Author Topic: 'instup.exe' problem  (Read 5378 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bishnusakha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
'instup.exe' problem
« on: March 24, 2016, 03:56:56 AM »
After successful virus definition update 'instup.exe' process cannot close automatically. 'Already up to date' message in avast UI cannot disappear if I click on 'Ok' button several times. 'instup.exe' process continuously uses my data bandwidth, it is very irritating to me. But when I disconnect my internet 'instup.exe' process automatically close after few seconds.

I am using avast! free antivirus v11.1.2253 with virus definition version 160323-2
« Last Edit: March 24, 2016, 04:04:21 AM by Bishnusakha »
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 32Bit, Intel Core2Duo E8400 @3.0GHz, 4GB DDR2 Dual Channel, avast! Free Antivirus Latest.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: 'instup.exe' problem
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2016, 01:07:59 PM »
Perform a repair of avast and see if it solved the problem.

Offline Bishnusakha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: 'instup.exe' problem
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2016, 06:19:51 PM »
Perform a repair of avast and see if it solved the problem.

I have performed a repair but problem still occurs with 'ask when an update is available' settings of virus definition update.
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 32Bit, Intel Core2Duo E8400 @3.0GHz, 4GB DDR2 Dual Channel, avast! Free Antivirus Latest.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: 'instup.exe' problem
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2016, 06:25:17 PM »
What happens with other settings ?

Offline Bishnusakha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: 'instup.exe' problem
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2016, 06:31:39 PM »
What happens with other settings ?
Let me be try with other settings (Automatic update) until next virus definition release.
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 32Bit, Intel Core2Duo E8400 @3.0GHz, 4GB DDR2 Dual Channel, avast! Free Antivirus Latest.

Offline Bishnusakha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: 'instup.exe' problem
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2016, 05:48:47 AM »
What happens with other settings ?
Let me be try with other settings (Automatic update) until next virus definition release.
Tried in both Automatic & Mannual Update settings but problem sitll occurs
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 32Bit, Intel Core2Duo E8400 @3.0GHz, 4GB DDR2 Dual Channel, avast! Free Antivirus Latest.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: 'instup.exe' problem
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2016, 09:49:30 AM »
Only thing left to try is to perform a clean installation of avast.
If that doesn't solve it, I suggest you send a support package to avast.
https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB33

Offline Bishnusakha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: 'instup.exe' problem
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2016, 04:28:26 AM »
Only thing left to try is to perform a clean installation of avast.
If that doesn't solve it, I suggest you send a support package to avast.
https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB33
Thanks Eddy, I have performed a clean install & problem is solved now.
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 32Bit, Intel Core2Duo E8400 @3.0GHz, 4GB DDR2 Dual Channel, avast! Free Antivirus Latest.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: 'instup.exe' problem
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2016, 10:51:41 AM »
That is news I like to hear :D

Take care and keep your system safe.

Offline Bishnusakha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: 'instup.exe' problem
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2016, 06:37:41 PM »
That is news I like to hear :D

Take care and keep your system safe.
Few hours ago the problem arise again. Can not understand what is the actual reason...
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 32Bit, Intel Core2Duo E8400 @3.0GHz, 4GB DDR2 Dual Channel, avast! Free Antivirus Latest.

Offline Bishnusakha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: 'instup.exe' problem
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2016, 07:13:52 PM »
That is news I like to hear :D

Take care and keep your system safe.
Few hours ago the problem arise again. Can not understand what is the actual reason...
now the problem is solved
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 32Bit, Intel Core2Duo E8400 @3.0GHz, 4GB DDR2 Dual Channel, avast! Free Antivirus Latest.