Author Topic: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed  (Read 6438 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Raveology

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
As title says pretty much, happened today after the well known problem, though yesterday it was fine. And I've tried reinstalling Avast but it didn't to sh.. I mean, it didn't fix anything.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31341
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2016, 10:13:59 PM »
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=189221.0

If after following the fix Vista still reports that no av is installed, reset the security center.
It is a known problem in Windows XP, Vista and W7 (not sure if it is also in W8 and higher)

Offline Rowan Boatman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2016, 01:40:21 AM »
I have this problem also, I tried resetting the security center but it didn't do anything seemingly. I tried using a command prompt way where I tested it and it came back as fine...then I refreshed it and it basically errored, but did refresh it as it refreshed the wee icon saying the av was turned off (the balloon notification happened again).

Do you or any one who has had success have a definitive way of resetting the security center with vista? I see there are multiple ways.

As a side note I even refreshed vista back to an earlier restore point to get back to the previous version of avast and it didn't have any issues at all (aside from the avast program being out of date, but recognized avast as on in security center etc) as soon as I updated to the latest version of the program it produced the security center warning again (despite avast reporting as up to date and active).

It may be possible there is something missing in the update that isn't talking to windows vista and alike? My Windows 10 machines are fine thankfully.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2016, 06:05:59 AM by Rowan Boatman »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31341
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2016, 09:31:37 AM »
It would not surprise me if it is the WMI that is corrupt.
Here is a nice explanation on how to reset it :
http://blog.chron.com/techblog/2007/04/windows-vista-is-lying-to-me/

Offline petr_matrix

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 268
  • avast! programmer
    • AVAST Software
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2016, 12:17:02 PM »
Hi guys,
can you send me the exact version of your OS with service packs installed and wsc.log from avast log folder?

Thanks,
Petr

Offline Raveology

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2016, 08:19:46 PM »
And where do I exactly find it? I can't seem to find it in the main Avast folder, but I have other wsc files there so I don't know...
(if it helps, I just did a fresh reinstall because apparently using repair function in my case fks Avast up even more...)
And my os is Vista Home Basic SP2, I have all possible update from Windows Update installed.

Offline petr_matrix

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 268
  • avast! programmer
    • AVAST Software
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2016, 08:22:18 PM »
c:\programdata\avast software\avast\log\wsc.log

Do you have 32 or 64 bit?

Offline sdcat2014

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2016, 09:03:00 PM »
Hello, new to the forum but not a new Avast user.

I have the same problem with Vista.
Toshiba Satellite with Vista Home Premium 32 bit, SP2.

Never had this issue until 2 days ago. I have MalwareBytes but not automated scanning just manual. I have Windows Defender(which I have disabled for now) and Avast running at the same time with ZERO issues in the 3 years I've used Avast until 2 days ago.

Offline ezekiels

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2016, 09:33:59 PM »
Same, Vista 32 bit sp2 no spybot mbam running gone back to previous version of avast 2272

Offline petr_matrix

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 268
  • avast! programmer
    • AVAST Software
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2016, 09:47:24 PM »
Guys, thanks for the info, I will check it tommorow. Can anybody of you send me requested log file?

Offline sdcat2014

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2016, 10:07:31 PM »
Petr,
I don't see that log file in that folder and I have no hidden files.

Offline Raveology

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2016, 10:08:11 PM »
32 bit, and:
http://pastebin.com/ptjUxNHQ
Hope I didn't miss anything.

Offline petr_matrix

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 268
  • avast! programmer
    • AVAST Software
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2016, 03:23:55 PM »
Working on it guys, be patient please :-)

Offline Raveology

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2016, 07:23:14 PM »
Oh really?

Offline petr_matrix

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 268
  • avast! programmer
    • AVAST Software
Re: Vista keeps saying that I have no antivirus software installed
« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2016, 10:19:41 PM »
Yes.