Author Topic: sygate forums?  (Read 33200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #30 on: December 11, 2005, 01:20:29 PM »
I've found: Goto the Overview, Connections window (right-click to access).
The best things in life are free.

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6927
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #31 on: December 11, 2005, 02:41:50 PM »
Well, what a misleading thread subject!  ;)
...
...
...

Well I wouldn't say it's missleading at all... The guy who started this thread asked something about Sygate forums being closed. See here:

Hey guys, is it me or have the guys at symantec pulled the sygate forums? i know some of you clever guys use or used to use it? i still am at the moment
cheers D  :) :)

Then I said something about Sygate and Sygate forums, which is btw topic of this thread...  ;)

As far as I know, Sygate has been discontinued by Symantec. They bought it, but also they shut it down... so closing some of those forums was kind of expected somehow. I don't know...

And then, Jarmo P just confirmed everything with information from the first hand:

Yes 1600e, seems they did. :(
The moderators who were just volunteers in the site did not take it lightly. Red Jack emailed me how they felt.

I would continue to use Sygate as a light free firewall.
Or use Kerio 4.2.2 like I do currently, some 20 MB memory usage.

Not sure about that Comodo so much advertised in this forum. I looked at the user interface, nothing like Kerio. Also some talks about it not working using a limited XP user account.

I strongly believe we concluded this thread with information he asked for... thread closed. But, since he mentioned he would like to try with some other firewall as Comodo is, I simply mentioned Kerio which is stable and trustworth firewall product. Along the lines we came up with only obvious Kerio GUI problem (for a moment), which is also very healthy for the further development of this thread. If he wants to go with some other firewall since Sygate is discontinued, good thing is if we can warn him about some existing problems, right ?

So, I believe this thread is still on track... since the original question he asked is already answered. He is satisfied and we keep providing a new and useful info. Besides, no one else even mentioned this simple fix for Kerio GUI problem anywhere in this forum (not in a single line). So we all should be very grateful to Jarmo for bringing this up.

Conclusion: No, thread is not being hijacked. Remember, we still talk about computer security related issues. It's not like we turned this thread into some discussion about our grandma's umbrella  ;)
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Jarmo P

  • Guest
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #32 on: December 11, 2005, 03:06:46 PM »
Sasha I think Umath's mention about subject changing was a light joke.
As was also mine. It as we all know happens all the time in all the threads. Discussion changes and the meaning of the original thread poster is lost.

No big thing, don't worry :P

Still here is subject though for Sygate users. Information about alternate software if wanting the change.

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6927
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #33 on: December 11, 2005, 03:39:02 PM »
Well we certainly didn't turn this thread into some opposite direction. Original question has been answered and the guy was happy (I guess). All we did is just continued to talk about Kerio and it's problem. Best of all we solved that one too, right ? Everyone who is interested in Sygate forums topic, could easily see find their answer in those first two or three replies we made, so focus on original topic is not lost in any way... we just continued discussion, although little bit shifted to some other firewall product.

It wouldn't be to clever if we started another thread with topic about Kerio's GUI issue... why ? Because this is not Kerio forum, so starting something like that would just help clogging this forum, and make moderator's job even more complicated.
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Umath

  • Guest
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #34 on: December 11, 2005, 04:10:15 PM »
Sasha I think Umath's mention about subject changing was a light joke.
As was also mine. It as we all know happens all the time in all the threads. Discussion changes and the meaning of the original thread poster is lost.

No big thing, don't worry :P

Still here is subject though for Sygate users. Information about alternate software if wanting the change.

So Well said that I don't need to add my own words.  Thanx, Jarmo.  ;)  Sasha, nothing serious.

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6927
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #35 on: December 11, 2005, 04:15:15 PM »
I know umath, it's just I wanted to clear tha a bit, nothing serious from y side either... because I really think this thread could help some other people with Kerio GUI problem as well, and all those who came here looking for an answer about Sygate forum, they also can feel satisfied since there is answer that asnwers initial question. Again, everybody happy I guess...  ;D
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Jarmo P

  • Guest
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #36 on: December 11, 2005, 05:32:01 PM »
Het Sasha, sure it is you and Tech only who have suffered from this GUI problem  ....  aaah, here I go again making jokes :P

But seriously, why not post this GUI problem solving in a new thread? After being sure it solves it for good. I cannot do that since I have never experienced it.
I think this forum has a lots of readers using other FW's, not all just ZA users.

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6927
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #37 on: December 11, 2005, 06:06:31 PM »
Well on second thought it would be good to make a separate thread after all... just because it can draw attention for all those who suffer from the same GUI problem when it comes to Kerio.

Also, many people not only Tech and I (I know you are joking but still I know you like to pinch, hehe) have reported same issues, it's just not many people use Azureus and/or LimeWire in combination with their firewall (Kerio in this case), and that could be the reason why it looks like not many people are having this problem. Believe me there is unbelievable number out there. darth.mikey from this forum, he also had exactly the same problem, but he states that his problem got solved somehow after updating to 4.2.2

That certainly wasn't case in here, and I also noticed many threads all over the internet where people were saying problem still was there even after updating to 4.2.2

Maybe aliens again ?  ;D
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

..::ReVaN::..

