Author Topic: Avast Web-Shield Causing Download Errors?  (Read 1666 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aaryav

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Avast Web-Shield Causing Download Errors?
« on: January 16, 2016, 06:18:50 PM »
Hey!

Opera Browser seems to have download errors when I switch on Avast Web-Shield. Either the download stops in between, or never moves forward.

Once I turn off the Web Shield, Everything runs smoothly. This is the case with all downloads...
 
Also, I use ZoneAlarm firewall, but that doesn't seem to cause this error.

Please help!!

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7078
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast Web-Shield Causing Download Errors?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2016, 07:06:18 PM »
I don't use Opera, so I can't speak to the specific issue. However there have been other issues with Opera and Avast.
Does the issue appear when another Browser is used?
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast Web-Shield Causing Download Errors?
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2016, 07:13:10 PM »
I am using different versions of Opera and have no problem at all.

Offline Aaryav

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Avast Web-Shield Causing Download Errors?
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2016, 05:19:33 AM »
No. Only Opera seems to cause problems. Maybe there is something wrong with the browser. But the fact that switching off the avast web shield makes the browser run smooth made me think that there was something wrong with the web shield... Maybe I should switch my browser