Author Topic: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)  (Read 66876 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84170
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #60 on: August 07, 2015, 02:42:37 PM »
The tray icon isn't the cause of the slowness, the main avast service avastSvc.exe will be running in the background scanning activity. That is what resident, on-access AVs do, so I would follow the suggestion Bob made in Reply #61 check what programs are running on boot.

There are many programs that want to run on boot when there is absolutely no need for them to do so, typical of this are media players when you only need them when you click on a media file. I would probably go further and not just delay them using WinPatrol but decide if they really need to run on boot.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.9.2437 (build 20.9.5758.609) UI-1.0.580/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline hake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
  • Come on lad! You've only got 70 yards to go.
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #61 on: August 07, 2015, 03:00:41 PM »
On Windows XP SP3, AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225) causes problems with Mozilla Thunderbird 38.1.0.  For example, when an email is sent, Thunderbird stores the email in the Sent folder but the text of the message is blank.  Reverting to Avast 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2215) causes the problem to cease and allows Thunderbird to behave properly.

Why not revert to Avast version 10.2.2218, you ask?  Because it will not work at all with Windows XP SP3.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2015, 03:02:54 PM by hake »
Windows XP SP3, Avast Free 10.2.2015, Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3
Windows 7, Avast Free 11.2.2262, Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3

Offline HDW38

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3406
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #62 on: August 07, 2015, 03:21:51 PM »

Why not revert to Avast version 10.2.2218, you ask?  Because it will not work at all with Windows XP SP3.

What are you talking about? I haven't had issues like yours. Everything is running fine on my machines.
 :)
HDW

Offline hake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
  • Come on lad! You've only got 70 yards to go.
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #63 on: August 07, 2015, 11:47:03 PM »
I didn't make it happen and I didn't want it to happen but it did.  Having taken the trouble to clear out the previous version of Avast with Avastclear.exe, I did clean installs of Avast version 10.2.2218 only to be rewarded with hanging systems so what alternative did I have?  This happened on the four XP systems in my care.

Windows XP is a dynamic living environment.  It does not surprise me that different incarnations of XP respond differently to software that gets deep down into Ring-Zero.
Windows XP SP3, Avast Free 10.2.2015, Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3
Windows 7, Avast Free 11.2.2262, Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3

Offline loopyloo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #64 on: August 07, 2015, 11:49:20 PM »
AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225) running on Windows 10. After installing new Avast Update, I can no longer connect to this computer using Remote Desktop. Unless I disable Avast Firewall. Anyone else having this issue?

Offline moznewbie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #65 on: August 08, 2015, 05:43:54 AM »
I'm extremely sad to say 10.3.2225 is absolutely the worst thing i've had on any of my computers in the last 10 years. I've encountered viruses and malware that were more fun than this. I updated several programs on my old XP laptop when this version came out. Within 10 minutes everything froze. I couldn't even switch the computer off. I had/have to wait for the battery to expire or manually remove the battery whilst the computer was switched on. I assumed it was something else. I wasted half a day rolling back Firefox, removing everything that had been updated to eventually conclude Avast was the problem. I removed 2225 and went back to 2218 and everything worked fine. I put everything else back and it was still fine. I've had a week of bliss and then I accidentally clicked the 'wrong' update button and updated to 2225 again. 20 minutes later and CRASH! 10.4 can't come soon enough. Back to 2218 for me.

Something else. Why does 2225 flag web-pages that 2218 doesn't?

Whilst i'm on i'd also like to point out that the last thing I want an anti-virus company to do when I remove its product is to open an internet browser to ask me questions when I have no anti-virus protection. I mean, there ought to be a reason you require a genuine email address - right?

Seriously unimpressed!

Offline kanon86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #66 on: August 08, 2015, 02:17:32 PM »
Still having the same problem as with the previous version with Vista. Computer freezes after a few mintues of browsing the internet. Disabling https scanning seems to have solved the problem, but I found out something more worrisome about this version: webshield doesn't work as intended. I used http://securite-informatique.info/virus/eicar/ eicar to test its reaction like I always do after upgrading, and it warns me only one time out of ten. Reverted to 2215 and everything works fine again (alert + connection aborted without fail as soon as I click on any of the files).

Offline Yash Khan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #67 on: August 08, 2015, 11:18:23 PM »
The tray icon isn't the cause of the slowness, the main avast service avastSvc.exe will be running in the background scanning activity. That is what resident, on-access AVs do, so I would follow the suggestion Bob made in Reply #61 check what programs are running on boot.

There are many programs that want to run on boot when there is absolutely no need for them to do so, typical of this are media players when you only need them when you click on a media file. I would probably go further and not just delay them using WinPatrol but decide if they really need to run on boot.
I dont fiddle with services.

