Author Topic: HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~  (Read 15394 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline taoge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« on: November 26, 2003, 04:06:33 AM »
I've  installed a home edition avast 4.126.But i don't  know how to fix the problem: xerces panic error: Could not load transcoding services!
Who can tell me how to do it ? Help me~~~~~~~~~Thank you

My email: taoge1977@tom.com  
                taoge1999@hotmail.com

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1906
Re:HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2003, 06:22:36 AM »
taoge,

Your version of Avast is too old.
The latest version is Avast 4.289
Download the updated version at http://www.avast.com/i_idt_1016.html

Uninstall the older version using the Add/Remove function in the Windows Control Panel, and install 4.289
Then do a manual db update (or wait for Avast to notify you of the new update).

You should be ok after that.

Good luck,
techie
« Last Edit: November 26, 2003, 06:28:04 AM by techie101 »

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11573
    • AVAST Software
Re:HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2003, 09:32:24 AM »
Yes, the Xerces problem has been fixed in build 260 (I think).

You don't even have to download the full installer again - running a program update (e.g. using the popup menu from the system tray avast icon) should be enough.

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1906
Re:HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2003, 03:24:57 AM »

You don't even have to download the full installer again -

Igor,
Normally using the internal update program function within Avast does the trick, but when a user informs me that they have had any abnormal functioning, then I believe it is better to completely remove the older program in case a file was corrupted, and install a spanking brand new version!

 ;D
techie

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1906
Re:HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2003, 04:42:32 AM »
taoge,

Exactly when do you get the Xerces error?
What operation were you trying to complete?

thanks,
techie

Offline taoge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re:HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2003, 06:10:17 AM »
 When I open my Dreamweaver......

    I had search this kind of problem on the internet (in google) , Some other guys have the same problem.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11573
    • AVAST Software
Re:HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2003, 09:22:04 AM »
techie, you would certainly be right if the problem concerned the program update itself, but this is just a program problem I think.

As I said, according to the history, "Xerces panic" problem has been fixed somewhere around the build 260. So, the first thing to do is to update the old build 126 to the latest one.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2003, 02:17:00 PM »
taoge,

as I understand it, this problem doesn't have ANYTHING to do with avast. It's a Dreamweaver's problem, not avast's.

avast has its own copy Xerces (XML parser) and does NOT share it with Dreamweaver (or any other app in the system). So I don't see any way how I could help you - it's clearly a problem in Dreamweaver...

The best would be to contact Dreamweaver support - I'm sure they'd be more helpful than we can be.... :-\

Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1906
Re:HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2003, 05:13:41 PM »
Igor, VLK,

I fully agree with VLK.  I just received an IM from taoge and he explained his use of Dreamweaver.

Apparently, his Dreamweaver may be corrupted.  Since Avast does not rely upon or interact with other Xerces functions, I doubt Avast has anything to do with it.

His options are to reinstall Dreamweaver or contact their support for removal and reinstallation of their Xerces copy.

This was a simple one...wasnt' it!

techie


Igor,
I know how you hate when I recommend removing an older copy of Avast and the use of AvClear, but I find that in the long run, it is a step that normally needs to be done anyway in elimination of causes, so I like to get it out of the way first.  It really does not cause any harm except a few minutes more in time.
Allow me my little luxury.  Ok?   ;D
« Last Edit: November 27, 2003, 05:18:38 PM by techie101 »

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1906
Re:HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2003, 05:51:13 PM »
taoge,

I think I have it.  Their are two files within Dreamweaver that may be causing your trouble:
xerces.dll and xerces.rar

The best course of action is to reformat the program Dreamweaver.

Refer to this post for the whole story:
http://www.webdesignforums.net/thread6158.html

Technical can tell you... I don't give up!

Hope this takes care of it....
If not, I keep on trying.

techie

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67288
Re:HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2003, 01:50:43 AM »
taoge,
Technical can tell you... I don't give up!

How I love to have this patience... Stay with techie and stay happy!  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline taoge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
:) Techie101 ,Thanks a lot !
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2003, 02:47:14 AM »
   Thaks for your help!  Since my computer comes out this kind of error, I did'nt know how to do? THE Dreamweaver worked normally just one day before. So i searched this kind of problem in GOOGLE. :)  Some guys said that AVAST can solve this kind problem ,so......I put my hope on the Avast!  

PS: English is not my mother tongue and my English is not very well ,so   i hope you can comprehend my meaning.   :)

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1906
Re:HOW to fix xerces panic error? Please help me~~~
« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2003, 02:55:39 AM »
taoge,

I think you misunderstood what the "guys" meant when they said Avast could take care of it.

Avast itself had xerces panic error problems in an earlier version but it has been corrected.

Dreamweaver CAN have similar xerces problems, and it is evident that you have them now.  Reformat Dreamweaver (reinstall) and you should be ok.

If you know how, run a Diskscan and Defrag before attempting the reformat, and then run them again afterwards.

You meaning is understood.

techie

Offline taoge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
ok I understand~~ Thanks a lot~:)
« Reply #13 on: November 28, 2003, 04:18:11 AM »
Techie ,i understood what you said,  hehe~~~~~ :)

    Since my computer comes out the problem, so i searched the solution in GOOGLE. I thought it maybe the viruses caused the system problem ,so i put hope on the Avast.  ;D

    Though AVAST has not solve my problem, I thank Techie101 raman VLK their support and reply very much.

THANKS~~~~~ :D