Author Topic: automatic repair and user settings.  (Read 1954 times)

Offline davexnet

• Poster
automatic repair and user settings.
« on: October 11, 2016, 12:44:02 AM »
Every now again, through  some glitch  usually after a system restart, avast will detect something wrong
and do an automatic repair.  So far so good.

I've been running version 2245 in Windows 7 for a few months with no problems at all.
When I install I opt out of the two items in the privacy options, I set program update to manual,
and I turn off the icon animation.

When avast does it's repair, all of the options I set above are put back to default. The first clue, of course,
is that the icon is animated again.  The second thing avast does by itself is automatically install the latest version.

Since it all happens so quick there is no time to stop it.

Now I have to uninstall, run avastclear, and reinstall the older version. 

I would propose that when when avast does it's automatic repair it leaves the user setting alone.  This is an
incredible aggravation.

Secondly, the manual setting should be respected unless the user provides some in input.

« Last Edit: October 11, 2016, 01:03:21 AM by davexnet »
AMD FX-4300 4GB DDR3
avast free 2279 (Windows XP), MBAM free

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: automatic repair and user settings.
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2016, 01:02:16 AM »
A repair should reset the settings to default because it can be that one of the settings that is changed is causing "the problem".
There is a reason why you can backup and later import the settings.

version 2245
Time to update to the latest version.
It doesn't matter to what you set for updates, if avast rolls out a pushed update it will happen.

Besides that, you and almost all other users are not realizing that updates take often place along with a vps update.