Author Topic: error 0000A474  (Read 16334 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2005, 12:13:32 PM »
Yeah, it's coming. What is the size of the file? Sounds sort of long time, even for a dial-up.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

crofty59

  • Guest
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #16 on: November 28, 2005, 12:23:56 PM »
Hi

Around 20 MB zipped

This is the folder C:\Program Files\ALWIL Software\Avast4 folder.

Cheers

 

crofty59

  • Guest
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #17 on: November 28, 2005, 01:34:29 PM »
Hi again Vlk

At last it has uploaded, hope you got what you were after Vlk.

Hopefully this will help you

cheers

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #18 on: November 28, 2005, 01:41:01 PM »
Looks good. Thanks a lot!
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

crofty59

  • Guest
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #19 on: November 28, 2005, 01:50:46 PM »
Looks good. Thanks a lot!

No Worries Vlk
I should be thanking you as you are trying to work out my problem.

cheers

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #20 on: November 28, 2005, 05:52:32 PM »
Hmm, I don't seem able to simulate the problem.

So, if you simply start the avast main interface and start scanning e.g. your C:\ drive, does it report all files as unable to scan with the error code A474? Or is it just the WebShield?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

digicammad

  • Guest
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #21 on: November 28, 2005, 06:10:35 PM »
I think I may have found the reason for these messages.  Upon what services does Avast depend?  I had been following a tweak guide and had disabled a number of services, including Com+.  I started getting DCOM related errors in the system event log so set the COM+ back to how it was before.  Since then Avast seems to have stopped generating the a474 errors.

Sorry I can't be more specific but for some bizarre reason I hadn't made a note of the services I amended (I should be shot at dawn).

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #22 on: November 28, 2005, 06:40:40 PM »
Upon what services does Avast depend? 

avast! Antivirus depends upon avast! Standard Shield Support and Remote Procedure Call - RPC.
avast! iAVS4 Control Service has no dependencies.
avast! Mail Scanner and avast! Web Scanner depend only upon avast! Antivirus service.

RPC depends on no one but almost everyone depends upon it.
The best things in life are free.

digicammad

  • Guest
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #23 on: November 28, 2005, 06:43:31 PM »
Right, RPC and RPC locator were 2 that I disabled.  When I started seeing errors I reset RPC to automatic and that seems to have cured it.  It may not be the same problem but it's worth trying.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #24 on: November 28, 2005, 07:23:12 PM »
Right, RPC and RPC locator were 2 that I disabled.  When I started seeing errors I reset RPC to automatic and that seems to have cured it.  It may not be the same problem but it's worth trying.
I'm very surprised you've killed RPC... I think you'll kill Windows doing so... It's a must have service.
Anyway, who knows. RPC Locator could be, indeed, stopped.
The best things in life are free.

digicammad

  • Guest
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #25 on: November 28, 2005, 07:25:05 PM »
Strange as I was following guidelines for tweaking the services. Oh well, that's what I get for trying to optimise.  :)

I hope this answer resolves crofty59's problem too.

crofty59

  • Guest
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #26 on: November 29, 2005, 06:12:36 AM »
Hmm, I don't seem able to simulate the problem.

So, if you simply start the avast main interface and start scanning e.g. your C:\ drive, does it report all files as unable to scan with the error code A474? Or is it just the WebShield?

HI Vlk
I did a quick scan on drive c no errors
I only get this error on web shield.

Right, RPC and RPC locator were 2 that I disabled.  When I started seeing errors I reset RPC to automatic and that seems to have cured it.  It may not be the same problem but it's worth trying.

Hi digicammad

When you change these settings do you have to reboot
I disabled RPC locator no difference.
Not game to disable Remote Procedure Call . Quick question how do you disable it ?
As this doesn't show up the same like RPC locator.

When it comes to computers i am not the sharpest tool in the shed!!!

cheers
« Last Edit: November 29, 2005, 08:00:41 AM by crofty59 »

digicammad

  • Guest
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #27 on: November 29, 2005, 08:48:04 AM »
It is controlled via the services control panel.  If you right click and choose properties you can then set it to auto, manual or disabled.

Ian

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #28 on: November 29, 2005, 11:18:46 AM »
I strongly recommend against disabling the RPC service.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

digicammad

  • Guest
Re: error 0000A474
« Reply #29 on: November 29, 2005, 11:33:24 AM »
Yep, it was a mistake, I was intending to disable the RPC locator service.