Author Topic: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan  (Read 5259 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline One_Hapless_Gamer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« on: August 05, 2016, 09:01:34 AM »
Hello everyone!  I'm new to these forums and wanted to say hello quickly.   Of course I also got a couple of questions - as the title implies - about Nitro and if it's worth it/any risks to worry about, as well as something rather odd.

So, regarding Nitro, is it safe?  Are there any risks or things to worry about, would licenses be lost or need to be reset if updated to it, is the non-Nitro version of Avast still supported even?   I've been trying to find unbiased reviews(as well as reviews in general) with very little luck.  Some also mention issues the moment it installed I think, though the ones I found I skimmed over mostly...

As for the question-mark deal, I noticed this about a week or so ago.   Everything works fine, yet there seems to be an odd change to the Quick Scan for my "Scan for Viruses" Option.  It's now marked as "????" and above the start scan button,there is a small, underlined option to "Delete ????"    What is this meaning of this, and should I be worried?   Has this happened for others here, or is this simply a glitch with the name (it's literally just about the Full Scan option on the list where Quick Scan was).
« Last Edit: August 05, 2016, 09:41:49 AM by One_Hapless_Gamer »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31078
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2016, 10:17:02 AM »
Quote
So, regarding Nitro, is it safe?
Nitro is just the name of the new version of avast.
Why wouldn't it be safe ?
Next version could be called "Ocean", but it still is avast.

Offline One_Hapless_Gamer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2016, 11:47:53 AM »
Quote
So, regarding Nitro, is it safe?
Nitro is just the name of the new version of avast.
Why wouldn't it be safe ?
Next version could be called "Ocean", but it still is avast.
I figured that would be first response... I was more curious about this whole cloud-based scanning.   Is there anything to worry about with this change, or have there been issues for people immediately after updating to this version?   

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31078
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2016, 12:01:20 PM »
The CyberCapture is not immediately scanning files.
It submits the hash of a file to avast.
When avast already knows the file (hash), no further action is taken.
When it is not known, the file is send to avast for analyses.
Ofcourse when the file is found malicious, detection will be added to the vps.

The only issue is (or rather was) when upgrading Windows with the anniversary update on specific hardware.
More information in this thread > https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=189403.msg1329994#msg1329994

Offline One_Hapless_Gamer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2016, 07:32:43 AM »
Alright, so I updated to the new version of Avast, it seems to be just fine.  Was sort of expecting a more drastic change, heh.

But I still want to know about the ???? scan, and it's disappointing that there haven't been any replies to this part of my post.

Seriously, any answers regarding this will be appreciated.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48701
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2016, 03:12:40 PM »
Sorry but I don't see anything strange ??? Can you explain further ???
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline One_Hapless_Gamer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2016, 11:14:18 PM »
Well, for me at least, my 'Quick scan' is labeled as "????" - it still has the same description, yet it also has a underlined option that says 'Delete "????"' above the start button.   That's the only thing I can say right now.  I'm not wanting to use it because I don't know if it's a name alteration only, or if it's something to be concerned about.


Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89443
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2016, 12:00:06 AM »
Have you tried setting your installation back to the avast default/factory setup ?
AvastUI > Settings >Troubleshooting > Restore Factory Defaults

Have you previously made/created or modified any of the scans ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline One_Hapless_Gamer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2016, 05:29:16 AM »
Have you tried setting your installation back to the avast default/factory setup ?
AvastUI > Settings >Troubleshooting > Restore Factory Defaults

Have you previously made/created or modified any of the scans ?

I have made no modifications to any scans, nor have I created any custom scans.   Nor have I tried doing a factory setup of Avast.

Offline One_Hapless_Gamer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2016, 05:34:40 AM »
Okay, did a reset of the settings - that did the trick.  Thank you!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89443
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2016, 03:10:26 PM »
You're welcome.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Skakara

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2016, 12:24:03 PM »
FYI: this randomly appearing ? ? ? ? scan option after updating the program has been a problem for many years. I had it few times years ago. I guess they can't fix it.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76029
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2016, 12:34:43 PM »
FYI: this randomly appearing ? ? ? ? scan option after updating the program has been a problem for many years. I had it few times years ago. I guess they can't fix it.
A (simple) repair should fix it. ;)

Repair Avast:
1. Control Panel -> Add/Remove programs -> Avast
2. Click on 'Repair'.
3. Follow instructions.
4. Reboot.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89443
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New to Forums! Question about Nitro & "????" Scan
« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2016, 03:36:12 PM »
FYI: this randomly appearing ? ? ? ? scan option after updating the program has been a problem for many years. I had it few times years ago. I guess they can't fix it.

I certainly haven't seen it for many years and I believe it was related to custom scan names, I never had a default scan name changed to ? ? ?

And two options would appear to resolve it the one I suggested in Reply #7 and the avast repair as Asyn suggested.

Presumably you haven't had it happen since the incidence "a few times years ago."
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security