Author Topic: Change firewall in one single step?  (Read 3411 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bbartrug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Change firewall in one single step?
« on: September 16, 2016, 07:36:45 PM »
Hi, folks,

For some strange reason, my OWN strange reason, after a recent update to my Premier account, I set the firewall to PUBLIC after a prompt.  Not thinking, of course....duh....and wish to return the status to PRIVATE Medium Risk.  Is there a way to do so in one step, rather than having to set every program in Avast?  Also, will that stop the notices I get saying Avast has reset sites to Private Low Risk?

My fault, but thanks in advance,

bab

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37098
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2016, 09:23:52 PM »
tried FAQ ? > support.avast.com

« Last Edit: September 17, 2016, 12:45:34 AM by Pondus »

Offline bbartrug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2016, 11:17:50 PM »
Oh, thanks a lot.  What, no reference to a specific FAQ?  I tried the FAQ but what I got was a horribly complicated method whereby I had to change the firewall setting for every site that visits my computer.  Hence my question about a single setting that change to private medium risk for ALL sites.  Are you an administrator for this group?  You won't be for long....I'm reporting you, smart*ss sh*thead.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45954
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2016, 11:33:24 PM »
Oh, thanks a lot.  What, no reference to a specific FAQ?  I tried the FAQ but what I got was a horribly complicated method whereby I had to change the firewall setting for every site that visits my computer.  Hence my question about a single setting that change to private medium risk for ALL sites.  Are you an administrator for this group?  You won't be for long....I'm reporting you, smart*ss sh*thead.
He is an Avast user like you trying to help. I've reported this to Avast. Have some patience.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline bbartrug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2016, 11:41:57 PM »
Thank you much. 

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3744
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2016, 11:48:02 PM »
Hi bab,

Pondus is not using the Avast Firewall, and just wanted to help. I think you are very unfriendly to him :-\
But to answer your question :

You have set a Network profile to Public, and you can easely change that :

Avast - Tools - Firewall - Settings - Network profiles - and change the desired Network profile.

Or, if you are not sure what to do : Delete the Network profile, reboot and Avast will create a new one.

Greetz, Red.

« Last Edit: September 16, 2016, 11:51:53 PM by Rednose »
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

Offline bbartrug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2016, 12:17:28 AM »
Thank you, very helpful.  I used the Help program on the Avast user interface and that told me something similar, but perhaps I misread the directions.

As far as Pondus is concerned he wasn't being helpful at all, so my response was appropriate in my humble opinion.  If you can't help someone don't say anything.  Why would I be on this forum if I hadn't checked help first?

Thanks again,
BAB

PS:  Please mark Rednose' answer as correcting the problem, and close this thread.  If that's something I can easily do myself kindly indicate how I might do so in the future.  Sorry, I don't see any obvious buttons for those functions.  Thanks in advance, BAB

« Last Edit: September 17, 2016, 12:22:28 AM by bbartrug »

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37098
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2016, 12:45:22 AM »
Quote
Why would I be on this forum if I hadn't checked help first?
the experience here is that most don't

Quote
Are you an administrator for this group?  You won't be for long....I'm reporting you, smart*ss sh*thead.
Now i am really scared



« Last Edit: September 17, 2016, 12:51:01 AM by Pondus »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45954
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2016, 01:03:25 AM »
Thank you, very helpful.  I used the Help program on the Avast user interface and that told me something similar, but perhaps I misread the directions.

As far as Pondus is concerned he wasn't being helpful at all, so my response was appropriate in my humble opinion.  If you can't help someone don't say anything.  Why would I be on this forum if I hadn't checked help first?

Thanks again,
BAB

PS:  Please mark Rednose' answer as correcting the problem, and close this thread.  If that's something I can easily do myself kindly indicate how I might do so in the future.  Sorry, I don't see any obvious buttons for those functions.  Thanks in advance, BAB
The thread doesn't get closed. It may help someone else with the same (similar) problem
Your reply to Pondus was certainly not appropriate and isn't any way to encourage help in the future. Especially not from him.
This forum is manned mainly by users helping users. Occasionally, Avast steps in to help if/when needed.
Keep that in mind the next time you need assistance or, are able to help someone else.

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline bbartrug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2016, 01:19:33 AM »
You're not scared at all, but why make such a statement?  I'm the client here, and you represent Avast.  Would someone from Avast make such a statement to a customer?  I understand your frustration trying to help those of us who don't have your expertise, but that's no reason to slap someone in the face.  And that's the second time you've done so.  I apologize for calling you a sh*thead.  Obviously that's not the case or you wouldn't be on this forum as a helper dude.  But if you were an employee of mine, you'd have to change your attitude toward clients to keep your job. 

Quote
Why would I be on this forum if I hadn't checked help first?
the experience here is that most don't

Quote
Are you an administrator for this group?  You won't be for long....I'm reporting you, smart*ss sh*thead.
Now i am really scared

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3744
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2016, 01:26:09 AM »
Forum users should realise that Evangelists are Avast users as well, and that they are not knowing/using all the Avast products.
We don't "represent" Avast, but are just trying to help fellow Avast users :)

Greetz, Red.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2016, 01:30:41 AM by Rednose »
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37098
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2016, 01:30:09 AM »
Quote
I'm the client here, and you represent Avast.
Nope, just a avast user

Quote
I understand your frustration trying to help those of us who don't have your expertise, but that's no reason to slap someone in the face.
If directing somone to the FAQ section is a slap in the face, ... well den we slap somone in the face several times a day




Offline bbartrug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2016, 01:37:40 AM »
Forum users should realise that Evangelists are Avast users as well, and that they are not knowing/using all the Avast products.
We don't "represent" Avast, but are just trying to help fellow Avast users :)

Greetz, Red.

Understood, but telling someone to look at the FAQ without offering a link is not helpful.  Some might even consider it rude.  Thanks, BAB

Offline bbartrug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2016, 01:40:08 AM »
Quote
I'm the client here, and you represent Avast.
Nope, just a avast user

Quote
I understand your frustration trying to help those of us who don't have your expertise, but that's no reason to slap someone in the face.
If directing somone to the FAQ section is a slap in the face, ... well den we slap somone in the face several times a day

Then you shouldn't be here.  Referring someone to the FAQs without providing a link that might solve their problem isn't "helping."

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45954
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Change firewall in one single step?
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2016, 02:37:08 AM »
Let'"s end this. Your problem has been addressed.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq