Author Topic: [FIXED]Why I can't change the setting of explorer scan  (Read 3060 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline daixiaoran88

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
[FIXED]Why I can't change the setting of explorer scan
« on: June 12, 2016, 12:52:43 PM »
When I change the setting, avast can't save it.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2016, 02:50:14 AM by daixiaoran88 »

Offline Be Secure

  • Long Time Avast User(9years.....) Security Enthusiast.
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1902
Re: Why I can't change the setting of explorer scan
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2016, 01:04:24 PM »
I can confirmed this.Same here :(all blank.This is a BUG.
PC- Windows10 EDU 64Bit,Avast Free V.19.8.2393,uBlock Origin,NVT_OSA,GoogleChrome(64bit),CCleaner,Unchecky,ZAM Free,Shadow Defender.
Security Enthusiast

Offline daixiaoran88

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Why I can't change the setting of explorer scan
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2016, 01:23:21 PM »
And, the number of definitions is 2,965,123. Is that OK?

Because in the Release version, the number is 4,868,001

Offline Be Secure

  • Long Time Avast User(9years.....) Security Enthusiast.
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1902
Re: Why I can't change the setting of explorer scan
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2016, 01:24:30 PM »
PC- Windows10 EDU 64Bit,Avast Free V.19.8.2393,uBlock Origin,NVT_OSA,GoogleChrome(64bit),CCleaner,Unchecky,ZAM Free,Shadow Defender.
Security Enthusiast

Offline daixiaoran88

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Why I can't change the setting of explorer scan
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2016, 01:27:21 PM »
Thank you! :)

Offline Secondmineboy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3651
Re: Why I can't change the setting of explorer scan
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2016, 01:37:14 PM »
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=187333.0

^^Already posted minutes after release of this beta :P
Windows 10 1909, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, 500 GB 5400 RPM HDD, 1366 by 768 LCD Screen, Intel Core i3 5010U Dual Core, Intel HD Graphics 5500
HUAWEI P30 Pro. Android 10

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83033
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Why I can't change the setting of explorer scan
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2016, 04:15:20 PM »
I posted it earier :)No this is not OK.https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=187332.msg1318109#msg1318109

My reply directly after yours also explains that this has happened in the past when optimising the virus definitions. So it isn't totally unheard of for this to occur.

If there was no optimisation of the definitions god knows what that figure would be after using avast for over 12 years. They have to be optimised periodically or the figure would massive and unmanageable.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31350
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Why I can't change the setting of explorer scan
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2016, 04:20:46 PM »
Not the amount of definitions is important, but how many things are detected is. ;)

Offline petr.chytil

  • Quality Assurance Director
  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 124
Re: Why I can't change the setting of explorer scan
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2016, 10:13:00 AM »
Yes, there is a bug in the explorer scan settings. The bug is internally tracked as AV-10161. We are trying to convince our devs to fix it for some time already.
However, thanks for the report!
Petr

Offline petr.chytil

  • Quality Assurance Director
  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 124
Re: Why I can't change the setting of explorer scan
« Reply #9 on: June 14, 2016, 05:41:24 PM »