Author Topic: Adding new modem/router  (Read 2252 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline marber11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Adding new modem/router
« on: October 11, 2015, 06:26:32 AM »
I just installed my Avast Internet Security onto a new computer and see that it has all the info of my modem/router. I have a new modem/router that I'd like to start using. My question is--will I need to uninstall, then reinstall my Avast IS when I plug in the new router?

I appreciate any advice. Thanks.

marber

Offline Be Secure

  • Long Time Avast User(10years.....) Security Enthusiast.
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1908
Re: Adding new modem/router
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2015, 06:46:46 AM »
I just installed my Avast Internet Security onto a new computer and see that it has all the info of my modem/router. I have a new modem/router that I'd like to start using. My question is--will I need to uninstall, then reinstall my Avast IS when I plug in the new router?

I appreciate any advice. Thanks.

marber
What version of AIS do you use?And do you performed Avast! Home Network Security scan?
« Last Edit: October 11, 2015, 06:48:23 AM by Be Secure »
PC- Windows10 EDU 64Bit,avast! free 21.1.2449,uBlock Origin,NVT_OSA,GoogleChrome(64bit),CCleaner,Unchecky,ZAM Free,Shadow Defender.
Security Enthusiast

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76037
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Adding new modem/router
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2015, 07:29:15 AM »
My question is--will I need to uninstall, then reinstall my Avast IS when I plug in the new router?
No.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline marber11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Adding new modem/router
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2015, 07:55:29 AM »
I don't know which version of Avast Internet Security I have. I just know I bought it in Dec 2014 and keep it updated. Sometimes I run a quick scan, sometimes a full scan.

Thanks for the responses. I like the 2nd response, I guess I'll find out when I get around to changing the modem/router.

marber

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76037
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Adding new modem/router
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2015, 07:57:22 AM »
You're welcome.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0