Author Topic: 2 panels for iNews  (Read 17647 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2003, 02:28:50 AM »
Technical,

I do not believe that the pixels is what causes the problem.  This is only in the visual display.  The problem is that the 2 panels are not linked together as they should be.

I am doing research on this now and will post soon.

techie

Ok, you win... I let this minacross' trouble with you.  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #16 on: November 23, 2003, 04:11:36 AM »
Technical,
I have never known you to give up on a difficult problem.
Stay with me on this buddy.  Because I may rule out one of your suggestions doesn't mean it was not valued.  On the contrary, it helped eliminate a possible cause.  Visual balance (pixels) did not even occur to me.

Minacross,
Technical and I work very well together but sometimes we have out little cat fights. hahaha

techie




Offline MWassef

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1315
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #17 on: November 23, 2003, 02:00:12 PM »
to techie & Technical,

I do appreciate all your help, many thanx guys  :)


« Last Edit: November 23, 2003, 02:04:44 PM by minacross »
MW

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #18 on: November 23, 2003, 02:44:29 PM »
Mina, my 98 is working well with the iNews.
I really think now - after the shot of pixels - could be something related to IE and HTML handling... But I canĀ“t figure out what could it be. Give me time, I promise I'll think about it  ;)

Techie, a big laught  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline MWassef

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1315
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #19 on: November 23, 2003, 04:36:08 PM »
problem solved  ;D
there was an IE component called "Dynamic HTML Data Binding" (kindly check attached pic)  that was not installed..
I uninstalled avast, reinstalled IE6 including this component..
then reinstalled avast4 again and it worked just fine  ;)
thanx guys  ;D
MW

Offline MWassef

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1315
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #20 on: November 23, 2003, 04:37:28 PM »
you see what I mean  ;)
MW

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #21 on: November 24, 2003, 01:29:25 AM »
minacross,

Great!  As I suspected, it was indeed an IE problem.

Technical was also very close when he stated that it might be an html handling problem.

SEE!!  We almost got you there but you indeed were one step ahead.

All right...a definite K for you!

Good luck,

techie101

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #22 on: November 24, 2003, 02:06:51 AM »
Thanks mina, you save my time  ;D
Techie, as last, some of my shots go straight to the target...  ;D
Or better, your shot  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #23 on: November 24, 2003, 02:20:25 AM »
Technical,

You know....our approach usually gets results.
We can't always get the cow to drink, but we certainly lead it to the water!

(There's something of a meaning in that...I think.  ;D

techie

Offline Hornus Continuum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • If you only remember one thing, it's this ...
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #24 on: November 24, 2003, 07:51:41 AM »
minacross,

What program did you run to get the Windows Update display?

Regards,
Hornus

"Quote me as saying I was misquoted." -- Groucho Marx  ;D

Offline MWassef

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1315
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #25 on: November 24, 2003, 11:56:44 AM »
To techie,

thanx for the K  ;)

To Hornus,

it is the installation file of the IE6..
MW

Offline Hornus Continuum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • If you only remember one thing, it's this ...
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #26 on: November 24, 2003, 12:05:09 PM »
Minacross,

Thanx for the come-back.  Unfortunately Hewlett-Packard cheaped out and didn't supply installation disks with my computer.  Is there another way to find which IE components are or aren't installed?

Regards,
Hornus

"Quote me as saying I was misquoted." -- Groucho Marx  ;D

Walker

  • Guest
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #27 on: November 30, 2003, 01:53:03 AM »
minacross,

What program did you run to get the Windows Update display?

Regards,
Hornus

Hi HC

Did you ever find out how to display that screen?. I too am interested in finding it, but no luck so far  :-\

W.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #28 on: November 30, 2003, 02:08:01 AM »
What program did you run to get the Windows Update display?

That screen is shown when you run the downloaded file for IE update (IE 6.0 SP1): this link for information or this one for directly download the English version.

If that windows appears only in the 'old' version, maybe it is untill at http://download.cnet.com/downloads/
There were the IE6.0 (not SP1)

Are we talking about the 'same' window?
« Last Edit: November 30, 2003, 02:16:18 AM by Technical »
The best things in life are free.

Offline Hornus Continuum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • If you only remember one thing, it's this ...
Re:2 panels for iNews
« Reply #29 on: December 03, 2003, 08:47:25 PM »
Technical,

Quote
That screen is shown when you run the downloaded file for IE update (IE 6.0 SP1)

Yes, I think we are.

Walker.

I assume you saw the follow-up posts by minacross and Technical.

Regards,
Hornus

"Quote me as saying I was misquoted." -- Groucho Marx  ;D