But yes msconfig - startup - only Avast is enabled i.e checked & rest disabled i.e unchecked.

No probs with Emsisoft, Eset, Comodo, Kaspersky I have tried.
Only probs with Avast....on fresh OS install too.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84170
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #68 on: August 09, 2015, 12:16:23 AM »
The tray icon isn't the cause of the slowness, the main avast service avastSvc.exe will be running in the background scanning activity. That is what resident, on-access AVs do, so I would follow the suggestion Bob made in Reply #61 check what programs are running on boot.

There are many programs that want to run on boot when there is absolutely no need for them to do so, typical of this are media players when you only need them when you click on a media file. I would probably go further and not just delay them using WinPatrol but decide if they really need to run on boot.
I dont fiddle with services.

But yes msconfig - startup - only Avast is enabled i.e checked & rest disabled i.e unchecked.

No probs with Emsisoft, Eset, Comodo, Kaspersky I have tried.
Only probs with Avast....on fresh OS install too.

No one it telling you to fiddle with 'services.' It is about checking 'programs' that have set themselves to run on boot and you checking if they actually need to run on bot.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.9.2437 (build 20.9.5758.609) UI-1.0.580/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Ivan81

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #69 on: August 09, 2015, 12:59:43 PM »
Since installing version 2015.10.3.2225 few days ago I have experienced several times of freezing of the OS while browsing with Firefox.
The computer suddenly stops responding, the screen is frozen and the only option is to shut it down pressing continuously the power button.
OS - Windows XP SP3, browser - Mozilla Firefox 39.0.3.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84170
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #70 on: August 09, 2015, 03:06:41 PM »
Since installing version 2015.10.3.2225 few days ago I have experienced several times of freezing of the OS while browsing with Firefox.
The computer suddenly stops responding, the screen is frozen and the only option is to shut it down pressing continuously the power button.
OS - Windows XP SP3, browser - Mozilla Firefox 39.0.3.

You aren't alone I have experienced that several times and holding the power button for 5 seconds or until it completely shuts down is the only gracious way out. Or you could end up with some file corruption or the 'Your system didn't close down correctly' and the choices to boot into safe mode, or normal, etc.

I have also found on instances like this it can screw up the desktop as for whatever reason it tries to go into active desktop and fails. That normally results in you having to tell it not to use active desktop and reboot.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.9.2437 (build 20.9.5758.609) UI-1.0.580/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline amenx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #71 on: August 09, 2015, 04:32:42 PM »
Updated to 2225 yesterday, so far no issues on Win 10, firefox or IE. Interesting (not really) to see complaints mainly coming from XP users, a decrepit OS that should be out of circulation by now. :P

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #72 on: August 09, 2015, 05:29:49 PM »
Since installing version 2015.10.3.2225 few days ago I have experienced several times of freezing of the OS while browsing with Firefox.
The computer suddenly stops responding, the screen is frozen and the only option is to shut it down pressing continuously the power button.
OS - Windows XP SP3, browser - Mozilla Firefox 39.0.3.

I've been experiencing similar problems, but I'm not using avast! at the moment. Everything just freezes, but the music in musicBee just keeps on playing like nothing happened. Only way to fix it is system reset. Really weird behavior...

I've had exactly the same behavior with Windows 7, 8 and 8.1 and then it just fixed itself for no reason. And now I'm experiencing it with Win 10 again...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Ivan81

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #73 on: August 09, 2015, 05:42:01 PM »
Updated to 2225 yesterday, so far no issues on Win 10, firefox or IE. Interesting (not really) to see complaints mainly coming from XP users, a decrepit OS that should be out of circulation by now. :P

Dear amenx,
I don't think you are right to put the blame to the users of Windows XP. I have used Avast on the same computer for the last several years without any problems.
I reckon that if a software company claims that some OS is supported (let's not forget that besides the free version of Avast there are also paid ones) then it must have thoroughly tested the new version before being released to the users.
As I said the previous versions of Avast worked well and if this issue is not fixed very quickly by Avast I would be forced to uninstall Avast and use another program. It is not very pleasant to return home and after some time get totally frozen computer thanks to the antivirus.

Offline moznewbie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 (2015.10.3.2225)
« Reply #74 on: August 09, 2015, 10:34:43 PM »
Just to say it was 2215 I reverted to and not 2218.

Since my 2nd time with 2225 some of my Microsoft programs no longer work. Windows Media Player, System Restore, Windows Update and others are inoperable. The media files play with VLC and CCleaner shows the restore points to be intact.