  • Guest
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #38 on: December 11, 2005, 06:31:25 PM »
darth.mikey from this forum, he also had exactly the same problem, but he states that his problem got solved somehow after updating to 4.2.2

It's ReVaN now.... Yes the 4.2.2 update fixed the issue for me i'm so happy now, Kerio opens up instantly and i mean in a sec (thanks to 1gb ram no doubt) and before it was up to a minute.BTW i have resolve address enabled see below...




Cheers

Miha

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 33926
  • malware fighter
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #39 on: December 11, 2005, 07:14:14 PM »
Hi ReVaN,

Sometimes I read on forums that Kerio is the better firewall. What is your feeling.
By the way, I feel much better with the Dr. Web browser plug-in installed.
Got it to-day. (same as for Firefox 1.5).
By the way I would like it if a software firewall had a IP Drop fuction,
so if you do not want harassment from or for some IP, it could be dropped like this:
ipdrop


IP 10.0.0.134 drop on.

source /usr/local/share/dynfw.sh

args 2 $# "${0} IPADDR {on/off}" "Drops packets to/from IPADDR. Good for obnoxious
                                  networks/hosts/DoS"

if [ "$2" == "on" ]
then
   #rules will be appended or inserted as normal
   APPEND="-A"
   INSERT="-I"
   rec_check ipdrop $1 "$1 already blocked" on
   record ipdrop $1
elif [ "$2" == "off" ]
then
   #rules will be deleted instead
   APPEND="-D"
   INSERT="-D"
   rec_check ipdrop $1 "$1 not currently blocked" off
   unrecord ipdrop $1
else
   echo "Error: \"off\" or \"on\" expected as second argument"
   exit 1
fi   


iptables $INSERT INPUT   -s $1 -j DROP
iptables $INSERT OUTPUT  -d $1 -j DROP
iptables $INSERT FORWARD -d $1 -j DROP
iptables $INSERT FORWARD -s $1 -j DROP

echo "IP ${1} drop ${2}."
|



greets,

polonus
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Umath

  • Guest
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #40 on: December 11, 2005, 08:44:42 PM »
Polonus, sorry for being so abrupt but what does your abracadabra mean?  Could you explain it in plain English so that even I can understand the fault of Kerio or other Windows firewalls?

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 33926
  • malware fighter
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #41 on: December 11, 2005, 09:40:04 PM »
Hi Umath,

This is no abacadrabra it is just how easy it is to make part of a script to filter IP packets. Has nothing to do with Kerio, it is just additional, and you can have these when you run an open software firewall for Windows as well. What am I talking about. Well we would like to see that all packets with source or destination: 127.0.0.1, 0.0.0.0, 10.*.*.*.* (the address of your machine or moden (10.0.0.13*), or 172.16.31.*.* or 192.168.*.* (as they are for internal use only) to be dropped, with internal source address from passing inward, the similar from external passing outward, and destination addresses likewise (external dropped inward, and internal destination dropped outward), furthermore drop all source routed packets.
This are the general rule for filtering IP trafick, if you are attacked, and you wanted the hostile packets dropped from the evil site, you could use the script I gave you here. It is just to demonstrate how easy you can configure your IP firewall in open source or make special filters for it.
Linux people do this all of the time, but it is coming in on Windows implementations as well. So the two things had not much in common. If it was off off topic. one could move this posting out. It was just put there to get you all to think actively about filtering, also in a FW. I have built a pre-router filterscript  into ZA, and it works super.

polonus
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #42 on: December 11, 2005, 10:13:36 PM »
But seriously, why not post this GUI problem solving in a new thread?
I've already posted a screenshot.

After being sure it solves it for good.
Just changing the 'resolve address' make the GUI stable for me.
I use automatic logon on Windows. While loggin in, I receive an information that 'Kerio could not connect the service'.
This is the only 'problem' I have now with Kerio GUI and related things.
I did not find any solution for that.
The best things in life are free.

Umath

  • Guest
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #43 on: December 12, 2005, 08:19:16 AM »
Linux people do this all of the time, but it is coming in on Windows implementations as well. So the two things had not much in common.

Yes, Linux users say that one of the benefits of open-source firewalls is that they don't need to wait till firewall venders fix vulnerabilities.  If I am really inclined to learn about the net, probably, it would be suitable for me to learn about Linux.  However, if I began to use Linux with my current knowledge, my PC would be more vulnerable than it is.

I use automatic logon on Windows. While loggin in, I receive an information that 'Kerio could not connect the service'.
This is the only 'problem' I have now with Kerio GUI and related things.
I did not find any solution for that.

??? This doesn't happen in my environment... Tech, how about searching/asking this in Kerio forum since there are specialists?

1600e

  • Guest
Re: sygate forums?
« Reply #44 on: December 12, 2005, 10:15:00 AM »
hi    S.Z.Craftec and jarmo p
just to caaled to say thanks for info and advice on original question, i knew some people on here also used sygate (especially jarmo p).,and i did ask about other firewalls and info on kiero is helpfull,i also  follow the comodo thread. so no  problem to me may be some one can change thread title?
cheers dean.m  :) :)