Author Topic: avast vs security suite  (Read 5717 times)

snapperblue

avast vs security suite
« on: December 21, 2005, 08:34:44 PM »
Please forgive my ignorance -- I'm still learning.

I currently use McAfee internet security suite.  I know the suite has virus protection and a firewall (though I don't completely understand what a firewall is).

Will avast home addition provide comparable protection to what I've got?  Does it have a firewall?

Thanks!

Offline FreewheelinFrank

• Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • I'm a GNU
    • Don't Surf in the Nude!
Re: avast vs security suite
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2005, 09:33:34 PM »
Will avast home addition provide comparable protection to what I've got?

Yes. But don't take my word for it. Have a search round for some reviews.

Here's one where avast! gets five stars and the gold award, where McAfee only gets four:

http://www.webuser.co.uk/products/AntiVirus_200_index.html

Does it have a firewall?

No. But you can get very effective free ones. I use Kerio. Select simple mode when you install it if you don't know anything about firewalls. ZA Free is good too.

http://www.sunbelt-software.com/Kerio.cfm

http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/company/products/znalm/freeDownload.jsp

I don't completely understand what a firewall is.

A firewall is like a security guard at the door of a building. It stops the bad guys coming in without invitation, and if by any chance they do get in, it stops them coming out again with all you possessions under their arm.

To be a little more technical, it stops hackers and worms connecting to your computer, and only allows applications which have requested information from the net to receive it. They also stop applications on your computer sending out information unless you OK it, so they stop Trojan horses sending out personal information.

In fact, Kerio doesn't do the latter in simple mode. You need to switch to advanced mode. Here's my guide for configuring Kerio in Advanced mode: