Author Topic: Softonic Fake Outdated software warning  (Read 9852 times)

crapware

Softonic Fake Outdated software warning
« on: May 04, 2014, 11:27:59 PM »
So I was trying to install RED (Remove Empty Directories) from Sourceforge...
While I was about to save it a giant AVAST popup appears:

"You are trying to install outdated software!" Softonic will help you download the "latest" version.

Aware of the high bullshit factor (since where would Softonic find a newer version????Sourceforge is the SOURCE!)
I agreed to download the "Softonic" Installer proposed by AVAST.
And guess what?
I downloads the EXACT same version but also wants to add some crapware also.

I have been using and installing AVAST for 3+ years. I use the free version but people I have installed it have bought
the full version. But with the latest GrimeFighter antics and now this... I guess it wont be AVAST from now on.
It's all well and good to OFFER, you have to make money but DONT SHOVE it down my throat at the first opportunity!!!!

AdrianH

Re: Softonic Fake Outdated software warning
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2014, 07:21:50 AM »
So I was trying to install RED (Remove Empty Directories) from Sourceforge...
While I was about to save it a giant AVAST popup appears:

"You are trying to install outdated software!" Softonic will help you download the "latest" version.

Aware of the high bullshit factor (since where would Softonic find a newer version????Sourceforge is the SOURCE!)
I agreed to download the "Softonic" Installer proposed by AVAST.
And guess what?
I downloads the EXACT same version but also wants to add some crapware also.

I have been using and installing AVAST for 3+ years. I use the free version but people I have installed it have bought
the full version. But with the latest GrimeFighter antics and now this... I guess it wont be AVAST from now on.
It's all well and good to OFFER, you have to make money but DONT SHOVE it down my throat at the first opportunity!!!!