Author Topic: Smart Scan fails  (Read 13256 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
Smart Scan fails
« on: June 26, 2016, 09:12:26 PM »
I've just updated Avast Free to version  12.1.2272 (build 12.1.3076.0).

I then rebooted, and waited until AvastSvc.exe was done running some kind of background scan.

I then ran a Smart Scan. However I have customized my Smart Scan to be basically a full scan.

I have included: Rootkits, Auto-start programs, Modules loaded in memory, and All harddisks.

Since the update, this scan fails. I have tried several times. Just before the 50% mark it gives me this error:



If I click 'resolve all', nothing happens and I get a message saying no virusus were found.
If I click 'rescan', it wil restart the scan, and fail again.

If I go Avast --> Top of screen --> Scan --> Scan for viruses --> Full system scan, the scan runs fine and finds no threats.

I have customized Smart Scan because it doesn't seem possible to add the full system scan to the center part of the Avast interface. Next to Smart Scan, or even instead of it. To avoid having to go trough all the extra steps mentioned above I changed what happens when I click 'Run Smart Scan'. This worked fine, until the latest update, and now it consistently fails halfway through.

How do I fix this?
Thanks.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2016, 07:02:13 PM by Rundvleeskroket »

Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 07:03:42 PM »
Bump.

Checked for updates. No new updates available. So I have the latest build.

Retried the scan. Same error. At 49% I get the screenshot above.

OS is Windows 7 SP1. Also up to date.

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 35094
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2016, 07:07:45 PM »
uninstall with this and reboot, then install again >>  https://www.avast.com/en-eu/uninstall-utility

any change?



Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2016, 11:51:05 PM »
Surely there is a better way of dealing with a problem than uninstalling and reinstalling. I don't want to lose al my settings. I don't use the Back Up Settings feature. In fact, the backup.exe file is not present*.  The Avast update broke it, an Avast update should fix it.

I just found another weird thing. I disabled Smart Scan in Options --> General --> Smart Scan. And then re-enabled it. Flipped the switch off and on again. But now, when I try to run Smart Scan, I just get an empty screen in Avast and nothing happens at all! Only a reboot of the whole PC fixes this. And it is repeatable. Fresh boot, run Smart Scan, fails at 49%. Over and over. Flip the switch and back, and Smart Scan is just gone until reboot.

This is just all kinds of broken.

* If I could be sure the settings were only backed up locally I might reconsider. The wording of this feature seems to indicate the settings are stored online.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2016, 12:08:12 AM by Rundvleeskroket »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 39304
  • 58 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2016, 12:15:50 AM »
Since you're asked where to store the backup, I highly doubt we're talking about storing it on-line. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 18.7.2354, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2016, 12:42:19 AM »
OK fine. I just tried it (in a VM) and it is a local file. Great! One less thing to worry about.

Still though .. uninstalling, cleaning, and re-installing hardly seems a reasonable first line of action. That is akin to re-installing my OS because a driver stopped working. Or buying a new car when I get a flat tire.

Everything worked before the update. Now after, it doesn't. What options do I have besides re-installing?

Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2016, 01:06:10 AM »
Ok, just to make things interesting .. get this:

I just booted a VM and ran an identical modified Smart Scan in Avast version 11.2.2262. Also in Windows 7 SP1. The scan runs fine.

I then updated Avast to 11.2.2272 in the VM, rebooted, and re-ran the modified Smart Scan. It now works it way to 49% and then finishes. Except it doesn't throw an error, but just says it has completed an no viruses were found.


So from that I conclude that Avast now doesn't have to reach 100% to finish the scan. I just hope that it has actually done all the scanning it was set up to do. Imo it should go to 100% just to avoid confusion.

It also does not explain why my host is giving me the error, which seems to be after it finishes the scan. But instead of telling me it is completed, I get the error. And when I click 'resolve all', I now get the page it was supposed to show me directly.

Weird.

Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2016, 01:31:41 AM »
So .. I did the uninstall. Ran avastclear.exe in Safe Mode. Re-installed Avast, and imported my settings (and checked them!). Had to re-register though. I had been using Avast for many years. I suppose that counter has been reset. Oh well.

I am now running the modified Smart Scan. Will update this post shortly.

Edit: All right, now I'm irritated. The scan just stopped again at 49%, and yet again threw up the error as shown in the screen shot in my opening post.

This is after uninstalling, avastclear in Safe Mode, and re-installing Avast. So, that didn't work! :/
« Last Edit: June 28, 2016, 01:47:30 AM by Rundvleeskroket »

Offline MartinZ

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 890
  • Product Manager
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2016, 04:38:30 PM »
Hi,

does it please finish the scan if you use default settings and not your custom ones?

Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2016, 05:38:59 PM »
I'll gladly test. But I don't remember what exactly is in a default Smart Scan. Please tell me and I will let you know.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 39304
  • 58 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2016, 07:08:02 PM »
I'll gladly test. But I don't remember what exactly is in a default Smart Scan. Please tell me and I will let you know.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2016, 07:15:38 PM by bob3160 »
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 18.7.2354, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2016, 08:10:41 PM »
I reset Avast to it's default settings and ran the Smart Scan.

It went to 47% in a few seconds and then finished without errors and told me that no viruses were found.


After loading my settings file I saved earlier, I ran the modified Smart Scan again. And it failed again at 49%.

I then removed 'all harddisks' from the modified Smart Scan and ran it yet again. It now completed fine.

So adding the harddisk scan makes it fail.

I would keep Smart Scan configured at default settings, if I could choose what scan is front and center on the Avast main page (under "You are protected / Everything is up-to-date"). But modifying a scan shouldn't make it fail!
« Last Edit: June 28, 2016, 08:12:45 PM by Rundvleeskroket »

Offline MartinZ

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 890
  • Product Manager
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2016, 05:16:12 PM »
Thanks for checking. Was the other hardisk SSD, classic or some external drive connected via USB? We would like to verify this further and fix as it really shouldn't happen.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2207
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2016, 05:29:50 PM »
I've also got some issues with the scan...

https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=187727.msg1320403#msg1320403

Seems to be affecting some and not others.

In my case, no external drives etc, just HDD.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Internet Security (latest stable version) • Malwarebytes 3 Premium (latest) • Google Chrome • CCleaner •

Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
Re: Smart Scan fails
« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2016, 09:49:05 PM »
Thanks for checking. Was the other hardisk SSD, classic or some external drive connected via USB? We would like to verify this further and fix as it really shouldn't happen.

It is a 256GB Samsung 830 SSD, and a 3TB 7200 rpm Seagate harddisk. Both internal SATA3 devices. No removable media connected.