Author Topic: On-Access Scanner  (Read 4041 times)

fritzero9

On-Access Scanner
« on: January 28, 2006, 11:13:11 PM »
I keep getting messages from the On-Access Scanner saying it stopped different viruses/ ad-ware. At first I thought it was the show detailed info, so i disabled that and some of the pop ups stopped. But I still get pop ups when avast! finds stuff.

How do I turn these pop ups off? I have my web shield set to silent mode and I have the show detailed info disabled on all the modules. I've been running avast for about 3 or 4 months I think and these messaged didn't start until I got a Trojan horse warning earlier this week.

Thanks

Offline essexboy

• Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: On-Access Scanner
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2006, 11:15:32 PM »
I'm not sure but I think webshield will always produce an alert if it detects a virus, if not someone who knows will be along soon. Although I have never set webshield to silent cos I want to know if I hit a bad site..  Welcome to the forum

CharleyO

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2006, 11:16:44 PM »

Well, shouldn't you be interested in correcting the trojan horse infection instead of silencing the warnings?     :o   ???

Offline essexboy

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2006, 11:18:05 PM »
Having read your post properly now what was the trojan and was it fixed, or is it still active

fritzero9

« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2006, 11:27:37 PM »
It was fixed and locked in the chest, now I just get adware pop up all the time but I don't know where they are coming from and why they won't stop.

Offline essexboy

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2006, 11:29:29 PM »
Ok have you done a spyware scan.  And are these popups from avast or are they advertising

fritzero9