Author Topic: Avast Premier - Too large  (Read 4427 times)

REDACTED

Avast Premier - Too large
« on: June 17, 2016, 07:29:50 PM »
Hello,

I have a subscription to Avast premier which I have on my work netbook. I was slightly mis-sold the netbook but that's a different storey. It's only got a 30gb hard drive, and Avast Premier is taking up over 2gb of space. Is there any way to reduce the size of it? It's just too big for the amount of space I have available.

Thanks

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast Premier - Too large
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2016, 08:08:25 PM »
Only a 30Gb hard drive ?
That must be a real old netbook, or they have "scammed" you.
Netbooks come with drives (roughly) 250-500Gb

2Gb is normal for a av.
Only thing you can do when it comes to avast is to remove all components that you don't want/need.
But I doubt it will bring you much when it comes to get more free hard drive space.

If it is a used system, I recommend to install the OS, drivers and other things you need/want from scratch.
The longer a system has been used, the more rubbish there is on it.

REDACTED

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2016, 08:27:57 PM »
I bought it in December from PC world. I knew the size of it, but they misled me on how much space windows would need. I literally only have outlook and a bespoke software on here, which don't take much space. I thought I would be able to expand the memory and ram but unfortunately not.

Will just have to see what I can trim down then.

Thanks

REDACTED

« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2016, 09:22:30 PM »
I have previously purchased several computers from PC World UK, unfortunately on multiple occasions their staff aren't always the best when it comes to selling a "PC". By the looks of it, you bought a sub-£200 laptop with 32GB/64GB eMMC storage. Am I right?  :)