Author Topic: Avast Free W7 errors?  (Read 4358 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Avast Free W7 errors?
« on: November 03, 2016, 12:49:39 AM »
Hi,

I downloaded and installed Avast Free (from the official link) on a fresh install of W7 Pro 32 bit.

I see 2 setup and 2 running, on reboot 1 disappears but still am getting an error Turn on Avast in the rt corner/action center, when clicked get this messgae as displayed in the screen shot. C:/ Program Files/ Avast Free / wsc.proxy.exe

Why am I getting this.....any expert suggestions?

Any links for downloading Avast Free that installs smoothly with none such errors etc?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: November 03, 2016, 10:46:22 PM by Yezinki »
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2016, 01:02:33 AM »
When clicked on the red flag to turn on Avast, despite that its running nothing would happen. Windows doesn't accept Avast as a trusted AV??
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2016, 01:11:51 AM »



OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2016, 01:30:43 AM »
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Staticguy

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1438
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2016, 05:49:53 AM »
There's some information that confuses me. In your signature it says Avast 6? Avast 6 is a very old program version of avast. You mentioned that your machine is a fresh install of W7 Pro 32 bit. What was your previous antivirus software?
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home Version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.1237), Trend Micro Maximum Security 2021 (17.0.1333), Avast SecureLine VPN (5.12.5655), Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.2

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2016, 07:50:31 PM »
As asked, we need to know what avast version you are using, the latest being 12.3.2280.

Some of the things shown in the images show the installation isn't correct, dual icons in the system tray, etc.

I also don't have this location (C:/Program Files/Avast Free/wsc.proxy.exe) in my avast installation location (C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast). I also can't find wsc.proxy.exe in my avast free installation. That may well be dependant on what avast components you have installed, it may be related to the SafeZone browser but I can't say for sure (not using it).

If you haven't tried an avast Repair, that would be your next step (after confirming what avast version you have).
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2016, 10:37:22 PM »
There's some information that confuses me. In your signature it says Avast 6? Avast 6 is a very old program version of avast. You mentioned that your machine is a fresh install of W7 Pro 32 bit. What was your previous antivirus software?

I'm sorry, apologize for not updating my old sig, it's version 12.3

OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2016, 10:45:33 PM »
As asked, we need to know what avast version you are using, the latest being 12.3.2280.

Some of the things shown in the images show the installation isn't correct, dual icons in the system tray, etc.

I also don't have this location (C:/Program Files/Avast Free/wsc.proxy.exe) in my avast installation location (C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast). I also can't find wsc.proxy.exe in my avast free installation. That may well be dependant on what avast components you have installed, it may be related to the SafeZone browser but I can't say for sure (not using it).

If you haven't tried an avast Repair, that would be your next step (after confirming what avast version you have).




1. Version 12.3.

2. None components installed/ custom install.

3.  I see the 2nd last file wsc_proxy / properties > Avast Remedetion exe.?

3. Tried repair using CP > Add/ Remove?

What do I do next......hoping to hear your expert suggestions.

Thanks!
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2016, 11:44:21 PM »
OK, now I see the wsc_proxy.exe, I used search for it for whatever reason it wasn't found.

The file description is a bit cryptic Avast remediation exe seems to have no bearing on the file name wsc_proxy.exe
remediation = 1. The act or process of remedying something that is undesirable or deficient:

Sorry no expert suggestions - with the other issues, plus you did an avast Repair and that didn't work, you are left with a clean reinstall.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2016, 12:08:45 AM »
Thanks for explaining. :)

Any links to clean uninstall and reinstall tools.......would appreciate it. 

OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2016, 12:27:57 AM »
- Download the latest version of avast, 12.3.2280  http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup_offline.exe and save it to your HDD, somewhere you can find it again (if you didn't save your last download). Use that when you reinstall.

- Download the avast! Uninstall Utility, avastclear.exe http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avastclear.exe and save it to your HDD.
  • 1. Now uninstall avast! - using add remove programs/Programs & Features, if you can't do that start from the next step, reboot.
  • 2. run the avast! Uninstall Utility, it will request it be run from safe mode (and will handle the boot into safe mode), once complete reboot into normal mode.
  • 3. install the latest version, reboot.
Note: save the copy of avastclear.exe so it can be reused as some users are reporting that after running it, it is self-deleting.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2016, 12:43:29 AM »
Thanks, appreciate your in-depth expert reply.  :)
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Free W7 errors?
« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2016, 01:19:24 AM »
You're welcome.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security