Author Topic: Extremely strange issues with avast since starting up computer  (Read 2797 times)

REDACTED

Extremely strange issues with avast since starting up computer
« on: December 15, 2015, 08:24:35 PM »
Hello! I am new to avast, and am using the free version.

Last night everything was going smoothly, as far as I knew. Real time scanning was working as it should be, etc. etc. This morning I rebooted into my mac partition (I'm running windows on bootcamp) and later went back to windows. When I got back on my windows partition, an error popped up...again, and again, and again, and again. Below are the infection details:

URL: http://69.144.75.32/iavs9x/servers.def.vpx
Infection: URL:Mal
Process: C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\setup\instup.exe

To be precise, it would pop up and before the notice would finish it's sentence (A threat has been detected), it would pop up again. This would occur whenever automatic updates would start and I can make it happen manually via the update tab. This happened either before or after I started tyring to update a video game I had on my computer, but based on the location of the error and the reason why it is happening I don't think that is the issue.

REDACTED

Re: Extremely strange issues with avast since starting up computer
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2015, 08:27:10 PM »
P.S., I did a full system scan and found nothing.

Offline lakrsrool

• Advanced Poster
  • Get the Picture !
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2015, 08:51:42 PM »
Did you make sure and  completely uninstall the AV program you had before Avast?

If so then the first thing you can try is a repair of Avast:
1) Start - Control Panel - Add/Remove Programs - Avast! - Change.
2) Repair.
3) Follow the instructions.
4) Reboot.
Processor: i3 2.53 GHz 4 GIG RAM, OS: WIN 7, Connection: High Speed, Virus/Malware Protection: Avast-2015, SpywareBlaster, Windows Firewall & Defender. Email: Outlook 2010 w/ POP Peeper Email Notifiers.

REDACTED