Author Topic: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please  (Read 19189 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline herculespapadimitrakis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« on: January 13, 2016, 10:10:27 PM »
Ive been using Avast for years without any problems. I did a network scan this morning and got this error.



I changed username/password on the router. But I am UNABLE to figure out how to change the DNS record on a FiOs  MI424WR router.

Furthermore.... I just PURCHASED Avast Internet Security 2 months ago, its the program I used to scan (See upper left corner of the image), when I click that link it brings me to a page to buy it again.

I need help.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36755
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2016, 10:14:40 PM »
Quote
I changed username/password on the router.
Did you factory reset it first?


Offline herculespapadimitrakis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2016, 10:19:04 PM »
The router? yeah.


Offline ihc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2016, 07:56:31 AM »
I have had the exact same issue! Is it an error with Avast? Because yesterday and ever day before that for the last year I have had my router it has scanned fine. This morning I got the same message when I did a network scan. I reset my router, changed the DNS to 8.8.8.8, and also updated the router firmware and am still getting the message.

Offline va.land

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2016, 01:10:59 PM »
I have same issue from yesterday, changed DNS not solved.


Offline abruptum

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2105
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2016, 01:29:29 PM »
Same here. This is a bug.
Advice to change DNS server to Google DNS is stupid since DNS servers on router are already 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

  http://imgur.com/3ONUaZI
« Last Edit: January 14, 2016, 01:37:37 PM by abruptum »

Offline herculespapadimitrakis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2016, 06:16:46 PM »
Should we be alarmed? Is Avast working on it????

I couldnt even find the DNS setting!!!!

Offline Lotan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2016, 06:25:24 PM »
same issue here details mention something about "rom-0"

Offline Andrey,pro

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5017
  • Things happen
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2016, 06:40:54 PM »
same issue here details mention something about "rom-0"
Hi,

it seems that your router is vulnerable, you should upgrade your router's firmware, read more here: https://blog.avast.com/2014/11/13/network-security-4-how-to-upgrade-your-router-with-the-latest-firmware-or-replace-it-completely/

Offline ligurlurks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2016, 06:56:40 PM »
I've had the same issue as others posting here. I ran my daily Smart Scan this afternoon on a computer that had scanned clean the previous day (i.e. prior to the last update). As I have another laptop in the house I decided to double check by switching it on and running a Smart Scan without updating. The scan came up completely clean. Then I updated and re-ran. The scan once again flagged the issue.


Offline Lotan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2016, 07:01:49 PM »
same issue here details mention something about "rom-0"
Hi,

it seems that your router is vulnerable, you should upgrade your router's firmware, read more here: https://blog.avast.com/2014/11/13/network-security-4-how-to-upgrade-your-router-with-the-latest-firmware-or-replace-it-completely/

firmware is already up to date

Offline Andrey,pro

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5017
  • Things happen
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2016, 07:11:39 PM »
Just to make sure that your router isn't vulnerable and it's an avast bug can you please test your router here: http://rom-0.cz/

Offline Lotan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #13 on: January 14, 2016, 07:14:54 PM »
Just to make sure that your router isn't vulnerable and it's an avast bug can you please test your router here: http://rom-0.cz/
ok i got a "Address is probably not vulnerable" so im guessing its a bug with how many people started getting this issue about the same time

Offline ligurlurks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2016, 07:19:56 PM »
Same here. Ran the test and got the "Address is probably not vulnerable" message