Author Topic: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages  (Read 6452 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« on: May 17, 2016, 10:19:19 AM »
Hi All,

first of all forgive me for my english  :)

I have an old notebook with WIN XP and avast 2015.10.4.2233.
The notebook is connected via wifi to a router (alcatel y900) for mobile connection to the Internet.
It is possible to activate/deactivate the connection to the Internet and setting the router parameters through some web management pages on the router (accessible via http://192.168.1.1).
The problem is that when the avast web shield is activated, you can not see the active content of the web management pages of the router : the page is loaded with no warning issued but is blank!
As far as I can understand, the router's web pages (html 5.0) contains some scripting content based on JS and "modernizr" (a js library which is designed to detect HTML5 and CSS3 features).
When I stop avast web shield, immediately all works fine.
I have tried to make esclusions of the urls involved with the router management in the Active protection - web shied section and in the scripting section too:
http://192.168.1.1/*
http://192.168.1.1/JS/*
http://192.168.1.1/JS/LIBS/*
but they don't work! (..and no warning is issued).
Any one can help me understand what is going wrong and why the avast web shield is blocking these contents?
Thank you in advance

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31350
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2016, 10:26:53 AM »
Upgrade to the latest avast version and see if the problem is solved or not.

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2016, 10:29:37 AM »
The notebook is very old...
I do not want, for the moment, make a program update.
All went fine previously.
Thank you

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31350
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2016, 10:31:56 AM »
It doesn't matter if it is a old system.
If it supports the SSE2 instruction set the latest avast version will work on it.

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2016, 10:33:52 AM »
as i have said, for the moment i want to mantain 2015 version
thank you

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2016, 08:13:33 AM »
..anyone in the forum can help me to fix this?  :(
thankyou

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31350
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2016, 11:53:47 AM »
A lot of things have changed since the 2015 version.
Install the latest version and check if the problem is solved.

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2016, 03:09:14 PM »
Eddy, you have just replied this to me , but this is not at at all a solution because it does not help me in understanding the problem.
For the moment, as i have just said, I do not want to upgrade the version.
So thank you for your patience and precious effort but, if you do not have any kind of technical help to supply, please refrain from reply and leave that some else try to understand the problem.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31350
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2016, 03:13:41 PM »
The blank page has happened before and avast has changed things to make it work correctly.
It seems you are reluctant to solve the problem which is ofcourse your choice.

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2016, 03:27:22 PM »
The blank page happens ONLY when the avast web shied is on, when the avast web shied is off the page work correctly.
I want to understand and solve the problem but i do NOT WANT to upgrade the program.
Once again let some one else more experienced try to help

Offline bruce_b

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2016, 11:44:46 PM »
Depending on what browser you have try adding the URL of the Modem/Router to the Proxy Exception list as below:

For Internet Explorer:

Adding an Exception in Internet Explorer

    Go to Tools >> Internet Options.
    Click on the Connections tab.
    Click on LAN settings in the Local Area Network (LAN) settings section.
    Click on the Advanced button in the Proxy Server section.
    Add your exceptions in the Exceptions section, separated by semi-colon


For Firefox:

Adding an Exception in Firefox

    Go to Tools >> Options.
    Click on Advanced.
    Select the Network tab.
    Click on the Settings button in the Connection section.
    Add your exceptions to the No Proxy for field, each separated by a comma.

For Opera: http://help.opera.com/Mac/12.10/en/server.html

I am fairly certain this will fix your problem.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2016, 11:46:50 PM by bruce_b »
Dell Dimension 8200 P4 1.8Ghz Windows XP PRO SP3
Avast Free Antivirus 18.8.2356
Toshiba Satellite C855-S5347 Celeron B830 1.8Ghz
Windows 10 Home 64 Bit Version 1803 Build 17134.860
Avast Free Antivirus 19.6.2383

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2016, 06:55:02 AM »
thank you for your kind reply.

I have only firefox installed on the notebook and there is no proxy betwen the pc and the wifi router...
I am not sure to undestand why is needed to set such exception if no proxy is used.
Moreover, as I explained, when the web-shield is off all works fine, so the actual configuration of the browser (as-is) should be correct.
Thank you again

Offline bruce_b

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2016, 01:40:15 PM »
I can not give you a specific reason as to why it must be done. But that is what I had to do
to get access to my router as well and I also do not use a Proxy. I run XP Pro SP3 with the
latest Avast Free Antivirus installed. I think it has something to do with how DNS works. Not sure
but try what I said to do and see if you can access the Router / Modem home page properly.
I am almost certain this will solve your issue. See screen shot for how my Firefox is set up:

Dell Dimension 8200 P4 1.8Ghz Windows XP PRO SP3
Avast Free Antivirus 18.8.2356
Toshiba Satellite C855-S5347 Celeron B830 1.8Ghz
Windows 10 Home 64 Bit Version 1803 Build 17134.860
Avast Free Antivirus 19.6.2383

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2016, 03:48:05 PM »
As far as iI know, proxy esclusions are effective only when a proxy is used, exactly to bypass the proxy itself (for instance it is useless passing through the proxy to go to a local url like localhost or 127.0.0.1 or in general for a intranet address).
That's way the esclusions are greyed in the connection settings when  the setting "No proxy" is selected.
Furthermore, as I said, when the avast web-shield is off all work fine without any esclusion in the browser connection setting...that's why I think there is something wrong whith avast.
When I installed and started to use the new router (alcatel y900) all went fine with avast , then suddenly started the mis-behaviour...
...I am starting to think that some virus definition update (same program version)  that I have performed after the router installation has inserted something that is causing the mis-behaviour...
Anyway thank you for your patience and advice :-) , I will try it (maybe it works :-)) as soon as I got home.
Cheers

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #14 on: May 20, 2016, 06:46:06 AM »
I have tryed to apply the suggestion but it does not solve the issue