Author Topic: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3  (Read 6672 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wickedd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« on: December 07, 2015, 01:17:03 AM »
hey there support, need help from you.. I cant upgrade, reinstall, remove AVAST because this annoying error: The stub cannot run installer/updater executable c:\program files\avast software\avast\setup\sfx\avast.setup (code 0x3)

I tried everything, please help
thanks

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36993
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2015, 01:41:18 AM »
Tried this .... avast uninstall utility  https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB10#artTitle

then try a new install


Offline wickedd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2015, 09:40:11 AM »
already tried, same error: The stub cannot run installer/updater executable c:\program files\avast software\avast\setup\sfx\avast.setup (code 0x3)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69997
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2015, 10:25:46 AM »
- Which Avast..? (Free/Pro/IS/Premier)
- Which version..?
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.9
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 89.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline wickedd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2015, 02:36:32 PM »
everything in attached log bro
- no other security sw
- no other AV before avast

thanks

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31311
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2015, 03:27:36 PM »
And the problem...
I see 5(!) av's that are/where on the system.

https://blog.kaspersky.com/multiple-antivirus-programs-bad-idea/2670/

Offline wickedd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2015, 03:53:11 PM »
cmon guys please be more specific how can I upgrade avast, I want purchase new licence but I cant do anything
what other AVs, just installed malwarebytes (because my avast licence expired and avast tells me that my pc is unprotected)

thanks

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31311
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2015, 03:58:12 PM »
I see (parts of) McAfee, Windows Defender, AVG, ESet and avast

Delete everything from them using the specific tools/instructions for each of them.
http://www.ache.nl

If the tools worked or not...
Delete everything that is still there from the av's manually.
Folders, files and registry entries.

After doing so, perform a clean installation of the latest avast version:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179855.0

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45150
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2015, 04:01:35 PM »
How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline wickedd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2015, 05:57:06 PM »
guys nothning helped :/ I just used av remover and remove mcafee windows defender avg and eset and stil same error
whn I want use avastcleaner.exe = The stub cannot run installer/updater executable c:\program files\avast software\avast\setup\sfx\avast.setup (code 0x3)

any other tips please?
thanks

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31311
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2015, 06:09:33 PM »
Did you also removed "leftovers" manually as I suggested ?

Offline wickedd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2015, 06:16:38 PM »
yes everything I found and can be related to those AVs and still same error :/

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31311
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2015, 06:50:20 PM »
Did you also removed all folder, files and registry entries from avast ?

Offline wickedd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2015, 12:31:44 AM »
no manually not, I want use official AVAST remover, thats the point of this thread
(some parts of avast still running in background: AvastSvc.exe, afwServ.exe)

thanks

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45150
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
« Reply #14 on: December 08, 2015, 12:35:40 AM »
no manually not, I want use official AVAST remover, thats the point of this thread
(some parts of avast still running in background: AvastSvc.exe, afwServ.exe)

thanks
Not if you used the aswclear tool. ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq