Author Topic: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276  (Read 86297 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84900
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #60 on: July 29, 2016, 04:29:13 PM »
<snip quotes>

Is "Custom" available in over-the-top updates ?

I answered this in response to one of your other posts, see https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=189138.msg1327860#msg1327860.

Oh, OK...thx........IMHO not acceptable if Avast is going to sneak items in through the Program Update.
You didn't use the program update function. You did an over the top install and used the default install.

I did a "Program Update" and wrongly concluded Avast would respect my previous CUSTOM install selections, or more importantly non-selections.
They did not.........thus, a "silent" install........plain and simple.......but as you noted.....from "Program Update".........

The problem with that is when a new component is added or when one is split into two (AOS to - Security browser extension and SafePrice browser extension) then you are likely to get the new component/s and what you already had installed.

Cast your mind back to when the SafeZone Browser was added to the avast free version, everyone got that who did an in-place program update.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline thekochs

  • Speak Your Mind, Who minds don't matter, Who matters won't mind
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1115
  • Hapkido Blackbelt
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #61 on: July 29, 2016, 04:49:22 PM »
<snip quotes>

Is "Custom" available in over-the-top updates ?

I answered this in response to one of your other posts, see https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=189138.msg1327860#msg1327860.

Oh, OK...thx........IMHO not acceptable if Avast is going to sneak items in through the Program Update.
You didn't use the program update function. You did an over the top install and used the default install.

I did a "Program Update" and wrongly concluded Avast would respect my previous CUSTOM install selections, or more importantly non-selections.
They did not.........thus, a "silent" install........plain and simple.......but as you noted.....from "Program Update".........

The problem with that is when a new component is added or when one is split into two (AOS to - Security browser extension and SafePrice browser extension) then you are likely to get the new component/s and what you already had installed.

Cast your mind back to when the SafeZone Browser was added to the avast free version, everyone got that who did an in-place program update.

You & @bob make good points/insights....but I do think the "custom" link should be part of the Program Update "flow".
OpenDNS + Avast Free + MBAM Premium + MBAE Free Anti-Exploit + CryptoPrevent + Windows Firewall
Avast FAQ Videos
Avast 2016 Videos
Avast Clean Un/Re-Install How-To

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45267
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #62 on: July 29, 2016, 04:49:58 PM »
In place isn't going to stop the installation of something new.
Over the top Custom install gives you the option to uncheck anything you don't want.
The only exception would be if something new isn't listed. Then it would get installed and all hell would break loose on the forum.... :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4738
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #63 on: July 29, 2016, 04:54:10 PM »
Thanks for the update. :)

About SafePrice, in my understanding, the function itself was already there (included in AOS plugin), what avast does is making it separable (or configurable centrally) from AOS for user convenience. And now avast is blamed for installing (what is not true) SafePrice without notice... ::)
Main: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 21 Premier Beta / Comodo Firewall 12 (testing again)
Mobile: Win10 Pro 20H2 32bit, Vista SP2 32bit / Core 2 Duo SU9300 1.2GHz / 4GB RAM / Avast 20 Free / Windows Firewall Control

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70217
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #64 on: July 29, 2016, 04:55:46 PM »
About SafePrice, in my understanding, the function itself was already there (included in AOS plugin), what avast does is making it separable (or configurable centrally) from AOS for user convenience. And now avast is blamed for installing SafePrice without notice... ::)
Exactly.
W 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2462.B3 [UI.616] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10.1 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45267
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #65 on: July 29, 2016, 05:03:34 PM »
About SafePrice, in my understanding, the function itself was already there (included in AOS plugin), what avast does is making it separable (or configurable centrally) from AOS for user convenience. And now avast is blamed for installing SafePrice without notice... ::)
Exactly.
The problem is that it's now a separate item and unless you either unchecked it in a custom install or,
it wasn't installed in your previous version and you did a program update, it could wind up being installed.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline -midnight

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2398
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #66 on: July 29, 2016, 05:40:48 PM »
I did a program update, didn't see anything about google chrome, modified and unticked SafePrice.  Before updating it showed SafePrice was disabled in my extensions but doesn't show that now.

Thanks for the update.

Offline thekochs

  • Speak Your Mind, Who minds don't matter, Who matters won't mind
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1115
  • Hapkido Blackbelt
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #67 on: July 29, 2016, 05:41:23 PM »
About SafePrice, in my understanding, the function itself was already there (included in AOS plugin), what avast does is making it separable (or configurable centrally) from AOS for user convenience. And now avast is blamed for installing SafePrice without notice... ::)
Exactly.
The problem is that it's now a separate item and unless you either unchecked it in a custom install or,
it wasn't installed in your previous version and you did a program update, it could wind up being installed.

