Author Topic: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)  (Read 76024 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ic747

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #90 on: December 18, 2015, 06:21:07 PM »
Does no one from Avast monitor this thread?

I've gotten no reply to my inquiry above.

And yes, I agree with others that the major UI redesign is super confusing.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85786
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #91 on: December 18, 2015, 07:41:06 PM »
Does no one from Avast monitor this thread?

I've gotten no reply to my inquiry above.

And yes, I agree with others that the major UI redesign is super confusing.

Yes avast team members view and participate in the forums, but for the most part these team members are contributing here are developers so time is limited. The majority of responses comes from other avast users who have been using avast for a long time.

This is already a large topic, so if you have a specific problem it is best to create a new topic about it so it doesn't get buried in this topic.

The main change in the UI is simply the first page, getting past that (Settings, the cog wheel) and the majority of the sections under it are the same. Again if you have a specific problem with the UI ask.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.697) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85786
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #92 on: December 18, 2015, 07:50:34 PM »
<snip quotes>
no, just from updating to latest, i lost ALL my exceptions - also someone else did who called me yesterday.
if i'm the 1st to report this then perhaps user errors or win10 1511 update did it.
just checking as i was shocked to see them gone..

EDIT: i see others have mentioned settings have been reset..

I would certainly be shocked if my settings were gone if it was indeed an update from the UI, which is meant to preserve both settings and installed modules. The one thing that I do if doing a clean install is to Back up settings (avastUI > Settings - bottom of the window - Back up settings.

I don't use win10, so I can't say if this may well be related, but I think it would be worthwhile to use the Back up settings prior to update. Then you can check if they are there or not and Restore settings if necessary.

Bear in mind this is a support forum so you are going to see reported issues (pinning it down is harder) and this without issue generally don't come to the forums.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.697) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline insomnimike

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #93 on: December 19, 2015, 02:12:06 AM »
Hello. I have tried installing avast twice now. I'm currently running windows 10 on a Toshiba satellite. The first time I installed it totally destroyed my computer and I had to reset the computer to manufacture settings. I lost everything. Then I tried again a few months later thinking it was either just a really bad update, or I didn't download avast correctly. Anyways, I was wanting to know if avast is actually compatible with windows 10. I have used avast for years now and I really don't want to get a different antivirus.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3744
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #94 on: December 19, 2015, 02:25:41 AM »
Hi insomnimike, welcome to the forum :)

Yes, Avast is compatible with Windows 10.

But can I recommend you to make regular ( system image ) backups ?
If you need advise/help with making backups, start a new topic here https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=1.0

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

Offline Apogee777

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #95 on: December 19, 2015, 03:17:21 AM »
<snip quotes>
no, just from updating to latest, i lost ALL my exceptions - also someone else did who called me yesterday.
if i'm the 1st to report this then perhaps user errors or win10 1511 update did it.
just checking as i was shocked to see them gone..

EDIT: i see others have mentioned settings have been reset..

I would certainly be shocked if my settings were gone if it was indeed an update from the UI, which is meant to preserve both settings and installed modules. The one thing that I do if doing a clean install is to Back up settings (avastUI > Settings - bottom of the window - Back up settings.

I don't use win10, so I can't say if this may well be related, but I think it would be worthwhile to use the Back up settings prior to update. Then you can check if they are there or not and Restore settings if necessary.

Bear in mind this is a support forum so you are going to see reported issues (pinning it down is harder) and this without issue generally don't come to the forums.

OK i'll put it down to user error, good to hear - just wanted reassurance that Avast didn't do a blunder
still the best AV available and i have used the lot..
thanks

Offline deo333

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #96 on: December 19, 2015, 11:56:35 AM »
Hello everybody,

After update, I have no more access to the SAFEZONE Browser! No more icon and parameter tool option for SafeZONe  :-\.  My PC still use windows XP SP3.

Offline Denis100

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #97 on: December 19, 2015, 09:20:33 PM »
Downloaded the latest version here and it still blocks the pictures on my yahoo page.

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46148
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #98 on: December 19, 2015, 09:25:03 PM »
Downloaded the latest version here and it still blocks the pictures on my yahoo page.
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=176218.msg1277987#msg1277987
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Courier2001

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
yes, I agree with others that the major UI redesign is super confusing. TY IC747 your right.

At one time Avast had had Access-AnyWhere a remote control of systems running Avast back 2 years ago or so. That option is gone. Which was dreadful for me as I had installed Avast and Avast Premier on many computers that are all over New York area to control then from one central location. Many of these remote computers are owned by seniors who have no computer savvy at all.
OK now  Goggle Remote Desktop Works and replaced Avast Premier Remote feature I had Liked.

 The UI changes every years or so making any attempt to teach others folks with no computer knowledge how to USE> in this case Avast Premier and or the Free Version of Avast a very tough thing to do.

