Author Topic: WMF exploit?  (Read 3138 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gate1975mlm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • I'm a llama!
WMF exploit?
« on: January 05, 2006, 04:12:12 PM »
Will Avast block the WMF exploit?
I am running Windows 7 64 Bit, Intel Core 2 Duo 6700 2.66 GHz, 4GB Ram DDR2 and lots of Hard Drive space!

Online DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83567
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: WMF exploit?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2006, 04:14:05 PM »
A forum search for the same Subject titel you use will reveal a lot, it is a very active topic currently.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.544/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9343
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: WMF exploit?
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2006, 04:22:30 PM »
This is the reason why Alwil should update web page for such "boom" exploits and malwares... ::) C'mon guys, do something for yourself. Good marketing is half of entire project work. If you can't market your stuff good enough you won't do anything...
Do some publicity, write on webpage with big letters that your AV solution will protect users from this exploit, add WMF Exploit to latest threats etc. :-\

EDIT:
I see you finally added it, though doing it right away after releasing definitions would be even better...
« Last Edit: January 05, 2006, 04:25:04 PM by RejZoR »
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: WMF exploit?
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2006, 10:50:35 PM »
Fix is available at Microsoft official web site... screenshot:



MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7086
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: WMF exploit?
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2006, 12:10:07 AM »
***

Thanks for the info, -Tesla !    :)

Because of that, I just got the fix.    :)


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

Offline Staind

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • I'm a super llama!
Re: WMF exploit?
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2006, 02:10:18 AM »
Yeap, they released it! (although for not all operating systems - they don't consider it to be critical).

News article: http://www.channelregister.co.uk/2006/01/06/microsoft_wmf_vulnerability_patch/