Author Topic: Oh... now what's up?  (Read 1680 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline streim

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
  • Kindness goes a long way
Oh... now what's up?
« on: November 11, 2016, 10:10:07 PM »
Hoping someone else is having a similar issue. ISSUE #1 This morning, upon checking to make sure Avast updated to the current virus definitions (as I do every morning!!), it's telling me there's a new program update 12.3.2279 release date August 16, 2016--huh??  Interestingly I have the current version 12.3.2280 (build 12.3.3154.22)
ISSUE #2  I went to the troubleshooting page and noticed something called passive mode??  Never seeing this in the past, I wanted to read it and I was "shocked"!!  It read... in passive mode you can still scan and use our other features but we can not insure that we can actively keep your PC from malware attacks...  OK??  Then why do I pay 30$ a year for this constant irritation with Avast.
I am  >:( >:(

 
Intel Core2Duo E4500/Win7 HomePremium SP1/ Avast IT Security 17.5.2303 /Firefox 54.0.2 /NoScript/AdBlockPlus/MBAM and WinPatrol free(all up to date)

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37057
Re: Oh... now what's up?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2016, 10:16:09 PM »
Quote
ISSUE #2  I went to the troubleshooting page and noticed something called passive mode??  Never seeing this in the past, I wanted to read it and I was "shocked"!!  It read... in passive mode you can still scan and use our other features but we can not insure that we can actively keep your PC from malware attacks...  OK??  Then why do I pay 30$ a year for this constant irritation with Avast.
There is a FAQ section here   ;)  >>  https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB43



Quote
it's telling me there's a new program update 12.3.2279 release date August 16, 2016--huh?? 
Posted oktober 19  >>  https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=189836.msg1344234#msg1344234




« Last Edit: November 11, 2016, 10:21:52 PM by Pondus »

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Oh... now what's up?
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2016, 10:38:31 PM »
Got the same issue with 12.3.2279 appearing on startup yesterday, waited a bit and it fixed itself automatically to current version 12.3.2280.

Glitch absolutely has to do with Avast server issues and not your program running on your system.

Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline streim

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
  • Kindness goes a long way
Re: Oh... now what's up?
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2016, 10:08:44 PM »
Quote
ISSUE #2  I went to the troubleshooting page and noticed something called passive mode??  Never seeing this in the past, I wanted to read it and I was "shocked"!!  It read... in passive mode you can still scan and use our other features but we can not insure that we can actively keep your PC from malware attacks...  OK??  Then why do I pay 30$ a year for this constant irritation with Avast.
There is a FAQ section here   ;)  >>  https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB43


Thank you for the info about the Passive Mode.  I am sorry to say, I tried that even before I posted.  I don't use any other virus protection, but I am unable to turn it on. 
I'm going to check all my components and make sure they're set accordingly.  Thanks Pondus! :)





Intel Core2Duo E4500/Win7 HomePremium SP1/ Avast IT Security 17.5.2303 /Firefox 54.0.2 /NoScript/AdBlockPlus/MBAM and WinPatrol free(all up to date)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85357
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Oh... now what's up?
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2016, 11:41:15 PM »
@ streim
Whilst this is a new option, which allows avast to be set in passive mode (on-demand only) if you have another AV installed. As far as I'm aware, it is off by default, so it shouldn't be an issue.

I would have thought that you can only tick that option if you have another resident AV installed. Not that I would ever want that, I'm still a strong believer in only one resident AV installed and for me this passive mode idea, stinks, I have avast and no other AV.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.5.2470 (build 21.5.6354.675) UI 1.0.646/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security