Author Topic: [Feature request] Pause scanning  (Read 2601 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
[Feature request] Pause scanning
« on: November 09, 2016, 04:38:05 PM »
Older Avast versions have the option to pause a running scanning.
Now, this option is gone  :-\

Please, bring it back.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84785
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: [Feature request] Pause scanning
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2016, 05:04:10 PM »
If you say/click Stop, does it not have a Start/Restart option ?
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DJBone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6344
Re: [Feature request] Pause scanning
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2016, 06:25:30 PM »
If you close Avast GUI then a little Window opens in the right bottom corner. There you can pause scanning.

DJBone
Win10 x64, APS (always latest version)
Avast Mobile Security (always latest version)

Offline Secondmineboy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3651
Re: [Feature request] Pause scanning
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2016, 06:28:14 PM »
If you close Avast GUI then a little Window opens in the right bottom corner. There you can pause scanning.

DJBone

But why not in the main UI?
Windows 10 1909, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, 500 GB 5400 RPM HDD, 1366 by 768 LCD Screen, Intel Core i3 5010U Dual Core, Intel HD Graphics 5500
HUAWEI P30 Pro. Android 10

Offline DJBone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6344
Re: [Feature request] Pause scanning
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2016, 06:33:38 PM »
If you close Avast GUI then a little Window opens in the right bottom corner. There you can pause scanning.

DJBone

But why not in the main UI?
I don't know. I'm not a programmer. ;)

DJBone
Win10 x64, APS (always latest version)
Avast Mobile Security (always latest version)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70041
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: [Feature request] Pause scanning
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2016, 12:11:19 PM »
If you say/click Stop, does it not have a Start/Restart option ?
Nope.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 89.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70041
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: [Feature request] Pause scanning
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2016, 12:12:15 PM »
If you close Avast GUI then a little Window opens in the right bottom corner. There you can pause scanning.
I tried it with a quick scan. And yes, it works.
But, that's what I get after returning to the main GUI. (See screenshot)
So, it seems there's still some work to do... ;) Cheers.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 89.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0