Author Topic: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)  (Read 75553 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7063
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #105 on: December 28, 2015, 07:13:24 PM »
As workaround you can use Firefox ESR.
What's that?

Besides, I don't really want to have to install anything besides the latest version of FF only so that the damn Avast add-on works. I want a fix. I hope there will be one soon. Or am I the only one having this issue?

No you are not the only one having issues with 'non signed' or inappropriately signed add-ons
And Avast isn't the only software with add-ons that are being "disabled" due to the signing issue created by FF.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2015, 07:15:06 PM by schmidthouse »
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2488b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.93.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/VS/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46009
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #106 on: December 28, 2015, 09:20:52 PM »
No problem here with AOS and Firefox:
  There are problems however with some of the other add-ons.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline surfcity

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #107 on: January 06, 2016, 07:52:52 PM »
I don't want a new version, I want the old one back. My notebook computer apparently auto-installed an update a few days ago in the middle of the night (as evidenced by a pop-up message that I found when I got to my computer the next morning). Since that day, I cannot get anything about my computer to work once it's booted up. The mousepad doesn't work, so I can't move my cursor. The arrows don't work, so I can't change lines. The Escape key doesn't work, so I can't access the start-up menu on reboot. I have to do a hard shutdown with the on/off button. When attempting to reboot, it comes up and asks about starting Windows normally or in a safe mode, but the arrows don't work, so I can't choose safe mode. So it starts in normal mode and does nothing once there. I have to press and hold the on/off button to get it off again. I waited a couple of days before trying to reboot again today, but it's the same ol' same ol. I was working on this computer on New Year's Eve, and it was perfectly fine. After whatever was updated, no dice.

HELP PLEASE!!

Offline ic747

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #108 on: January 07, 2016, 01:03:18 AM »
Besides, I don't really want to have to install anything besides the latest version of FF only so that the damn Avast add-on works. I want a fix. I hope there will be one soon. Or am I the only one having this issue?

First thing I do after installing Avast is uninstall the add-on. It's annoying, and I can't imagine what it does that the real-time scan doesn't? If I'm running a patched browser/OS, is Avast going to protect me from an unknown zero day? Doubt it. All it seems to do is slow down my browser.

Can someone tell me what the add-on does besides give Avast a nice "feature" bullet point?

Offline ic747

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #109 on: January 07, 2016, 04:37:09 AM »
Since that day, I cannot get anything about my computer to work once it's booted up. The mousepad doesn't work, so I can't move my cursor. The arrows don't work, so I can't change lines. The Escape key doesn't work, so I can't access the start-up menu on reboot. I have to do a hard shutdown with the on/off button. When attempting to reboot, it comes up and asks about starting Windows normally or in a safe mode, but the arrows don't work, so I can't choose safe mode. So it starts in normal mode and does nothing once there. I have to press and hold the on/off button to get it off again.

Hello. Somebody deleted my post it seems! Very weird. So, I will try to repeat what I said before...
If you can't use your keyboard at the Safe Mode boot screen, something is very wrong with your computer, and it extends beyond Avast. At that point in the boot process, virtually no drivers or OS components have been loaded. In fact, even if you boot all the way into Safe Mode, Avast typically would not be loaded. So, although there is no way I could speculate as to what specifically has gone wrong with your computer, it seems like something is wrong at a very low level, maybe even hardware. I would recommend seeing if you can boot using a bootable USB or a live CD (such as BitDefender) and see if your keyboard works and if you can troubleshoot your windows OS from there.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71878
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #110 on: January 07, 2016, 06:49:45 AM »
I don't want a new version, I want the old one back. My notebook computer apparently auto-installed an update a few days ago in the middle of the night (as evidenced by a pop-up message that I found when I got to my computer the next morning). Since that day, I cannot get anything about my computer to work once it's booted up. The mousepad doesn't work, so I can't move my cursor. The arrows don't work, so I can't change lines. The Escape key doesn't work, so I can't access the start-up menu on reboot. I have to do a hard shutdown with the on/off button. When attempting to reboot, it comes up and asks about starting Windows normally or in a safe mode, but the arrows don't work, so I can't choose safe mode. So it starts in normal mode and does nothing once there. I have to press and hold the on/off button to get it off again. I waited a couple of days before trying to reboot again today, but it's the same ol' same ol. I was working on this computer on New Year's Eve, and it was perfectly fine. After whatever was updated, no dice.

