Author Topic: Smart scan won't progress  (Read 4943 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Smart scan won't progress
« on: December 02, 2015, 03:19:06 PM »
I have set smart scan to scan start up programs, rootkits and memory. When i start the scan, there reads "viruses", which i think it's currently scanning. It stays at 0% for long time, i have not waited that long though. This was with previous and now with the latest version. I hve Windows 7.
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87275
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan won't progress
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2015, 03:21:36 PM »
If you haven't got avast 2016 11.1.2245 just released yesterday, I would suggest that you update.

See https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179855.0

This resolved some issues in the scan for network threats, which is also included in the smart scan - hopefully it will resolve your issue.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.12.6044 (build 22.12.7758.768) UI 1.0.741/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Smart scan won't progress
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2015, 03:22:27 PM »
If you haven't got avast 2016 11.1.2245 just released yesterday, I would suggest that you update.

See https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179855.0

This resolved some issues in the scan for network threats, which is also included in the smart scan - hopefully it will resolve your issue.

I have the latest.
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87275
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan won't progress
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2015, 03:26:17 PM »
Strange that resolved the network threats scan that my system had on the previous version (and beta).
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.12.6044 (build 22.12.7758.768) UI 1.0.741/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Smart scan won't progress
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2015, 03:30:32 PM »
Strange that resolved the network threats scan that my system had on the previous version (and beta).

i remember having that problem too, which is now fixed. But now smart scan won't progress.
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76079
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan won't progress
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2015, 03:38:53 PM »
Repair Avast:
1. Control Panel -> Add/Remove programs -> Avast
2. Click on 'Repair'.
3. Follow instructions.
4. Reboot.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Smart scan won't progress
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2015, 06:36:36 PM »
I did the repair and it still shows 0% after some time of scan. Btw, it was a shame that most settings were reset after the repair, even though i used settings backup/restore.
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87275
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan won't progress
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2015, 07:20:22 PM »
Although I have used the Repair function many times and it didn't appear to reset my settings. Changes in the avast settings are normally going to end up in one or more of the .ini files, default settings aren't stored as such only changes. The .ini files should be retained unchanged.

That said I haven't tried a Repair on 11.1.2245.

I have also used the Back up and Restore settings many times and haven't fond an issue with them. I have however not done that for a Repair (that's how much I fell it isn't necessary). But I often do a clean reinstall and that would also remove the .ini files where many settings are retained and the Restore settings worked well.

So I'm at a bit of a loss as to what is going on here.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.12.6044 (build 22.12.7758.768) UI 1.0.741/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Smart scan won't progress
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2015, 07:32:32 PM »
Ok, it does work. It just seems that rootkit scan (even only quick scan) takes some time. When i removed rootkit scan for the smart scan list, and only scanned start up programs and memory, the scan was quickly completed. So rootkit scan is very slow and seems to stay at 0% "forever".
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87275
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan won't progress
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2015, 08:14:44 PM »
Not sure how you were able to change the Smart Scan settings, I though this was a closed scan and only the modules being run.

I say this because in my Scan for viruses > Drop down list the Smart Scan isn't there. So if I select Smart Scan it runs immediately with no means of changing what is scanned, which I though the smart scan was about.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.12.6044 (build 22.12.7758.768) UI 1.0.741/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Smart scan won't progress
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2015, 08:34:17 PM »
Avast settings-General-Smart Scan-Customize-Scan areas. And there select which areas you want to scan.
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87275
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan won't progress
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2015, 10:02:36 PM »
Ah, I was looking for something for Smart Scan, not thinking of the scan for viruses with in that area.

You can probably tell I don't do many on-demand scans as I think they are much depreciated with on-access anti-viruses.

Thank you.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.12.6044 (build 22.12.7758.768) UI 1.0.741/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security