, I've to say avast has produced in the past years from time to time some huge bugs. To be fair, the others (e.g. Norton) do the same. Especially, the avast automatic programm updates of some past releases caused serious Windows XP problems from time to time.

For instance, since a few years it's no more possible to disable the avast addin inside the Outlook 2002 for test purposes in an emergency, because there is no more avast entry in the Outlook-addin area.

Maybe my post should be better stored in the Beta Release section?

Finally, I want to ask if I have to deinstall the Beta Release, if I want to use the next regular avast version? Or could I receive the next regular avast version about the automatic programm update function of my current beta release?
« Last Edit: September 04, 2015, 12:18:13 PM by Archey »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69290
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #126 on: September 04, 2015, 12:12:54 PM »
Finally, I want to ask if I have to deinstall the Beta Release, if I want to use the next regular avast version? Or could I receive the next regular avast version about the automatic programm update function of my current beta release?
The beta version will update to the final when it's ready.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2451.Beta#2 [UI.599] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Archey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #127 on: September 04, 2015, 01:06:42 PM »
Thanks for your fast response.

Sorry, but in this circumstance I don't understand this both statements:

The beta version will update to the final when it's ready.

If you simply update from the beta to the full version, you'll receive the next beta once it's released. :)
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=175753.msg1247748#msg1247748

Isn't it a contradiction?

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4667
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #128 on: September 04, 2015, 01:12:13 PM »
Thanks for your fast response.

Sorry, but in this circumstance I don't understand this both statements:

The beta version will update to the final when it's ready.

If you simply update from the beta to the full version, you'll receive the next beta once it's released. :)
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=175753.msg1247748#msg1247748

Isn't it a contradiction?

Both are true, you can update your beta to final, but still you're in the beta stream.
This means, when new beta is released, your final version will be updated to the latest beta.
Main: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 21 Premier Beta / Evorim Free Firewall (testing)
Mobile: Win10 Pro 20H2 32bit, Vista SP2 32bit / Core 2 Duo SU9300 1.2GHz / 4GB RAM / Avast 20 Free / Windows Firewall Control

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

Offline beegolden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #129 on: September 04, 2015, 09:52:42 PM »
Hi in beta this should be solved and we also work for small update for non-beta versions fixing this issue. It should be released in few days.

so glad that an update for x.2225 will be available soon. I sure hope that it works in correcting the problems I (and others) encountered with the first release :)

A few questions about the update:
What # will the update have? I don't want to install x.2225 and go back to square one with problems. (I had to revert back to x.2218). Will I need to install x.2225 and then the update to that or will installing the update work by itself? And, when do you think the update will be released.

Thanks so much!
Win 7 SP1 64-bit; Avast, Free

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84560
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #130 on: September 04, 2015, 10:58:03 PM »
Hi in beta this should be solved and we also work for small update for non-beta versions fixing this issue. It should be released in few days.

so glad that an update for x.2225 will be available soon. I sure hope that it works in correcting the problems I (and others) encountered with the first release :)

A few questions about the update:
What # will the update have? I don't want to install x.2225 and go back to square one with problems. (I had to revert back to x.2218). Will I need to install x.2225 and then the update to that or will installing the update work by itself? And, when do you think the update will be released.

Thanks so much!

Monitor the latest beta topic, https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=176033.0, though there is no detailed info on what it fixes/introduces yet.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline beegolden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #131 on: September 05, 2015, 09:09:55 AM »
[quote
Monitor the latest beta topic, https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=176033.0, though there is no detailed info on what it fixes/introduces yet.
[/quote]

Thanks! I've asked my question there as well as marked the topic to notify me.
Win 7 SP1 64-bit; Avast, Free

Offline ragtop1998

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #132 on: September 06, 2015, 07:17:17 PM »
Pardon my ignorance, BIG thanks to all those who have already provided so much useful information, but...

What is the advantage of installing the Beta vs staying with an already working 2218?

I've read here that some (maybe all) of the Win XP problems associated with updates 2223 and above appear fixed in the Beta, but they weren't broken in 2218.

I always heard that "IF it ain't broke, don't fix it", so what's to gain in going the Beta route? Why not stay with 2218, and wait for a fixed/fully functioning release with new benefits.

Thanks for listening.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84560
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #133 on: September 06, 2015, 08:14:18 PM »
Pardon my ignorance, BIG thanks to all those who have already provided so much useful information, but...

What is the advantage of installing the Beta vs staying with an already working 2218?

I've read here that some (maybe all) of the Win XP problems associated with updates 2223 and above appear fixed in the Beta, but they weren't broken in 2218.

I always heard that "IF it ain't broke, don't fix it", so what's to gain in going the Beta route? Why not stay with 2218, and wait for a fixed/fully functioning release with new benefits.

Thanks for listening.

The reason it wasn't broken in 2218, is because XP couldn't use the newly added scanning of HTTP sites.

So it isn't a case of if it isn't broken, the introduction of the new feature in 10.3.2225 that caused some XP systems problems, mainly those with XP SP2. It is that issue which the beta builds are trying to address.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline ragtop1998

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #134 on: September 07, 2015, 11:15:09 AM »
Ahhhhh

Thanks. Now I understand.

Hopefully the problems generated in 2223 and up that ALSO affected SP3 like lost r-click on Outlook, etc will be resolved, as well.

I'll keep "listening"/(hopefully) learning.