HELP PLEASE!!
See: https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB37#artTitle
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.9.6605.IBC [UI.666] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.14 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.1.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 93.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.85
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline glnz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #111 on: January 10, 2016, 04:38:34 PM »
In the recent updates last few months, Avast has eliminated the "ngtool isready" test cmd function.

When it was available through late Fall 2015, it was showing that NG was NOT - repeat NOT - working on FOUR of my PCs (three Win 7 Pro 64-bit and one XP Pro 32-bit, all with hardware-virtualization capacity).  See my thread at
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=178652.msg1273884#msg1273884 .

So, instead of making NG actually work, Avast has hidden the test and NONE of us can actually check whether NG is working.

Avast, any comment?
Various Dell Optiplexes running XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.  Firefox with security add-ons.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85643
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #112 on: January 10, 2016, 05:17:26 PM »
I'm not even sure that NG is or has been available for XP - I have never seen it deployed on this XP Pro SP3 system.

Mind you that could be down to me if at some point it was available, in a custom install at some point I may have removed the function. In subsequent UI updates it wouldn't have been installed either.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline glnz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #113 on: January 10, 2016, 05:41:54 PM »
DavidR - Thanks for response.  What about my three Win 7 Pro 64-bit machines that are hardware-virtualization capable?
Various Dell Optiplexes running XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.  Firefox with security add-ons.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85643
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #114 on: January 10, 2016, 06:03:47 PM »
DavidR - Thanks for response.  What about my three Win 7 Pro 64-bit machines that are hardware-virtualization capable?

Some time ago the actual system requirements for NG were very low, unrealistically low. So much so that I got it twice on my Acer Aspire One, Win7 Starter (32bit) 10.1", 1024X600 screen, 2GB DDR3 RAM, Intel Atom N255 (1.5GHz dual core) CPU and 250GB HDD.

Hopefully you can see why I said unrealistically low. Now those system requirements have been increased, unfortunately I don't know what they are, but I think that having a hardware virtualization capable system may well not be as important as the CPU power and RAM, etc.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline glnz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #115 on: January 10, 2016, 06:17:04 PM »
My Win 7 Pro 64-bit is a Dell 7010 MT with an Intel Core i5 3470 @ 3.2 GHz, and with 16GB RAM.  Nothing missing here. 

Bottom line is that Avast has pushed the NG failure under the rug.
Various Dell Optiplexes running XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.  Firefox with security add-ons.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85643
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #116 on: January 10, 2016, 07:59:40 PM »
1. My Win 7 Pro 64-bit is a Dell 7010 MT with an Intel Core i5 3470 @ 3.2 GHz, and with 16GB RAM.  Nothing missing here. 

2. Bottom line is that Avast has pushed the NG failure under the rug.

1. Well that system I would have thought would have been fine.

2. I don't see it that way as many are able to install and use it, so it isn't that way for everyone. Exactly why it works on some systems but not others is the big question. I think the system spec to be able to install the NG module.

You might want to check if the NG (now a different name 'Virtual Machine xxxxxx' something) is listed in the Control Panel > Programs and Features > Avast - Change - from the next screen click Modify and it will show the options available.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline glnz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #117 on: January 10, 2016, 09:22:22 PM »
DavidR - That "Modify" option screen does NOT show me "NG" or "Virtual Machine xxxxxx" or anything else that mentions virtualization.

NG is still broken, on a perfectly good PC that has hardware virtualization capacity.
Various Dell Optiplexes running XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.  Firefox with security add-ons.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85643
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #118 on: January 10, 2016, 09:50:48 PM »
DavidR - That "Modify" option screen does NOT show me "NG" or "Virtual Machine xxxxxx" or anything else that mentions virtualization.

NG is still broken, on a perfectly good PC that has hardware virtualization capacity.

I can't say whether it is broken or that it doesn't meet the system requirements (which we as users don't know) and as such isn't offered or an option. It isn't there on my Acer netbook when it was before when the system requirements were unrealistically low.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline john-mueller

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #119 on: January 11, 2016, 06:35:11 PM »
Thanks bob3160:

I'm currently using Firefox 44 which doesn't display complete security details about websites. Very first I tried it on a page which shows something helpful details about avast free antivirus latest (http://www.urgentfiles.com/2016/01/download-avast-free-antivirus-latest.html). However, i see in add-ons that the extension was disabled. Now i enabled it so it starts working as perfect as avast always do.

Thanks for your point