Author Topic: Problem with updates  (Read 8794 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MNGoldenEagle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Problem with updates
« on: December 12, 2005, 03:23:02 AM »
Hi!  I've been using avast! AV Home for awhile now and have recently been encountering difficulties updating the program/database.  Every time it performs an automatic update it reports that an error occurred and does not provide any further information.  Any attempts to update it manually via the main interface leads to nothing (i.e., it doesn't do anything).  I've checked a few logs, but I don't really know what the error codes mean:
[AV NT Log]
Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x00000426, dwRes is 00000002
An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs.

[Setup.log]
19:16:19 min/gen  Started: 11.12.2005, 19:16:19
19:16:19 min/gen  Running setup_av_pro-2e3 (739)
19:16:19 nrm/sys  Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 2.0 [Service Pack 2]
19:16:19 vrb/sys  Computer WinName: LCARS
19:16:19 min/sys  Windows Net User: LCARS\Jesse
19:16:19 min/gen  Cmdline: /sfx /sfxstorage "C:\DOCUME~1\Jesse\LOCALS~1\Temp\_av_sfx.tm~a03364"  /srcpath "H:\Recovery and Drivers\Avast AV Home Edition"
19:16:19 vrb/gen  DldSrc set to sfx
19:16:19 min/gen  Old version: 2b3 (691)
19:16:19 nrm/gen  SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
19:16:19 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
19:16:19 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
19:16:19 vrb/pkg  Part prg_av_pro-2e3 was guessed as installed
19:16:19 vrb/pkg  Part vps-54302 is installed
19:16:19 vrb/pkg  Part news-44 is installed
19:16:19 vrb/pkg  Part setup_av_pro-2e3 was guessed as installed
19:16:19 min/gen  Old version: 2b3 (691)
19:16:19 vrb/fil  SetExistingFilesBitmap: 757->135->63
19:16:19 min/gen  GUID: e11b227c-a996-48a5-891a-501a925d72cd
19:16:19 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'tmp sfx storage' from 'sfx'
19:16:19 min/pkg  GetPackages - set proxy for inet
19:16:19 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
19:16:19 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
19:17:54 vrb/gen  Operation set to INST_OP_UNKNOWN
19:17:54 nrm/pkg  Transferred files: 0
19:17:54 nrm/pkg  Transferred bytes: 0
19:17:54 nrm/pkg  Transfer time: 0 ms
19:17:54 vrb/fil  NeedReboot=false
19:17:54 min/gen  Return code: 0x20000001 [Nothing done]
19:17:54 min/gen  Stopped: 11.12.2005, 19:17:54

I've tried repairing Avast Anti-Virus, but I get the following error:
"avast!
A setiface error has occurred: 2
Try to reinstall or contact support, please."

So, being unable to repair OR uninstall the software, I tried downloading the latest installer and running it, but I get either of these errors, or sometimes both:
"Setup does not contain all the needed components.  Uninstall the current version and run the setup again, please."
"Setup: setupeng.exe - Application Error : The instruction at "0x7473669f" referenced memory at "0x5c2c3b7c". The memory could not be "read".

Click on OK to terminate the program
Click on CANCEL to debug the program"

Soooo... any ideas what to do?  I'm kinda stuck...
« Last Edit: January 31, 2006, 10:41:21 PM by MNGoldenEagle »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2005, 04:11:27 AM »
Do you have any other antivirus in your system?
Which firewall do you use? Which Windows do you have?
Did you allow avast.setup into your firewall setting to connect the Internet?
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11796
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2005, 10:01:42 AM »
Regarding the "Setup does not contain all the needed components." message - do you have any other avast! language module installed? (than English)

Offline MNGoldenEagle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2005, 11:36:39 PM »
Sorry it took so long to reply, the holidays sort of got carried away.  I am not using any other anti-virus software currently, I am using the Windows Firewall, I have Windows XP Professional SP2, Avast is on the exceptions list, and I only have the English language installed.  If you have any ideas what's wrong, please let me know!  Thanks!

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11796
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2005, 02:57:11 PM »
Try to download the full installation package from our web and let it update your program. Does it help?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2005, 03:25:32 PM »
Try to download the full installation package from our web and let it update your program. Does it help?
There is not such a link for download it into the webpages...
http://www.avast.com/eng/download-professional.html
http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html

The user can't imagine the link is this one:
http://download1.avast.com/iavs4pro/setupfulpro.exe
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11796
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2005, 03:27:20 PM »
If only English language module is installed, then the English installer should be enough. I was rather curious about the crashes right now...

Offline MNGoldenEagle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2006, 04:46:47 AM »
I downloaded the full installer and got this error message:

Setup: setupfulpro.exe - Application Error

The instruction at "0x7473669f" referenced memory at "0x5c2c3b7c".  The memory could not be "read".

Click on OK to terminate the program
Click on CANCEL to debug the program

And I still got an error message saying it lacked all of the necessary components...
Advice? :-\
« Last Edit: January 12, 2006, 04:53:31 AM by MNGoldenEagle »

Offline MNGoldenEagle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2006, 04:48:46 AM »
Just wondering if anyone could help with this problem.  I'd really like to update my virus database, at the least...

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2006, 11:49:22 AM »
MNGoldenEagle, are you using PrevX, ProcessGuard or any other low level security application?
Usins Process Explorer from www.sysinternals.com you can see which driver is near to the memory block "0x5c2c3b7c". In the DLL panel of that application you could see which driver is conflicting with avast. The DLL panel is not automatically shown (maybe View menu has this option) and you can sort the memory entries by their location to order the closest block to that memory address.

Sorry, but it's not common this problem... needs troubleshooting.
Are you using the Administrator account? Do you use Windows Switch User feature? Is anybody else logged in this machine?
The best things in life are free.

Offline MNGoldenEagle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2006, 07:45:49 PM »
1. The only security program running at the moment, aside from Avast!, is Windows Firewall and DEP (set to Windows programs and services only).
2. I checked with Process Explorer and the driver that Avast! uses that has a base address less than 0x5c2c3b7c is netapi32.dll, which is at base 0x5b860000.  However, it appears that there is another DLL in that region called sptip.dll (0x5c2c0000).  Not sure if this is a conflict or not, although I don't see any indication that Avast! uses this DLL.
3. I am using an Administrator-privileged account, with the Fast-User Switching Mode activated.  However, no one else is logged into this machine aside from the native system accounts.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11796
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2006, 03:57:14 PM »
First, you'd be interested in the address 7473669f, not 5c2c3b7c (which is the invalid one, so there's no point in trying to locate it). In my opinion, however, even the first address looks strange - it may be a complete nonsence.

Maybe DrWatson could be able to record some more info about the exception?

Offline Forejt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2006, 04:28:33 PM »
Add the following lines to setup.ini (in avast4\setup):
[BufferLog]
Enable=1

Then start update again, and SetupDbg.log should be generated. Post the contents here, it should give us a clue at which step it crashes.

Offline MNGoldenEagle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2006, 08:45:37 PM »
I made the edit as recommended, but I haven't been able to locate any SetupDbg.log file anywhere in the Avast4 folder.  I did find two different Setup.log files, but neither seemed to have any helpful information.  Is there a specific place it's looking the [BufferLog] clause?

Just to make sure, my version of Avast! is 4.6.691.

Offline MNGoldenEagle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2006, 05:26:10 PM »
Hope you guys don't mind too much if I bump this.  ;D'