Author Topic: Please, I need help!  (Read 5865 times)

jzahina

Please, I need help!
« on: November 26, 2005, 11:19:00 PM »
I recently downloaded Avast Home on my daughter's computer and have been running the scan now for hours now.  It seems to be stuck on a file that it says "Access is denied, cannot process."  I can't seem to get it to get past this file.  The next problem is that is I can't even seem to pause the scanning.  What's up with this.   ???  I must be an idiot or something.  Is there anything I can do besides shutting down the computer?  Her computer seems to have at least (to current count) 20-25 viruses and or Trojan Horses.  Please help, I am extremely new at this.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Please, I need help!
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2005, 12:57:12 AM »
1. What is her OS?
2. What is the file and the files location that it is hanging on?

Also see - Advice & Tools for virus/trojan/malware Removal & Prevention
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

jzahina

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2005, 01:35:42 AM »
Sorry, I think I sort of understand how this works now.  As I said I am very new at this.   :-[

My daughter's OS is Windows 98.
And the file is c\WINDOWS\systb.dll

Thanks for the clarification. 

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2005, 01:38:13 AM »
If you haven't managed to stop it gracefully by now, do the control+alt+delete and find any avast related processes running and end the tasks. Sorr I don't know what they would be in win98.

The file you mentioned in the PM is a browser hijacker which is likely to redirect your web browser or pull in adverts, etc.