Author Topic: Windows 10 taskbar, start button, search button all not working with Avast  (Read 18407 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline j2ee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
@ Asyn,
He can't even answer a simple question. :)
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=184181.msg1299010#msg1299010

It is just pointless to go through all of those may work may not work temporary solution with you, as I said many times the only permanent solution is uninstall Avast.

Offline Ken Weill

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
I have also experience the same problem on 3 laptops with Windows 10. Sometimes (not all the time), taskbar starts to freeze, Start Menu not working, when Avast Free is installed.

I did some googling and found some forums talking about Avast as the culprit. I did uninstall Avast on 1 laptop and problem solved. No freezing of taskbar, start menu is working fine. I uninstalled Avast on the other 2 laptops and replace it with some other free AV and problem solved.

I still use Avast Free on my desktop computers with Windows 8.1. I just don't use it on Windows 10.
Last time, I ended up reinstalling Windows 10 as I thought I made a mess. Installed Avast, then problem is back again after some hours of usage. That's where I realize that it could be Avast's fault and did some googling and found out others having the same problem with Windows 10 + Avast setup.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67288
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
If you want/need help, follow instructions: https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2432.BC [UI.566] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3.1 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12.1 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline j2ee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
I have also experience the same problem on 3 laptops with Windows 10. Sometimes (not all the time), taskbar starts to freeze, Start Menu not working, when Avast Free is installed.

I did some googling and found some forums talking about Avast as the culprit. I did uninstall Avast on 1 laptop and problem solved. No freezing of taskbar, start menu is working fine. I uninstalled Avast on the other 2 laptops and replace it with some other free AV and problem solved.

I still use Avast Free on my desktop computers with Windows 8.1. I just don't use it on Windows 10.
Last time, I ended up reinstalling Windows 10 as I thought I made a mess. Installed Avast, then problem is back again after some hours of usage. That's where I realize that it could be Avast's fault and did some googling and found out others having the same problem with Windows 10 + Avast setup.

There are few Avast lovers over here will keep telling you it is Windows 10 fault not Avast, and they would mentally skip the words "uninstall Avast works" and continue their "it is windows 10 bug" talking and it is not fixed so you better wait forever.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67288
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
See Reply #47.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2432.BC [UI.566] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3.1 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12.1 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline j2ee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
If you want/need help, follow instructions: https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle

This topic has been discussed in this forum and popular forum like Reddit for months, Avast stuff knows it for sure, they just don't want to fix it. Then it is simple, choose another free antivirus, how can be be more simple than this. No human can accept a screwed up taskbar windows 10 no matter how good Avast protection could be.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2016, 05:04:15 PM by j2ee »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67288
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
See Reply #47.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2432.BC [UI.566] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3.1 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12.1 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40631
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
If you want/need help, follow instructions: https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle

This topic has been discussed in this forum and popular forum like Reddit for months, Avast stuff knows it for sure, they just don't want to fix it. Then it is simple, choose another free antivirus, how can be be more simple than this. No human can accept a screwed up taskbar windows 10 no matter how good Avast protection could be.
Dare I say in that case ... Goodbye, use another AV and do not disturb us who have Avast and windows 10 working

Offline j2ee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
I give Avast a chance and install it again, and I already did boot to safe mode and then back to normal mode, let's see if I still get that problem later.

Offline ihardingham

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Hi New member here but I have used Avast on Windows 7, 8 and 10 over the last couple of years.
I actually had a few problems like all of us with Windows 10 when it was released but I never had a problem with Avast, removing it never solved the problems so it is obviously fairly specific to your installation (and obviously the other people on other forums that you have read) so I wonder if instead of us all arguing we could actually look at trying to solve the specific issue.

I work in IT so fairly happy to look at logs and see what is there within your installation of Avast and Windows 10 and see what is causing the problem. You mentioned Process Monitor, this is a great little tool to help diagnose the issue, can you provide the procmon logs? Can we have a look and start filtering to see what is happening?

Also can you provide info about your Windows 10 installation? I have disabled almost all of the background sync processes to get mine running smoothly like a load of us did when we realised they were all activated by default.

Let's have a look and pool some knowledge here and try and fix the problem - or at least provide enough information for Avast Dev to review, and then work with Microsoft if it is their problem to give them as much info as possible.

Thoughts?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44273
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
@ ihardingham,
Nice to offer help but you should offer it in the Microsoft Windows 10 Support Forum.
This is a Microsoft not an Avast problem. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline j2ee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Hi New member here but I have used Avast on Windows 7, 8 and 10 over the last couple of years.
I actually had a few problems like all of us with Windows 10 when it was released but I never had a problem with Avast, removing it never solved the problems so it is obviously fairly specific to your installation (and obviously the other people on other forums that you have read) so I wonder if instead of us all arguing we could actually look at trying to solve the specific issue.

I work in IT so fairly happy to look at logs and see what is there within your installation of Avast and Windows 10 and see what is causing the problem. You mentioned Process Monitor, this is a great little tool to help diagnose the issue, can you provide the procmon logs? Can we have a look and start filtering to see what is happening?

Also can you provide info about your Windows 10 installation? I have disabled almost all of the background sync processes to get mine running smoothly like a load of us did when we realised they were all activated by default.

Let's have a look and pool some knowledge here and try and fix the problem - or at least provide enough information for Avast Dev to review, and then work with Microsoft if it is their problem to give them as much info as possible.

Thoughts?

I let you know if Avast causes any problem again.

Offline nightman_31

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
As a computer technician, and on my daily job, I see this problem all the time with Windows 10 Home. I have been loyal Avast Free Edition user for over 7 years now. I currently have three computers that I use on a daily basis and they all have Avast Free Edition on them. Not one has the Start menu or taskbar problem but comparing to the computers I repair every day, the one thing that separates my computers and theirs is the version of Windows 10. I use Windows 10 Pro on all three computers without issues but all the ones I see with this problem seems to be related only to the Windows 10 Home version. Just out of curiosity, has anyone had this issue with Windows 10 Pro? I'm not talking about the Cortana issue because I think it's a sepreate issue. The problem I mean is the taskbar just stops working. Some of the notifier stuff won't load and the Start button is not responding. Yes, uninstalling Avast fixes the issue and sometimes the safe mode and reboot trick works too. Just would be interesting to know if it's a windows version related problem.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2016, 01:32:06 AM by nightman_31 »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44273
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
I also run Windows 10 Pro and have had the problem. (Not lately) Haven't seen it since updating to 1511 and later.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Water3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Windows 10 taskbar, start button, search button all not working with Avast
« Reply #59 on: January 22, 2018, 04:30:06 PM »
If you want/need help, follow instructions: https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle

This topic has been discussed in this forum and popular forum like Reddit for months, Avast stuff knows it for sure, they just don't want to fix it. Then it is simple, choose another free antivirus, how can be be more simple than this. No human can accept a screwed up taskbar windows 10 no matter how good Avast protection could be.

Not here to debate just report. Recently had the bug with Windows 10 creators x64 (all up to date). Removed Avast (current free version)... is now good. That is all.