Author Topic: avast! not working  (Read 6346 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Webbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Owls till i die!!
avast! not working
« on: February 18, 2006, 09:51:01 AM »
my avast! antivirus isn't working. when i try to start it a message comes up saying "cannot locate ashAvast.exe"

how do i fix this??

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2006, 09:54:26 AM »
Hi and welcome,
Is it a new installation ? or one thats worked already and now developed problems? please quote your OS and software version.
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline Webbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Owls till i die!!
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2006, 10:00:17 AM »
i've had it for ages and i think its the 4.6 version.

in my sercurity centre it says its out of date

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2006, 10:08:34 AM »
Can you go to add remove programs via control panel and instead of removing hit repair option. this needs an internet connection to work and just does an overwrite of your program.
give that a whirl and see if its still playing up
good luck  :)
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline Webbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Owls till i die!!
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2006, 10:10:40 AM »
i clicked repair - nothing . so i clicked remove - nothing. still messed up

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2006, 10:13:12 AM »
ok it seems something wierd is going on . maybe it didnt load properly at boot . can you reboot and see if its the same.?
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline Webbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Owls till i die!!
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2006, 10:20:54 AM »
i've tried that twice allready and it didn't work

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2006, 10:34:46 AM »
i see you got an avatar loaded . can you check the forum policy as its way, way too big.
can you resize it please .
then go into taskmanager and tell me what processes are running of the ones indicated in the pic.
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline Webbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Owls till i die!!
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2006, 10:38:58 AM »
none of them are there

What is wrong with my computer ???

BTW - removed the pic

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2006, 10:43:11 AM »
you didnt need to remove it , just scale it down to about 100x 100 is the max i think.
im mystified as to what has corrupted you avast. can you go into the program if you hit the icon?
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline Webbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Owls till i die!!
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2006, 10:47:45 AM »
no

BTW just before the problem started i downloaded a wallpaper from the internet

does this help ???

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #11 on: February 18, 2006, 10:53:41 AM »
it could be worth investigating, programs like windowblinds and icon packager have been known to corrupt the display but not the whole program.
there `s an uninstaller program on the Avast website that will get avast out if add remove fails but i would be removing any other changes you have made since as a first strategy.
uninstaller- http://www.avast.com/eng/avast_uninstall_util.html
« Last Edit: February 18, 2006, 10:56:32 AM by Cloussau »
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline Webbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Owls till i die!!
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #12 on: February 18, 2006, 11:08:24 AM »
OK done that - avast is gone

shud i reinstall?

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2006, 11:13:33 AM »
yes of course and save the installation file somewhere in case you need to install again .

did you remove the wallpaper that you suggested may have corrupted your system in the first place?
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline Webbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Owls till i die!!
Re: avast! not working
« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2006, 11:15:01 AM »
Yes and thanks