Author Topic: SafeZone browser installed itself  (Read 90824 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ib Aperson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
SafeZone browser installed itself
« on: March 22, 2016, 06:17:24 PM »
Hi, i just turned on my PC and noticed that Avasts SafeZone browser installed itself, is this normal for Avast AV?. I've uninstalled it using the advice on the forum but just wanted to  double check just in case it isn't normal.

Also posted this in the SafeZone forum, but seems less active.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2016, 12:59:47 PM by Ib Aperson »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 39095
  • 58 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2016, 07:01:06 PM »
Hi, i just turned on my PC and noticed that Avasts SafeZone browser installed itself, is this normal for the free version of Avast AV?. I've uninstalled it using the advice on the forum but just wanted to  double check just in case it isn't normal.

Also posted this in the SafeZone forum, but seems less active.
Some free version of Avast are lucky and get SafeZone.

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 18.7.2354, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Kesetyan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2016, 07:59:26 PM »
I must be another lucky Avast 2016 Free user as it has happened to me too - the icon just suddenly appeared on the desktop.  I'll give it a whirl and then decide whether to keep it or not.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 39095
  • 58 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2016, 08:04:26 PM »
It's designed to keep you safe while doing your banking and shopping.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 18.7.2354, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline lucD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2016, 09:50:34 PM »
It just installed on my laptop too, following the latest vps update. I really don't like browsers being installed without forewarning or agreement, and it's open to debate how safe Safezone really is. I prefer to stick to the advice only to use the major browser applications.

Offline Hurt_Locker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2016, 09:52:33 PM »
Avast users need to be allowed to accept or decline such installations.  Any program that installs itself in my opinion is very suspect. 

Offline lucD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2016, 09:59:56 PM »
The modular installation of Avast is one of the reasons I've stuck with it ... I choose what is installed. This is a breach of trust, and I'm certainly sceptical of it being a security enhancement.
http://www.ghacks.net/2016/02/06/avast-safezone-browser-vulnerability-disclosed-by-google/
« Last Edit: March 22, 2016, 10:15:49 PM by lucD »

Offline Hurt_Locker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2016, 10:11:03 PM »
Activity such as self installation of an unwanted program is very malicious and acts like a virus.  Please turn this self-installation off.

Thank you.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31383
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2016, 10:18:39 PM »
It was not a problem with the SafeZone Browser, but with the Chromium engine.
avast enhanced security and prevented the abuse of the flaw in the 2016.11.1.2253 release.

Quote
I prefer to stick to the advice only to use the major browser applications
Guess what browsers are the most targeted...

If you check posts on this webboard and look what browsers people use the three that give the most problems when it comes to malware are (in order):
1] FireFox
2] IE
3] Chrome
I don't see people who have problems using Opera or Maxthon.

As for the installation of the SafeZone browser, avast is allowed to do it without a notification.
I agree it would have been nice to tell upfront that it would gonna happen.
Everything went within the EULA that was agreed to when installing avast.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2016, 10:25:37 PM by Eddy »

Offline lucD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2016, 10:25:04 PM »
Quote
I don't see people who have problems using Opera or Maxthon.
That might have something to do with the user bases of Opera and particularly Maxthon being tiny compared to the big three. I'm happy for Avast to offer me Safezone, and if it had I would have declined .... but that's not what Avast did.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31383
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2016, 10:29:39 PM »
No, it is because they have less security issues.
Check the Secunia advisories.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11666
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2016, 11:02:56 PM »
Hi everyone,

SafeZone has been one of the key features of the premium (paid) versions of Avast for years, and yes, we're now (for a limited time) making it available to a portion of our free users as well, to give it a bit more exposure and also, quite honestly, to accumulate as much feedback on it as possible. SafeZone is great for online transactions (e.g. shopping and banking), as it runs in its own sandbox and is able to shield a bunch of attacks - both local and network-based, but it can actually be used for casual browsing as well.

Give it a try and tell us what you think. Again, this has been one of the pillars of the premium versions, and we're now experimenting with it in the free version as well.

Thanks,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9225
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2016, 11:07:02 PM »
I was wondering why it has all of a sudden appear in the installer... this explains it...
Visit my webpage RejZoR's Flock of Sheep

Offline Hurt_Locker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2016, 11:14:06 PM »
It would have been more professional to post first, see what people think and offer it and not just force it on people like you did. 

I used to have this on a paid version of Avast, never cared for it.  It should be an option of the user to install and not just self-install itself the way it did.  Thanks for the explanation, but I seriously think Avast needs to listen to users first and not just make alterations without just cause.  Many users will post and think that what happened was virus like activity and I could not agree more.  If more changes are on the way, why not ask instead of doing?

Offline JeffSD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: SafeZone browser installed itself
« Reply #14 on: March 22, 2016, 11:39:25 PM »
Luckily Comodo Firewall's Defense blocked it.  I saw the popup from Comodo, I didn't allow this to install:

Code: [Select]
C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\SZBrowser\setup\safezone_windows-release-i386.exe
Now we gotta keep another app to protect us from Avast?  Is that what is coming to?

Please guys, stop with the dirty tactics about anything with our PCs.  We use Avast in order to protect us from these types of hijacks, and yet you guys keep shoving more things down our throat only to fat your wallet with greed.

Shameful!

Any instructions how to disable it and uninstall it?  I know a pack of friends and family members are going to email me about it. :( -- never mind was able to remember to go to the uninstall windows utility and select change and then remove unwanted junk from the Avast install.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2016, 07:27:49 AM by JeffSD »