Author Topic: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast  (Read 10362 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40632
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #15 on: November 07, 2015, 07:27:10 PM »
Open Avast go to settings > troubleshooting
Remove the tick from Enable Avast self defence module
Then restore

If it still gives an error double check that the internet is still not working

Offline cornerstone3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #16 on: November 07, 2015, 08:30:02 PM »
Same error.
Rebooted.
Checked to be sure Avast self defense mode was still unchecked.
Tried to restore.  Same error.
Internet is still not connected.  Windows still says not genuine.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40632
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #17 on: November 07, 2015, 08:45:01 PM »
OK run this fix to reset the network

CAUTION :  This fix is only valid for this specific machine, using it on another may break your computer

Open notepad and copy/paste the text in the quotebox below into it:
 
Quote
CMD: netsh advfirewall reset
CMD: netsh advfirewall set allprofiles state ON
CMD: ipconfig /flushdns
CMD: netsh winsock reset catalog
CMD: netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
CMD: ipconfig /release
CMD: ipconfig /renew
CMD: netsh int ipv4 reset
CMD: netsh int ipv6 reset

 
Save this as fixlist.txt, in the same location as FRST.exe

Run FRST and press Fix
On completion a log will be generated please post that

Offline cornerstone3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #18 on: November 07, 2015, 08:56:00 PM »
Fixlog is attached.  I noticed several lines that said a reboot was necessary.  Did that.  Still no Internet.

Thank you for all the help you've given so far!  I would have given up long ago and started over with a clean install.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40632
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #19 on: November 07, 2015, 09:05:21 PM »
OK run Sfc /scannow as it may be that one of the files was not properly repaired

http://www.thewindowsclub.com/how-to-run-system-file-checker-analyze-its-logs-in-windows-7-vista

Offline cornerstone3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #20 on: November 07, 2015, 09:16:56 PM »
Tried several times to run sfc.  The command window opens then immediately closes.
Rebooted.  Still no Internet and Windows still thinks it's not genuine.
Shall I try FixWin as suggested on the webpage you referenced?

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40632
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #21 on: November 07, 2015, 09:31:15 PM »
Yes try fixwin  If that fails I will work another tool

Offline cornerstone3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #22 on: November 07, 2015, 09:46:15 PM »
System scan completed successfully.  Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity errors.
Rebooted.
Still no Internet and Windows still thinks it's not genuine.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40632
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #23 on: November 07, 2015, 10:14:25 PM »
OK  until the net returns then the genuine bit can wait 

Download Windows All In One Repair from  Tweaking.com to your desktop
Install the programme

Reboot to safe mode with networking
Run Windows All In One
Select Step 2
Select open Pre-repairs scan then click scan
Let that complete
Save the results to a text file on your desktop



Next select Step 5 and back up the registry



Open the Repairs tab



Select the following repair numbers :

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 13, 15, 17, 26, 27,

Set the system to reboot on completion
The press Start Repairs
 


Offline cornerstone3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #24 on: November 07, 2015, 11:21:30 PM »
We have Internet!  Windows is good again, too.
Results of Step 2 are attached.  Seems like the only error was the Documents folder which I have located on my E: drive.
Is there a log from the repair process that I should upload to you?

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40632
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #25 on: November 08, 2015, 12:46:28 PM »
In the words of the immoral bard ... Phew ... :)

Could I now have a fresh FRST scan please and any problems you are experiencing

Offline cornerstone3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #26 on: November 08, 2015, 10:18:09 PM »
Here's the scan.

Problems I have noticed:
  • Media Player still does not work.  When I click on an mp3 file attached to an email, I receive the message, "Windows Media Player encountered a problem while playing the file."  Used to work.  If I use IrfanView instead of Media Player, it still works.
  • iTunes still does not work.  When I click the play button, it acts like it's playing but the progress bar does not move and there is no sound.
  • When I rebooted this morning, I received the following message: "C:\Windows\system32\apphelp.dll is either not designed to run on Windows or it contains an error.  Try installing the program again using the original installation media or contract your system administrator or the software vendor for support."  The title bar of the window says, "DropboxUpdate.exe - Bad Image."  Have never had this error before but I don't think it's anything major.  I can reload Dropbox if necessary.
  • Lotus 1-2-3 will not start.  Yes, this is a very old program but I never upgraded my brain to work with Excel.  Lotus 1-2-3 is very important to me as it comprises a lot of what I do for clients (investment planning, accounting, taxes, etc.).
That's all I've noticed so far.  Something I haven't tried yet is to access the other two computers on my network and to access this computer from those computers.

Finally, I installed Avast Premium yesterday.

Offline cornerstone3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #27 on: November 08, 2015, 10:25:14 PM »
After writing the above, I clicked "OK" on the Dropbox error window.  Another error popped up for HPStatusAlerts.exe (same message otherwise) and then another for Actual Multiple Monitors and then for QBW32.exe (QuickBooks), and then csc.exe.  The message for Actual Multiple Monitors came up a second time and then csc.exe pops up over and over again.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40632
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #28 on: November 09, 2015, 03:49:02 PM »
OK re-install dropbox and that should clear that problem... 

For iTunes the same solution

All I can think of for Lotus is to try a free office suite and see if that will import files and meet your needs http://www.kingsoftstore.com/kingsoft-office-freeware.html


For media player could you run the MSFixit here

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/mats/windows_media_player_diagnostic

csc.exe is the c++ compiler.. I will check that out


Offline cornerstone3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Windows Media Player Error After Installing Avast
« Reply #29 on: November 09, 2015, 06:51:30 PM »
I ran the MSFixit but that didn't fix WMP.  The report is attached.

I also ran sfc again but the CBS log is 20MB and too large to upload.  I converted it to pdf (570KB) but that format can't be uploaded to you.