Author Topic: Avast installed itself  (Read 74221 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Venomh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #60 on: March 06, 2019, 11:46:11 PM »
I have NOT heard about this product at all. The only recent install in 6 months is CCleaner because my computer is slowing down quite a bit after 3 years of use. Installed CCleaner on 3/4/19.
I ALWAYS choose to customize my install because I like to install infrequently used programs to my I: drive, so that I can keep my C: drive 'light'. CCleaner will be one of these infrequently used program. Point is, I will ALWAYS route programs AWAY from my C: drive. And I did just that but there was NEVER any mentioning/option of installing Avast.

I have no problem with bundled install, but please allow user to select what they want to install! I'm not sure if this is even legal. Waiting for someone to file a class action against Avast on this issue.

I'm worried as I was reading this thread as CCleaner people didn't know about this until numerous people reported it. I don't know what other programs got installed on my computer without me knowing.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43915
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #61 on: March 06, 2019, 11:51:33 PM »
I have NOT heard about this product at all. The only recent install in 6 months is CCleaner because my computer is slowing down quite a bit after 3 years of use. Installed CCleaner on 3/4/19.
I ALWAYS choose to customize my install because I like to install infrequently used programs to my I: drive, so that I can keep my C: drive 'light'. CCleaner will be one of these infrequently used program. Point is, I will ALWAYS route programs AWAY from my C: drive. And I did just that but there was NEVER any mentioning/option of installing Avast.

I have no problem with bundled install, but please allow user to select what they want to install! I'm not sure if this is even legal. Waiting for someone to file a class action against Avast on this issue.

I'm worried as I was reading this thread as CCleaner people didn't know about this until numerous people reported it. I don't know what other programs got installed on my computer without me knowing.
Avast was a pre-checked item when you installed Ccleaner. If you used the default install of Ccleaner it's quite possible that you didn't see selection. To avoid this from happening in the future when you install a program, use the custom install not the default.
You might also want to check out this program that helps you avoid this from happening, https://unchecky.com/
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline hazzardinvest

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #62 on: April 18, 2019, 01:09:45 AM »
I find it very frustrating that Avast has to "trick" you into installing itself.  I updated CCleaner which I have been using for 10-15 years without any problems.
This morning I find there is an update.  I click on the update which gives me a button to download.
There was no mention of Avast and no box to uncheck.
This computer run minimal programs for speed it has our accounting system, Ccleaner and some office components.
I now have to spend time uninstalling this crap.
How do I know that you havent put spyware on my computer if you resort to trickery to make us install your product.
I am very pissed off that I have to waste my time removing a product I never wanted.
I will also probably not trust Ccleaner again after so long using it.


Offline digmor crusher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #63 on: April 19, 2019, 06:26:25 AM »
I used Avast for about 5 years but haven't used for about 4 years. It used to be a great anti-virus, now its all about data collection, trying to up sell you there bloatware and trying to sneakily install products such as Ccleaner. Its not an anti-virus program anymore, its all about monetizing their users anyway they can.

Offline drainer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #64 on: April 26, 2019, 03:20:53 PM »
I just had Avast install itself on my Win 10 PC.  I did not do it.  I was not installing anything else at the time.  It just started downloading and installing when I booted up my PC this morning.  Is Avast now a virus itself?  How can this happen?

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36729
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #65 on: April 26, 2019, 04:15:23 PM »
I just had Avast install itself on my Win 10 PC.  I did not do it.  I was not installing anything else at the time.  It just started downloading and installing when I booted up my PC this morning.  Is Avast now a virus itself?  How can this happen?
Do you have CCleaner installed? 
If so have you updated it?

https://support.piriform.com/hc/en-us/articles/360001205071-Why-has-Avast-been-installed-to-my-machine-


Recomended program: Unchecky  >>  https://unchecky.com/




Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11019
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #66 on: April 26, 2019, 05:55:59 PM »
I had a family friend bring me her laptop over the Easter weekend complaining of sluggishness and weird behaviour ( CCleaner popup ads ), unfortunately she had updated CCleaner and like many non techie people she failed to notice Avast was pre-ticked for install via CCleaner :(


Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83574
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #67 on: April 26, 2019, 06:04:21 PM »
I had a family friend bring me her laptop over the Easter weekend complaining of sluggishness and weird behaviour ( CCleaner popup ads ), unfortunately she had updated CCleaner and like many non techie people she failed to notice Avast was pre-ticked for install via CCleaner :(



This really is lunacy (if it was via CCleaner) a force install of a program taking up in excess of 1GB overall by a program of a few MBs.  What nutter ever thought people would put up with this cr4p (excuse the poor pun), someone needs to exercise some serious control over marketing. 

Someone needs to exercise some serious control, when you crab someone by their balls their hearts and minds will follow.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.544/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6465
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #68 on: April 26, 2019, 07:32:05 PM »
I had a family friend bring me her laptop over the Easter weekend complaining of sluggishness and weird behaviour ( CCleaner popup ads ), unfortunately she had updated CCleaner and like many non techie people she failed to notice Avast was pre-ticked for install via CCleaner :(



This really is lunacy (if it was via CCleaner) a force install of a program taking up in excess of 1GB overall by a program of a few MBs.  What nutter ever thought people would put up with this cr4p (excuse the poor pun), someone needs to exercise some serious control over marketing. 

Someone needs to exercise some serious control, when you crab someone by their balls their hearts and minds will follow.

Agreed,
The marketing strategy is without a doubt.....invasive to say the least.
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 2004 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.7.2422b/Secureline v.5.6.4982/ADU v.20.1b/VS 5.77/ASB v.84b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 2004 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.7.2422b/ADU v.20.1b/ASB v.84b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield vpn
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION

Offline alanb

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 470
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #69 on: April 26, 2019, 07:49:50 PM »
I had a family friend bring me her laptop over the Easter weekend complaining of sluggishness and weird behaviour ( CCleaner popup ads ), unfortunately she had updated CCleaner and like many non techie people she failed to notice Avast was pre-ticked for install via CCleaner :(



This really is lunacy (if it was via CCleaner) a force install of a program taking up in excess of 1GB overall by a program of a few MBs.  What nutter ever thought people would put up with this cr4p (excuse the poor pun), someone needs to exercise some serious control over marketing. 

Someone needs to exercise some serious control, when you crab someone by their balls their hearts and minds will follow.

Agreed,
The marketing strategy is without a doubt.....invasive to say the least.

+1

Offline I Hate Avast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #70 on: July 18, 2019, 11:09:49 PM »
I have never downloaded Avast

I have never heard of and never downloaded CCleaner or Piriform or any of the other supposed ways Avast 'piggybacks' onto peoples devices.

I have not downloaded any new software onto my laptop for months and I have very limited software programs on my laptop. Microsoft Office, Intel, Adobe PDF reader, Google Chrome and the standard Windows 10 suite.

And yet, today I get a 'Pop up' telling me I need to open my Avast Secureline VPN App and click to stop my IP address being publicly available. I then see that apparently I have recently added this App and I have just tried to uninstall only to be told I cannot remove all parts of it and it is still listed in the programs that run on start up.

Does anyone have any suggestions how I can protect myself from Avast and their illegally invasive software?

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #71 on: July 18, 2019, 11:18:11 PM »
Thanks for reporting this. 

Does anyone else have use or access to your system?
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.

Offline I Hate Avast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #72 on: July 18, 2019, 11:20:04 PM »
Only my partner, who also has not downloaded anything or added any new software.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43915
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #73 on: July 18, 2019, 11:56:39 PM »
Reported to Avast let's see if that gets a response.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline I Hate Avast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Avast installed itself
« Reply #74 on: July 20, 2019, 12:43:28 AM »
Just for the record - no reply to my concern raised. I've made contact on Twitter and Facebook too,no reply whatsoever.

As far as I am concerned Avast appear to be crooks who are probably harvesting my data as I type.

What genuine company would behave like this?