Author Topic: Connect to server in USA, but websites load from another country  (Read 3582 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ctsnuz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
I am connecting to a Secure line VPN server listed as US-NEW YORK, NY.  However, after I connect to the VPN server on NY, websites such as Google.com load as google.com.br and cannot load the US Google site

Offline Filip Havlicek

  • Avast team
  • Massive Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2653
Re: Connect to server in USA, but websites load from another country
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2016, 08:40:49 PM »
Hi,

and where are you actually located?

Filip

Offline gwatson2006

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Connect to server in USA, but websites load from another country
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2016, 08:50:07 PM »
I also connect to the New York, I live in the US.  The IP for New York is bring up the google.com.br    instead of just google.com.  It keeps switching back and forth.

I've already contacted google about this problem.  I don't think they are going to fix the problem unless Avast gets google to fix it.

Offline jm4026

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Connect to server in USA, but websites load from another country
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2016, 04:05:07 AM »
I occasionally have the same issue.

I live in the central US. Sometimes when I access the VPN (I alternate from Dal, Chi, SLC, Seatl, &others) then I go to a site like Yahoo (with many national derivative sites) and it thinks I am in India, Japan, or other countries. Or the advertisements are not in English. What is wrong with the VPN? Also I get surges in upload data when Im not doing anything. This does not happen when the VPN is off, only when it is on.

Offline eldimak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Connect to server in USA, but websites load from another country
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2016, 03:49:42 PM »
You are both lucky. I don't see not even my location. I live Greece and not even my country is shown. I have already applied for inserting my country too. I am using it at optimal location. Does this mean that VPN doesn't work for me?