Author Topic: Avast Scheduled scan  (Read 10217 times)

chuckcald

Avast Scheduled scan
« on: December 05, 2003, 11:51:09 PM »
I am new to Avast.  I was wondering if it is possible to schedule a scan and a certain time and day.  

I have Avast 4 Home with winXP.

Offline igor

• Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
    • AVAST Software
Re:Avast Scheduled scan
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2003, 01:28:27 PM »
It's a feature of the Professional version.
In the Home version, you may use the Microsoft Windows Task Scheduler on the ashQuick.exe file.

stevejrc

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2003, 01:30:37 PM »
I dont think home version can do scheduled scans, but you might be able add the quick scan to the windows task sceduler:

(win 2k)
start>programs>accessories>system tools>scheduled tasks

add a path like:

"C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe" "*MEMORY" "*STARTUP"

(this scans memory and startup, not sure about other folders/files, ask one of the tech. guys)

I have this target in a shortcut in startup folder and a desktop button.

stevejrc

« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2003, 01:31:23 PM »
igor, you beat me too it... hehe

chuckcald

« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2003, 08:51:05 PM »
Igor

I set up Microsoft Windows Task Scheduler with ashQuick.exe  but when   the scan opens it says initializing and then the program quits.  It never scans anything.  Is there a something else I need to do?

Offline .: Mac :.

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2003, 08:57:04 PM »
hmmm I dont see why it would quit like that. but I agree that file scans the memory not the hard drive ( correct me if Im wrong)
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline igor

• Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
    • AVAST Software
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2003, 12:04:22 AM »
It should scan whatever you say it to... if you call "ashQuick.exe C:\", it should scan the C drive.