Author Topic: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)  (Read 3989 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cagross

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
"Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« on: November 23, 2015, 12:04:29 PM »
Hi all.  I have a Windows 7 (32-bit) computer that has all of a sudden become sluggish.  Avast appears to be working fine normally.  But when I boot to safe mode and open Avast, it says ""Avast background service is not running."  When I click the options to enable them, nothing happens.  Any ideas on how to resolve this?

Thanks in advance.

Offline Be Secure

  • Long Time Avast User(10years.....) Security Enthusiast.
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1910
Re: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2015, 12:12:20 PM »
- Which version..?
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
And one question:Why you boot to safe mode ???
« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 12:16:16 PM by Be Secure »
PC- Windows10 EDU 64Bit,avast! free 21.1.2449,uBlock Origin,NVT_OSA,GoogleChrome(64bit),CCleaner,Unchecky,ZAM Free,Shadow Defender.
Security Enthusiast

Offline cagross

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2015, 12:14:36 PM »
Right, sorry:

1.  Latest stable version of Avast.

2.  No other security related software installed.

3.  Avast is the only AV I've used since purchasing the computer (2-3 years ago).  This is the first AV related issue I've had.

Offline Be Secure

  • Long Time Avast User(10years.....) Security Enthusiast.
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1910
Re: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2015, 12:16:56 PM »
Repair Avast:
1. Control Panel -> Add/Remove programs -> Avast
2. Click on 'Repair'.
3. Follow instructions.
4. Reboot.
PC- Windows10 EDU 64Bit,avast! free 21.1.2449,uBlock Origin,NVT_OSA,GoogleChrome(64bit),CCleaner,Unchecky,ZAM Free,Shadow Defender.
Security Enthusiast

Offline cagross

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2015, 12:18:26 PM »
OK thanks.  I'll give it a shot and report back here.

Offline cagouilles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2015, 02:37:52 PM »
Hello
Did not work for me. I repaired and reboot, but the agents still deactivate themselves after a few minutes.
I tested with EICAR test file : the protection is actually deactivated, both file & web.
Using W7 family SP1.

Offline Be Secure

  • Long Time Avast User(10years.....) Security Enthusiast.
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1910
Re: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2015, 03:22:30 PM »
Uninstall Avast! from control panel fully then make a clean installation of Avast! from:https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=178580.0 then reboot the system,Pls make this whole process in normal boot don't use safe mode@ cagouilles
« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 03:31:21 PM by Be Secure »
PC- Windows10 EDU 64Bit,avast! free 21.1.2449,uBlock Origin,NVT_OSA,GoogleChrome(64bit),CCleaner,Unchecky,ZAM Free,Shadow Defender.
Security Enthusiast

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2015, 03:36:58 PM »
Avast is not designed to run in safe mode

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31305
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2015, 05:27:02 PM »
Be Secure,

please do not try to help people if you have no clue on how things are working.
Leave the help to people who have the knowledge.

cagross,
a system becoming slow can be caused by software (most of the times) but also by hardware.
Besides broken/dying hardware a bad connection and dust are common causes.
If you want, follow the instructions in the "viruses and worms" forum and someone will have a look at the log files.
I'm not saying it is malware, but it can be.
Besides that, the logs will show a lot more information than just malware issues.
They can help to solve the problem.

Offline cagross

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2015, 03:56:18 AM »
Thanks to all. 

@essexboy, I did some tests on my working computers last night and see that the Avast services don't start on any of them in safe mode, so that alleviates any concerns I had.  I'll continue to monitor the system in-question and see if I can pinpoint any definite issues.

Offline cagouilles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2015, 10:57:25 AM »
Sorry, I has not seen there was a new version of Avast! (11.1.2241).
Looks quite different actually - and apparently solves this issue.
But why Avast! does not tell when there is a new version available ? I check and see "everything up to date" in the main page. But when I go to the update page and request an update, it downloads a completely new version....

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31305
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: "Avast background service is not running" in safe mode (Win 7)
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2015, 11:26:26 AM »
avast does tell if there is a new (beta) version.
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=178580.0

If you have automatic updates enabled, you a new version will be downloaded and installed well let's say... automaticly ;)