Author Topic: How do I do a System Restore with Avast Interned Security?  (Read 3215 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline yardbird

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
How do I do a System Restore with Avast Interned Security?
« on: November 30, 2015, 05:45:50 PM »
How do I do a System Restore with Avast Internet Security?

I have a problem with a game which won't start anymore. The screen goes black every time I try to start it and then I have to shut down the computer with the start button and start it again.

I don't know what the problem is since this game has worked perfectly for many many years both on Internet XP and my current Internet 7.

I will try to do a system restore to see if that solves the problem but I'm not sure how to do it with Avast Internet Security.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: How do I do a System Restore with Avast Interned Security?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2015, 06:47:43 PM »
The better will be installing http://www.toms-world.org/blog/restore_point_creator and within the app, restore to an old restore point in Safe Mode.
The best things in life are free.

Offline yardbird

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: How do I do a System Restore with Avast Interned Security?
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2015, 07:27:51 PM »
I did exactly what you told me  but some problem occurred so I couldn't do a System Restore.

Then I tried the usual Microsoft way with the same result. Some problem occurred so I couldn't do a system restore.

By some strange coincident, the program which I couldn't  start before trying a system restore did start after that.

But there seems to be a problem with System Restore.

Is there no way to deactivate Avast Internet Security while doing a System Restore and then activate it again if it's Avast which causes the problems with System restore?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: How do I do a System Restore with Avast Interned Security?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2015, 07:34:32 PM »
Is there no way to deactivate Avast Internet Security while doing a System Restore and then activate it again if it's Avast which causes the problems with System restore?
Yes.
Disable All Shield permanently.
Go to Settings, Troubleshooting, and disable the avast self-defense module.
Try a new restoration in Safe Mode.
The best things in life are free.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7109
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: How do I do a System Restore with Avast Interned Security?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2015, 07:43:15 PM »
Is there no way to deactivate Avast Internet Security while doing a System Restore and then activate it again if it's Avast which causes the problems with System restore?
Yes.
Disable All Shield permanently.
Go to Settings, Troubleshooting, and disable the avast self-defense module.
Try a new restoration in Safe Mode.

Yes, I believe the culprit is "avast self-defense module' if I recall prior discussion. :-\
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/250GB SSD/16GB Ram/ADU v.22.2b/VS/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/ADU v.22.2b/VS/SANDBOXIE/HotSpot Shield
 Avast Mobile Security (Android)
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86495
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: How do I do a System Restore with Avast Interned Security?
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2015, 08:06:20 PM »
Personally system restore in XP is pretty poor, it isn't close to 100% and often has unforeseen consequences. Mainly because it doesn't cover everything and occasionally a restore point fails, regardless of avast self-defence.

That is why I have been using Hard Drive imaging software for almost as long as I have had XP. This provides a robust backup and recovery strategy (weekly imaging of a drive and I keep the last 6 versions of the backup) which XP system restore can't come close.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: How do I do a System Restore with Avast Interned Security?
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2015, 05:38:30 PM »
Yes, I believe the culprit is "avast self-defense module' if I recall prior discussion. :-\
Yes, it will be. But it can be disabled as said before.
The best things in life are free.

Offline yardbird

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: How do I do a System Restore with Avast Interned Security?
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2015, 07:04:46 AM »
Thanks for help!

I managed to fix the problem!  :)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: How do I do a System Restore with Avast Interned Security?
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2015, 12:04:00 PM »
Thanks for help!

I managed to fix the problem!  :)
Thanks for the feedback.
The best things in life are free.