Author Topic: Avast setting for ZA won't be retained.  (Read 7587 times)

testy

Avast setting for ZA won't be retained.
« on: November 25, 2005, 07:34:01 PM »
Last week after updating Avast (no problems before) I get asked every reboot for Avast  permission to access internet.  It says program has changed.  I go into ZA setting and give Avast full access for every Avast entry.  It  doesn't stick, it goes back to the way it was before.  And yes, I have searched and read for hours about it here on this forum and have tried several things but nothing works.  I have been using Avast with ZA  for about 15 months with no trouble till now.  I don't have webshield activated. Also I'm curious as to why its trying to connect to internet when I have it set to manual updates?  There is no reason for it to.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2005, 08:00:40 PM by testy »

Offline Abraxas

• Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • Perseverance Furthers...
    • PCLinuxOS-Forums
Re: Avast setting for ZA won't be retained.
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2005, 08:08:03 PM »
testy:
  I have been using Avast with ZA  for about 15 months with no trouble till now.
You obviously know what your doing . My  thought at first was have you checked ( Ticked) the program alert popup from ZoneAlarm , " Avast  (module xxx ) is trying to acess the Internet." I'd say you have ?
My advice ; totally remove your installation of ZoneAlarm.

Go HERE ; follow the removal instuctions ,  and do a clean install.
Goodluck, report back and  let us know if that fixes the problem, as others may have an alternate solution .

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2005, 11:03:33 PM »
I go into ZA setting and give Avast full access for every Avast entry.  It  doesn't stick, it goes back to the way it was before.
Sometimes, if you answer the question and check it for remember, the answer is lost when you shutdown.
Maybe, if you set ZA, close it and exit it, boot.