 When the updates completely change the UI every so often >>> I have to RELEARN the UI find which features still work and which are gone that I had based my purchase on.  I then have to re-teach Avast it to all the people I had recommended Avast to who have no clue what to do as the interface has changed again.
At 60 70 plus folks  do not want to relearn an AVAST interface that changes every year they just want to safely get on the internet and Facebook.

The UI change and stressful update come at a time when for me  when I  have to renew 3 main licences that I use and now 6 other business licences as well as 7 free ones. 8( gezzz

Many of these use to be on my ACCOUNTS LIST on my main copy of Avast Premier along with status and other information like last scan dates, online or off line, Location, and the like.  GONE??? or i cant find it yet.

My new complaint here is. > Where are the my other Avast licenced accounts listed in the UI ((((Manage Accounts)))).  Feature Gone ?

 OL' MANAGE ACCOUNTS feature  GONE? or BROKEN ? well No IT is There i guess> the top right click my name (your name) scroll down too >manage accounts UI AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)

I checked Account Manage Accounts and clicking on the my name (account) nearly disconnected the my account  lol. But Worse is where are all my other Licenced Accounts (GONE?) as well as free accounts which should have been listed under Manage Accounts.  NO ITs THERE 

 I mean why name it that if its only one account lists off the bat?  In which case Manage (disconnect) your account works with no s. 

Oh NOW I SEE NOW  lol ha funny ADD ACCOUNTS leads too Log IN to AVAST PREMIER. Which also leads too the OL' Manage OTHER ACCOUNTs  Why am I logging in again to begin with? I was logged in. WOW cool UI change take a direct link in the ui manage other accounts and hide it cool...burr.
Maybe in a few days I may find or stumble on to where the heck connect remotely to other accounts is hidden. Or is that feature gone totally still have not found that. sigh

Great UI Hurt my brain and business again.
 8) Courier2001
« Last Edit: December 22, 2015, 08:08:54 PM by Courier2001 »

Offline ic747

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #100 on: December 22, 2015, 09:47:15 PM »
Getting lots of applications freezing that started the same day I installed this update (Dec 11). It happens most frequently to Mozilla Firefox or Thunderbird, but can happen to any application it seems. The apps start "not responding" and won't restart successfully after running end process on them. I have to restart the system to fix.  Has anyone else had a similar problem?

I am running Windows 7 Pro 64 bit and Avast 11.1.2245.

Also on Dec 11, I installed Definition Update for Windows Defender - KB915597 (Definition 1.211.2403.0).

I disabled Windows Defender, and it seems to have stopped the application hangs, so I am guessing it was at fault and not Avast. :)

There seems to be a precedent for this from 2012:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-windows_programs/kb915597-causes-firefox-thunderbird-not-to-start/7ef69e48-5a80-4b89-bd72-5f14fc707bce?db=5&auth=1
« Last Edit: December 22, 2015, 09:49:01 PM by ic747 »

Offline DocCovington

  • Geek
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Avast 2016 not compatible with Mozilla Firefox?
« Reply #101 on: December 28, 2015, 12:29:28 PM »
I am having a huge compatiblity issue between Avast 2016 and Firefox 43!

I can't for the life of me get the Avast Online Security add-on to work in Firefox.

I've tried complete fresh installs of both products, but to no avail. At first I thought it was an issue with Firefox 64-bit, but after switching back to the 32-bit version, nothing changed, the problem persisted.

I already tried this solution, but it didn't work, either, since I don't even have a "Remove" button for AOS:
Quote
Please remove current Avast Online Security plugin (AOS) from your Firefox (click Remove button) and then repair Avast installation. It should install the latest AOS version in to your Firefox. To repair Avast installation click on "Start", find "Control Panel" and click on it. A new window will open. In this window you should see the icon "Programs and Features". Again, you should click on it. Select 'Avast, then click on the 'Uninstall/Change'. When the avast! Setup Wizard appears, select the option "REPAIR" from the left pane. Restart your PC.

Can anyone help me? I want my Avast Online Security back.  :-[
« Last Edit: December 28, 2015, 12:31:09 PM by DocCovington »
Virus-free since 2001.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72300
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #102 on: December 28, 2015, 01:12:46 PM »
As workaround you can use Firefox ESR.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.9.6675.IBC [UI.671] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.15 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.2.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 95.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.85
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DocCovington

  • Geek
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #103 on: December 28, 2015, 07:04:07 PM »
As workaround you can use Firefox ESR.
What's that?

Besides, I don't really want to have to install anything besides the latest version of FF only so that the damn Avast add-on works. I want a fix. I hope there will be one soon. Or am I the only one having this issue?
Virus-free since 2001.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37109
Re: NEW LATEST VERSION: AVAST 2016 R1 SP1 (2016.11.1.2245)
« Reply #104 on: December 28, 2015, 07:08:23 PM »