Author Topic: VMWare  (Read 12794 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

gprzybyl

  • Guest
VMWare
« on: February 24, 2006, 12:51:05 AM »


  Hello,

      I was wondering if anyone has tried using the BART CD on a VMWare virtual machine.   We are running GSX Server here and I just tried to boot the BART CD on a virtual machine.  It booted fine but did not detect the hard drive associated with the virtual machine.  I'm sure I need to add some vmware device drivers but thought I would throw this question out to the general public before tinkering with it myself.

          Thanks - Greg

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: VMWare
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2006, 03:16:18 AM »
It booted fine
Here too...

but did not detect the hard drive associated with the virtual machine.
Where are you? I mean, which application?
Servant salamander did not detect it as a drive, scandisk either...
But they did not detect any of my partitions at this time... Only the floppy and the CD-Rom.

I'm sure I need to add some vmware device drivers but thought I would throw this question out to the general public before tinkering with it myself.
Greg, for me, a message window appeared and tell me it's installing the device drivers but I did nothing...
The best things in life are free.

gprzybyl

  • Guest
Re: VMWare
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2006, 03:16:13 PM »
Hi Tech,

   The app I am trying to use was Regedit.

               Greg

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: VMWare
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2006, 11:31:09 PM »
Hi Tech, The app I am trying to use was Regedit.
Ok, It won't work either.
Maybe is due to the non-installation on the file-disk prepared for the operational system. In fact, we can't install Bart CD.
Do you see your own, installed partitions or just the removable media drivers like me?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: VMWare
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2006, 12:17:25 PM »
In the vmware image, is the physical hard disk defined as SCSI or IDE?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: VMWare
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2006, 02:27:48 PM »
In the vmware image, is the physical hard disk defined as SCSI or IDE?
Where should I check this?
Can you post a screeshot to make it easy? Thanks Vlk.
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11809
    • AVAST Software
Re: VMWare
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2006, 02:33:56 PM »
Just check the virtual machine configuration (in Configuration Editor, or whatever it's called). You should see the virtual disk(s) - and they could be either SCSI, or IDE.

gprzybyl

  • Guest
Re: VMWare
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2006, 03:32:16 PM »
Igor,

   On my machine they are SCSI devices.

             Greg

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: VMWare
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2006, 03:40:21 PM »
For me, IDE.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: VMWare
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2006, 04:29:49 PM »
Greg, is it the BusLogic or LSILogic SCSI adapter?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.