Author Topic: AVAST Pro Clean Up...a lesson learned  (Read 3362 times)

REDACTED

AVAST Pro Clean Up...a lesson learned
« on: January 20, 2016, 09:32:05 AM »
Don't use it.

A couple of days ago, I downloaded AVAST Pro 2016 to install in my new Dell XPS 8900 Windows 10.  Now, I have been using AVAST for several years in my previous Dell 530 Inspiron WinXP without a problem.  So, when replacing my ailing eight year old computer with a new one, I chose to stick with AVAST. 

During the scan, I was prompted to improve my computer's performance with AVAST PC Clean Up after it said it found 36 files that affected it.  So I allowed it to "clean up".  After the scan, I closed down for the night.  The next afternoon, I found my computer had "changed".  Some apps were missing and my Firefox would not recognize AVAST plugins.  I couldn't access the internet because the "cleanup" uninstalled my WildBlue Satellite connection and files.  My keyboard would not work...but left my mouse alone.  My "Downloads" folder was emptied and my "Documents" one too.  Crap.

With the mouse, I went to "Systems Restore" hoping a rollback would help.  Found the  "AVAST PC Cleanup" restore point and took a look at what was done.......   Some of the deleted files were actually OEM drivers!  What gives?    I enabled THAT restore point and crossed fingers/toes and knocked on wood.   After restart, everything came up normal.  The missing apps were back and my Satellite connections were back (as they should be)  Plus my Firefox recognized the AVAST security plugins. 

Now, I paid for the AVAST PC Clean Up option.......but right now, I ain't gonna use it any more after this debacle.  I bought this computer for the family business and can't afford anymore gaffs.