Totally agree............but think good adder would be for Avast to put the "custom" link in the Program Update flow
OpenDNS + Avast Free + MBAM Premium + MBAE Free Anti-Exploit + CryptoPrevent + Windows Firewall
Avast FAQ Videos
Avast 2016 Videos
Avast Clean Un/Re-Install How-To

Offline bruce_b

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 330
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #68 on: July 29, 2016, 05:53:46 PM »
I always download the full offline installer and then run it, so I can select just what I want to install and nothing else.
If I do it from within the GUI, it will work, but things I do not want usually gets added. I do not see why the coders
at Avast can not get their installer to respect a user's already installed options and just update those. Offer the other
ones, but make them easy to see and remove when doing it through the GUI
Dell Dimension 8200 P4 1.8Ghz Windows XP PRO SP3
Avast Free Antivirus 18.8.2356
Toshiba Satellite C855-S5347 Celeron B830 1.8Ghz
Windows 10 Home 64 Bit Version 1909 Build 18363.900
Avast Free Antivirus 20.4.2410 Build 20.4.5312.578

Offline thekochs

  • Speak Your Mind, Who minds don't matter, Who matters won't mind
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1115
  • Hapkido Blackbelt
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #69 on: July 29, 2016, 06:07:57 PM »
I always download the full offline installer and then run it

To be clear....you do this with Avast currently installed ?
So this would be an "Over the Top Update" vs a "Program Update"......
Kind of just wanting to make sure we are calling things the same thing.  :D
OpenDNS + Avast Free + MBAM Premium + MBAE Free Anti-Exploit + CryptoPrevent + Windows Firewall
Avast FAQ Videos
Avast 2016 Videos
Avast Clean Un/Re-Install How-To

Offline bruce_b

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 330
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #70 on: July 29, 2016, 06:10:30 PM »
Yes, that is correct.
Dell Dimension 8200 P4 1.8Ghz Windows XP PRO SP3
Avast Free Antivirus 18.8.2356
Toshiba Satellite C855-S5347 Celeron B830 1.8Ghz
Windows 10 Home 64 Bit Version 1909 Build 18363.900
Avast Free Antivirus 20.4.2410 Build 20.4.5312.578

Offline Tomáš Hellebrand

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Product owner of Avast Passwords
    • Avast Passwords
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #71 on: July 29, 2016, 07:05:05 PM »
I just deleted all my passwords. SafeZone WAS my default browser but changing after I finish this. When signing on to my laptop, I was automatically updated with Avast New Version. I already was using Avast anti-virus pro and Safezone w/Passwords. The problem is in PASSWORDS. I went from status good to average  in passwords and ALL my passwords changed to reused from most being strong. Trying to add back one of the websites I just deleted, it displayed reused. I worked hard on updating most of my passwords the last couple months with most being different and unique. Now I feel there has been some sort of leak with conflicting and contradicting information shown. Have my passwords been compromised? Is this a ploy to get me to purchase an upgrade by using the Improve link in the Password icon? Either makes me go from loving Avast SafeZone to despising this fox in the hen house approach.

 :( Same thing happened to me. I have 77 passwords stored in the PW Manager of Avast Free, they are all different, one for each site and yet the 77 are flagged as reused. I hope that it's only a false positive or a bug and that it will be corrected soon with a new update of the program. Thanks in advance to let us know what's the problem.

Yes, this is bug (false "reused" warning) and we are working on a fix. Sorry about that!
Tomas Hellebrand
Product owner of Avast Passwords

Offline Shaun985

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #72 on: July 29, 2016, 08:54:20 PM »
I'm getting a really annoying problem that was mentioned in the beta thread for 12.2.2276, the main Avast window / GUI randomly pops up throughout the day for no reason (as if I'm clicking the tray icon or something).  Clean install of 12.2.2276 on Windows 10 Home 64bit and have already had it happen 3 times over 8 hours.  Can we please get a fix for this soon??
See Reply #15.

Is the fix out already?  It says I am already updated, but I'm still having the same problem.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #73 on: July 29, 2016, 10:17:00 PM »
About SafePrice, in my understanding, the function itself was already there (included in AOS plugin), what avast does is making it separable (or configurable centrally) from AOS for user convenience. And now avast is blamed for installing SafePrice without notice... ::)
Exactly.
The problem is that it's now a separate item and unless you either unchecked it in a custom install or,
it wasn't installed in your previous version and you did a program update, it could wind up being installed.

Totally agree............but think good adder would be for Avast to put the "custom" link in the Program Update flow
OK.

Just did a clean install of 12.2.3126.0 and also a Custom Install.  Noted pre-checked box for SafePrice as well as all other option boxes for default install and unchecked the ones I did not need, including SafePrice.  No issues with unwanted or unneeded components or features when custom install was completed.

If you do not use 'Custom Install', then all available options and features will be installed, given they all are pre-checked for installation by default.

Not sure if adding a third option, 'Custom Install, in add/remove or Programs and Features is really necessary, given that Custom Install is already available in the 'Change' option.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline ovaalst

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: BRAND NEW VERSION: 12.2.2276
« Reply #74 on: July 29, 2016, 11:30:29 PM »
I have a big issue with this latest release:
The status of Avast is: your system is unprotected; the background service is not active.

Pressing the button to solve all doesn't work. I have re-installed Avast twice, but no result.

Avast is quite unresponsive as well.

I think this is some kind of bug.

(system is W10 64-bit; avast build: 12.2.3126.2)
« Last Edit: July 29, 2016, 11:57:44 PM by ovaalst »