Author Topic: on-access protection won't start  (Read 8452 times)

lizard

on-access protection won't start
« on: December 28, 2005, 02:26:46 AM »
My avast icon has a red circle with a line through it & when I try to start the on-access protection, it won't start.  I read in one of the posts where someone told a poster (with a similar problem) to check the task manager to see if the services are running & then he listed 5 items that should be in the task manager.  So I checked mine, & I found I am missing 2 of the 5 items:

ashwebsv.exe
ashmaisv.exe

How do I remedy this?  (The other poster was not missing these items & so nothing was said as to what to do if they are missing).

Thorny

Re: on-access protection won't start
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2005, 11:29:29 AM »
Hi Lizard,

Welcome to the Avast forum, although I am no expert I will try to help you :)

I believe that the two services that you are missing are the Mail scanner and the Web scanner!

Please look in Control Panel, Add/Remove programs and click on Change/Remove Avast.

Open Change and make sure that all of the options are ticked in Resident Protection, if they are not, tick ones missing and press next .... Avast will then update its components.   You may have to re-boot your computer at this point to see if the scanners are functioning correctly.

If all of the options are ticked or the update did not correct your problem.

Then in Add/ Remove programs open Change/ Remove Avast and on click on the Repair option, hopefully this will fix any missing/corrupt  parts of the program.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2005, 01:47:14 PM »
Did you get any error/warning when you installed avast?
Are you getting ay error messages on start-up?

Do (or did) you have another AV installed on this system, if so what?