Author Topic: T100TA Fatal Error  (Read 2069 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NorthlogicVFX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
T100TA Fatal Error
« on: December 13, 2016, 01:29:24 AM »
I bought used Asus Transformer Book T100TA tablet, and it seems that the previous user upgraded it to a Windows 10. I downloaded Avast to it, and then it froze. I tried to reboot it, but it goes into an error message screen which says that Avast file damaged the computer. Is there any fix to this? I'm pretty sure that it reads just in the front page of Avast that it's "Compatible with Windows 10" and now my tablet is fatally corrupted. The keyboard for it doesn't work for some reason, I checked the connectors and all, but is there any sort of way to get to the recovery options using the tablet instead? Thanks!

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31345
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: T100TA Fatal Error
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2016, 01:36:22 AM »
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0
Scroll down to "If you cannot  Boot the computer".
Run Farbar and attach FRST.txt and Addition.txt to your next post.

If OTLPE is not working, use Rufes instead > https://rufus.akeo.ie/

Offline NorthlogicVFX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: T100TA Fatal Error
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2016, 01:42:11 AM »
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0
Scroll down to "If you cannot  Boot the computer".
Run Farbar and attach FRST.txt and Addition.txt to your next post.

If OTLPE is not working, use Rufes instead > https://rufus.akeo.ie/

Thank you, but I'm having an issue with a tablet. These are for computers and require CD-drive.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31345
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: T100TA Fatal Error
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2016, 01:47:59 AM »
Nope, you can use a USB stick (if the system is capable of booting from it)

Offline NorthlogicVFX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: T100TA Fatal Error
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2016, 01:56:13 AM »
Nope, you can use a USB stick (if the system is capable of booting from it)

This is true, but the USB-port is on the keyboard which is not functioning. I was thinking of trying to boot from a MicroSD-card

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31345
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: T100TA Fatal Error
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2016, 02:21:45 AM »
Is it not working, or isn't it set to boot from in the bios/uefi ?

As far as I know both OTLPE and Rufus can't create a bootable SD card.
But if you can somehow manage to create a bootable SD card, it can (or perhaps I should say should) work as well.
In theory, you should be able to create a bootable cd/dvd/usb stick, create a image from it and use the image to create a bootable SD card.
Ofcourse the system must be capable of booting from a SD card ofcourse.

On a note, there is a reason why all my system are equipped with a floppy drive and a cd/dvd drive.
Even my latest one (+/- 3 months old) is.

Offline NorthlogicVFX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: T100TA Fatal Error
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2016, 02:48:36 AM »
Is it not working, or isn't it set to boot from in the bios/uefi ?

As far as I know both OTLPE and Rufus can't create a bootable SD card.
But if you can somehow manage to create a bootable SD card, it can (or perhaps I should say should) work as well.
In theory, you should be able to create a bootable cd/dvd/usb stick, create a image from it and use the image to create a bootable SD card.
Ofcourse the system must be capable of booting from a SD card ofcourse.

On a note, there is a reason why all my system are equipped with a floppy drive and a cd/dvd drive.
Even my latest one (+/- 3 months old) is.

I mean that the whole keyboard is not functioning at all.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31345
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: T100TA Fatal Error
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2016, 03:04:51 AM »
If it is not functioning before the OS is loaded, there is likely something wrong with the hardware.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2016, 11:15:49 AM by Eddy »

Offline NorthlogicVFX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: T100TA Fatal Error
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2016, 03:27:59 AM »
If it is not functioning before the OS is loaded, there is something wrong with the hardware.

Yeah, seems so. Unfortunately now I don't find a way to repair the OS, not exactly too much of a leverage to ask for termination of the trade.