Author Topic: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch  (Read 2796 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vapor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« on: June 27, 2016, 07:01:27 PM »
Hi all,
I have a small issue, after updating to new version 12.1.2272 of avast pro it causes my outpost firewall to load as second service and now outpost required my permission to run which wasn't the issue prior to update.
It seems that avast its speeded up with loading with this version which I guess it's a good thing but not in this case.
If I delay start-up of avast services everything is running as it should.
My question is, can I leave the services delayed in avast, it says it's not advisable but maybe someone with greater knowledge can shine some light on this.

Btw. adding one to the other exclusions don't make any difference.
Thanks

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86941
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 07:34:58 PM »
For me I have been using avast and Outpost Firewall Pro for some considerable time and I'm not seeing this.

Another point the 'Load Avast services only after other system services' as far as I have been aware relates only to OS system services, not every other service (but there are other programs that load some files as a SYSTEM user). So I'm at a bit of a loss as to why you managed to get this kind of result.

But if it has worked for you. great.

The only exclusions for Agnitum in Avast I use are:
C:\Program Files\Agnitum\Outpost Firewall Pro\op_mon.exe
C:\Program Files\Agnitum\Outpost Firewall Pro\acs.exe - this is loaded as a SYSTEM user.

Now that only stops avast scanning those two files, it doesn't stop any activity (interaction with other files, etc.) by these files from being scanned.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Vapor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2016, 07:35:46 PM »
OK!! problem solved without delaying any of the avast services.
Thanks for your attention ;)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86941
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2016, 07:38:40 PM »
You're welcome.

What did you do to resolve it ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Vapor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2016, 07:39:52 PM »
Thanks  DavidR.
Simply setting op_mon in outpost install folder to compatibility mode have fixed my issue.
I remember that I had that fixed before but I also reloaded my windows ISO recently and didn't make the adjustment again.
 Thanks again for your prompt help

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86941
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2016, 08:50:43 PM »
Thanks.

What OS did you set it to in compatibility mode and What OS are you using ?
« Last Edit: June 27, 2016, 08:52:23 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Vapor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2016, 09:20:29 PM »
I have set it to Win 7 compatibility and I am on 7. This have something to do with avast as well as I went back to my earlier image which was with the same OF version and actually was not set to capability mode at all I though it was, but avast version was also previous to the latest 12...now, so the avast services have something to do with this.
Anyhow, setting to capability win 7 has solved the annoying admins prompts to allow Outpost Firewall service to run on win startup  :)
« Last Edit: June 27, 2016, 09:22:09 PM by Vapor »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86941
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2016, 10:28:03 PM »
OK, I was just looking to see why it might be happening on your system and not this one (winXP Pro SP3).

I have Outpost Firewall Pro and the latest avast free on my win7 SP1 32bit netbook and that isn't on compatibility mode and no issue, weird.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Vapor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2016, 11:20:23 PM »
Quote
OK, I was just looking to see why it might be happening on your system and not this one (winXP Pro SP3).

I have Outpost Firewall Pro and the latest avast free on my win7 SP1 32bit netbook and that isn't on compatibility mode and no issue, weird

32bit....that's why you don't have that hapening.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2016, 11:53:44 PM by Vapor »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86941
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2016, 12:30:35 AM »
My good fortune then, as my crappy old netbook is so under powered following the minimum spec only came with the win7 32bit and the starter edition to boot :)
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Vapor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2016, 04:16:51 PM »
Small update.

As time went on I started having more and more frequent pop ups by Outpost Firewall 9.3 on windows start-up (original issue)

1. I downgraded avast to previous version 11.xx and all was solved but that wouldn't be wise  as antivirus it's more important due to frequent definition updates  in which case  firewall doesn't require database updates, rules are simply set and  that's pretty much it.

2. I than went back to Outpost 9.1 and latest version of avast and it works  flawlessly as it should I forgot to mention when Outpost 9.3 was in compatibility mode I know this sluggishness of my PC and I have pretty powerful workstation e.g. 64GB ram and 4960X CPU at 4.9GHz, yet still slowly I could see the overtaking by Outpost.

The other day I spoke with Agnitum  and although I  already was aware that OFP 9.3  was aimed totally at Win 10 I still decided to update to 9.3 at its official launch, that was premature on my part  I will not be upgrading my Win 7 Pro for the next 4-6 years  so 9.1 is perfect for Win 7.

Maybe when Win 7 will stop getting support I will upgrade to win 10 I have Outpost 9.3 saved for that, for now  OFP 9.1 and avast work great.
I thought I give a little update and heads-up for whomever find  itself in similar situation.

Btw. I will not get rid of Outpost, its beyond any other firewalls out there...sad that it's no longer supported, avast + Outpost Firewall = great combination, but anyone who has the same setup I'm sure already know that.


Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86941
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2016, 05:27:13 PM »
Thanks for the further information on this.

Yes most of OFP 9.3 was related to windows 10, but I too went ahead with it on XP Pro and Win7 and whilst I didn't see this sluggishness or OFP popups on windows startup. The sluggishness  is strange given the power of your system and the much lower spec on my systems.

I too like Agnitum Firewall and will continue to use it as far as possible. I started using Outpost Firewall Free version 1.0, finally going Pro on version 3.0 purchasing a lifetime license that was to great a deal to pass up.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Vapor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
Re: Avast causes outpost firewall glitch
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2016, 06:10:59 PM »
I've been using OFP and OSS for over a decade I think it might have been since v3 I know for sure v4 and I have several, maybe 10 lifetime licences of both.

The sluggishness could be also due to the fact I'm using Deepfreeze Enterprise on that machine that manages 7 other local (home) workstations and some, over 20 workstations that are in different provinces.

Also I know this as well that when I set compatibility mode I could reboot and things were OK beside the fact that I could see slowing down, but as soon as I set my DF Console to freeze all my workstations upon reboot I would get the random prompt again so I decided that 9.3 just simply does not work nicely with all I have

It's very hard to pin point on exactly what causes this issue but rather than wasting  time I know Outpost 9.1 and latest avast 12 work as they should.

Thanks for all your responses.

Have a nice day.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2016, 06:12:39 PM by Vapor »